Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Bad Sound on Cps2 X-Men Vs SF Board

  1. #1
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411

    Bad Sound on Cps2 X-Men Vs SF Board

    I've tried reseating the board, dusting the contacts and I'm still getting bad sound. Is there something else I could do?

  2. #2
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    Has it always been bad (or did you buy it faulty) or was it good until now? Has is the sound bad - scratchy audio, distortion, samples not playing? Have you tried another A board?

  3. #3
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    No, I just got it in the mail today. I only have one A board so far but I've tried two other B Boards and they work fine. It's all the above, scratchy audio, distortion, samples not playing, and some sound effects are replaced by the wrong sound effects. I'm also hearing a beeping noise with the sound effects. If I run a memory check in the menu everything passes, but If I do a sound & voice check I could hear the same crap I'm hearing in the game.
    Last edited by RAZO; 09-27-2014 at 05:37 PM.

  4. #4
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,522
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    No, I just got it in the mail today. I only have one A board so far but I've tried two other B Boards and they work fine. It's all the above, scratchy audio, distortion, samples not playing, and some sound effects are replaced by the wrong sound effects. I'm also hearing a beeping noise with the sound effects. If I run a memory check in the menu everything passes, but If I do a sound & voice check I could hear the same crap I'm hearing in the game.
    Weird. Is it a battery board or a phoenix?
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  5. #5
    N00b of Syougi undamned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    AZ

    Posts
    207
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    It's all the above, scratchy audio, distortion, samples not playing, and some sound effects are replaced by the wrong sound effects. I'm also hearing a beeping noise with the sound effects. If I run a memory check in the menu everything passes, but If I do a sound & voice check I could hear the same crap I'm hearing in the game.
    3 possible things come to mind:
    - Bad mask ROMs or bad/misprogrammed EEPROMs
    - Wrong jumper settings
    - Bad/Wrong PAL (for XvSF you should have PAL F)

    Easiest/only thing to check without a chip programmer is that the jumpers are set correctly:

    xmvsf11.jpg
    (from here)

    -ud
    NEO-GEO.COM: IT'S PERSONAL

  6. #6
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by GutsDozer View Post
    Weird. Is it a battery board or a phoenix?
    Battery board.

  7. #7
    Robot Master.
    Master Tasuke
    Eat Your
    Heart Out Bro'
    GutsDozer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Metairie, LA

    Posts
    3,522
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    Battery board.
    So you can count out modding failure. are you using clips? Without them sometimes the board wont contact enough with the A-board and you can get errors.
    Hit detection. it's all about hit detection.

  8. #8
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    I had a similar problem with an AvP board. All of the jumpers were fine, the eproms checked out, the PALs checked out. The background music was being played with the sound effects and not the music samples it was supposed to. Strange thing is, I swapped over eprom 11 & 12 and the music played fine but the sound effects were dead. It's still in my pile to look at later. Give that a go, see if the music plays fine.

  9. #9
    N00b of Syougi undamned's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    AZ

    Posts
    207
    Quote Originally Posted by RAZO View Post
    Battery board.
    Quote Originally Posted by GutsDozer View Post
    So you can count out modding failure.
    You can swap chips, change jumpers, etc. all day long on a battery board. How do you know the previous owner didn't encounter the problem, try and fix it, and make it worse by messing with stuff? Anything goes on stuff that you receive with issues.
    -ud
    NEO-GEO.COM: IT'S PERSONAL

  10. #10
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by GutsDozer View Post
    So you can count out modding failure. are you using clips? Without them sometimes the board wont contact enough with the A-board and you can get errors.
    Yes, I'm using clips.


    Quote Originally Posted by pulstar View Post
    I had a similar problem with an AvP board. All of the jumpers were fine, the eproms checked out, the PALs checked out. The background music was being played with the sound effects and not the music samples it was supposed to. Strange thing is, I swapped over eprom 11 & 12 and the music played fine but the sound effects were dead. It's still in my pile to look at later. Give that a go, see if the music plays fine.
    Will try it.

  11. #11
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    So swapped the chips and still got garbled sound and music.

  12. #12
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    Do as said above, check the jumpers, if you can, read the eproms for the sound (01, 11 & 12) and confirm they read ok.

  13. #13
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    I should have checked this before but missed it. It turns out that two of the little squares on one of the connectors were slightly dented in and not making good contact with the A Board connector. Sounds good now. Going to give a full test run later on tonight and see what happens.

  14. #14
    SouthTown StreetSweeper
    pulstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Southampton, England

    Posts
    568
    Cool. Those pins on the connectors are quite fragile really.

  15. #15
    Hades Gate Keeper
    Tyranix95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    LA, CA

    Posts
    5,416
    Enter the test menu, run the Memory Test.

    See if you have any NG roms on board.

    It's usually the last option on the menu.

  16. #16
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyranix95 View Post
    Enter the test menu, run the Memory Test.

    See if you have any NG roms on board.

    It's usually the last option on the menu.
    When I get home later I'll run the test.

  17. #17
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    I've ran the memory test and everything passed ok. No NG Roms. The part that sucks is that I'm getting the bad sound again.

  18. #18
    Hades Gate Keeper
    Tyranix95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    LA, CA

    Posts
    5,416
    What type of eproms are your sound rom?

    27C1000 or 27C010?

    You have to look at the little number on the chip.
    Last edited by Tyranix95; 09-28-2014 at 09:49 PM.

  19. #19
    Formerly Raz_Hoe.
    RAZO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey

    Posts
    5,411
    Its a 27C010A-12

  20. #20
    Hades Gate Keeper
    Tyranix95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    LA, CA

    Posts
    5,416
    Get a multimeter out.

    Check the sound jumpers, 1-12.

    Should look like this: SOOS SO OSSOSO

  21. #21
    Shmups Overlord

    system11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    94
    If it worked for a bit it's probably not jumpers, it sounds more like an addressing issue which would suggest connector problems. I'd take a look at the connector which was bent before, make sure all the pins on it are securely soldered to their relevant board.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •