Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: PGM motherboard not holding saves.

  1. #1
    Moterator. theMot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The island of shielas, wogs and poofters.

    Posts
    6,477

    PGM motherboard not holding saves.

    A bit of an annoying problem hopefully someone can help me fix.

    I have a pgm mobo which has had the battery replaced with a flat cell cr2032 battery. Lately i have noticed that my highscores are no longer saving. First thing i did was replace the battery but that doesn't seem to fix it.

    I have tried resetting the mobo and have done the ram check which came back fine but still no good. Oddly i have noticed my mobo doesnt have the toggle switch to clear the nvram but im not sure if that would help anyway.

    ???

  2. #2
    Moterator. theMot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The island of shielas, wogs and poofters.

    Posts
    6,477
    This is the battery. Could what looks like corrosion on the trace under the battery be an issue?

    photo.JPG
    Last edited by theMot; 07-13-2014 at 12:59 AM.

  3. #3
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,637
    You need to put the diode back in. I think it's D2, I forgot to update the tutorial on the website about it. I think it was Michele and I thought the charging circuit was like the Neo so I removed D2 but for some reason the PGM circuit has it directed in a weird way to which D2 needs to be installed and the mod done differently.

    I have to look into it again. From what I remember it only affects certain games.

  4. #4
    Moterator. theMot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The island of shielas, wogs and poofters.

    Posts
    6,477
    Sometimes it seems to hold the save for a few days then it drops it. Does that sound like the diode problem or if its that would it just not save at all?

  5. #5
    Moterator. theMot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The island of shielas, wogs and poofters.

    Posts
    6,477
    photo-2.JPG

    That is a pic of the the whole mobo. As you can see the diode at D2 is still there. :/

  6. #6
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    You need to put the diode back in. I think it's D2, I forgot to update the tutorial on the website about it. I think it was Michele and I thought the charging circuit was like the Neo so I removed D2 but for some reason the PGM circuit has it directed in a weird way to which D2 needs to be installed and the mod done differently.

    I have to look into it again. From what I remember it only affects certain games.
    So is the only difference from your tutorial that D2 can stay in place for a successful cr2032 setup on PGM?

  7. #7
    Rasputin's Rose Gardener
    LegoSlug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, CA

    Posts
    865
    Shoulda saved the diode. I think I tossed it. :/

  8. #8
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,353
    Well, I saw another guide or two that left out removing the diode/resistor and simply soldered the cr2032 battery holder into place. I decided to do the same and picked up a battery holder from Radio Shack for $1.25. Fortunately it fits perfectly without any modification.

    0Ica6HD.jpg

    I tested it out by playing a few sessions of Demon Front, then left the system off for a while. I turned it back on and my high score saves were still there, wooot! I'll try it out on some other games and will report any issues I find (if any).

  9. #9
    Rasputin's Rose Gardener
    LegoSlug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, CA

    Posts
    865
    Quote Originally Posted by kuze View Post
    Well, I saw another guide or two that left out removing the diode/resistor and simply soldered the cr2032 battery holder into place. I decided to do the same and picked up a battery holder from Radio Shack for $1.25. Fortunately it fits perfectly without any modification.

    0Ica6HD.jpg

    I tested it out by playing a few sessions of Demon Front, then left the system off for a while. I turned it back on and my high score saves were still there, wooot! I'll try it out on some other games and will report any issues I find (if any).
    Wonder if there is a charging circuit.

  10. #10
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,353
    Quote Originally Posted by LegoSlug View Post
    Wonder if there is a charging circuit.
    Me too, the info out there is pretty scarce for PGM.

    Edit: If it does, a ML2032 (rechargeable) coin battery should be perfect.
    Last edited by kuze; 01-11-2015 at 05:31 PM.

  11. #11
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,637
    Either way you need to remove the resistor as you don't want any power going to the non-rechargeable battery unless you want it to explode all over the board. If you can get a rechargeable one then even better, just leave the resistor in.

  12. #12
    Maxima's Barber
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Either way you need to remove the resistor as you don't want any power going to the non-rechargeable battery unless you want it to explode all over the board. If you can get a rechargeable one then even better, just leave the resistor in.
    Well, a ML2032 it is. Thanks for the confirmation.

  13. #13
    Another Striker
    DeusVult's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    scotland

    Posts
    319
    so if I plan to use a rechargeable I dont have to remove any existing circuitry, can you use any other battery like this one?

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-x-3-6V-L...item5d537dc239

    lir2032 but says it 3.6v where a ML2032 says its 3v

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •