Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: Atomiswave Consolized Guide

  1. #1
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124

    Atomiswave Consolized Guide

    Hi All

    Is there any good guides anywhere on how to consolize an Atomiswave mobo?

    Ta
    B

  2. #2
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    Not really, but download the manual and look at the pinout of the edge connector, it's pretty easy to figure out from there. Several people here, including myself, have done it and can give you tips or answer questions.

  3. #3
    Mayor of Southtown

    RabbitTroop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    2,668 miles from birth

    Posts
    13,912
    Now, getting the VGA to work with your TV is the hard part Really hope I can fix that one day. I may need to take mine to a more experienced tech to fix my sync issues with VGA. Standard def Atomiswave is sad-monkey-face.

  4. #4
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    What kina power supply do I need, is it 5v only?

    Any links would be great

  5. #5
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,175
    There are no links because it is literally like the easiest thing you can consolize, and if you've got the skills to do it you don't need a step by step guide.

    You need both 5v and 12v. I use a SC300 power supply that outputs both.

  6. #6
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    Checked my bag oh cables, are any of these any good?


  7. #7
    Mr. Big's Thug
    mikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Ontario

    Posts
    222
    They'd probably both work fine, but the one on the right that outputs 12v at 2 amps would be a safer bet. More amps never hurt.

  8. #8
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    OK I made a bit of headway today. I wired the 5v, 12v & ground so it powers on OK. Now I am onto the video. I decided to use an AES scart as my BVM supports 15khz

    Got it to fire on OK but I am getting lots of interference kinda looking?

    Any ideas

    Last edited by Beaps; 10-08-2014 at 06:37 PM.

  9. #9
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,733
    If you want a consolized Naomi, this is the best way to do it:

    Spoiler:



    Check out Todd's Nerd Cave on Youtube!


    [Rot] 1:50 pm: ladyboys are HAWT!

  10. #10
    Mauru's Zoo Manager
    werejag's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma

    Posts
    2,881
    lmfao broken
    /me slaps broken
    you know you deserved that
    suck it up
    I guess it's a good day for Were-Jag... -NG: DEV.TEAM
    It's only fucking 50 USD for crying out loud. -Yakumo
    If there's one thing I hate in life more than anything else it's freeloaders. -Yakumo
    "reality has a well-known liberal bias." - Stephen Colbert

  11. #11
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    Now that's out the way, can anybody help as to what's going on with the interferance and what I can try to do to stop it?

    I am not using any resisters on the RGB and sync wires & I have nothing connected to pin 8 of the scart (AV Control)

    Also do I need to daisy chain the grounds for RGB as I don't have those connected either

    Thanks
    Last edited by Beaps; 10-09-2014 at 09:05 AM.

  12. #12
    Angel's Love Slave
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,058
    I would ensure you've got the grounds chained together to a ground connection on the SCART cable. It's better to use a shielded cable as well, but I suspect that noise you are seeing is directly related to the sync signal. You could try feeding the sync through a cap to see if that helps, or alternatively feed it into a sync cleaner or something. Possibly also try feeding the sync through a 150 or 180 ohm resistor to see if that makes any difference.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  13. #13
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    I connected all the RGB grounds and tried it, it was the same. I then added the 150 ohm on the sync and the picture if you like was worse.
    Last edited by Beaps; 10-09-2014 at 04:17 PM.

  14. #14
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    You think it could be power supply related?

  15. #15
    Angel's Love Slave
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,058
    Possibly but I doubt it! If picture got worse, maybe sync needs cleaning and amplifying or something. Have you tried on a different TV to check effect?
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  16. #16
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    OK I tested the VGA out on the Atomiswave & ficked the switch to 31k, and tried it on my lcd, the static is still there. I guess that means it not the output but it must be the power supply.
    Last edited by Beaps; 10-09-2014 at 06:40 PM.

  17. #17
    Genyosai's Servant
    skate323k137's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth, Dimension C137

    Posts
    2,969
    Definitely check power supply.

    Also when I run JAMMA video straight to a PVM/BVM I use 220 ohm resistors on all lines (R G B and Sync)

  18. #18
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    OK I have cracked it. I powered the Atomis from my Arcade cab jamma edge and connected the Atomis to my BVM via the RGB scart. Picture looks bob on! so I need to use another power supply

  19. #19
    . norton9478's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sombra Corporation

    Posts
    29,954
    Best advice I can give you:


    Get out a cut wheel and cut the metal wings off.
    Then Cut the Base Plate into two pieces. Makes it so much easier to install.



    http://smg.photobucket.com/user/nort...?sort=3&page=1
    There was no immunity to cuckoo ideas on Earth.
    Here was the reason human beings could not reject ideas because they were bad: "Ideas on Earth were badges of friendship or enmity.
    Their content didn't matter. Friends agreed with friends, in order to express friendliness. Enemies disagreed with enemies, in order to express enmity.

  20. #20
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    Does the heat shield need to go back on or can that be left off?

  21. #21
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,409
    Quote Originally Posted by Beaps View Post
    Does the heat shield need to go back on or can that be left off?
    I would not let a heat shield out if it was there in the first place. It was put in place for a reason and excessive heat can reduce the life of electronic parts a lot.

    Regards.

  22. #22
    NAM-75 Vet
    Green Beret's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in Abell 2151

    Posts
    492
    If you find the appropriate power supply please let me know too. My consolized atomiswave has also interferences.

  23. #23
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    I went for this one in the end, I will let you know how I get on

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3207050611...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

  24. #24
    NAM-75 Vet
    Green Beret's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Somewhere in Abell 2151

    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by Beaps View Post
    I went for this one in the end, I will let you know how I get on

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3207050611...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
    Hope it works

  25. #25
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,733
    It's been my experience that those cheap external HD power supplies with the molex connectors are crap. Poorly regulated and noisy power output.
    Check out Todd's Nerd Cave on Youtube!


    [Rot] 1:50 pm: ladyboys are HAWT!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •