Page 15 of 16 FirstFirst ... 5111213141516 LastLast
Results 351 to 375 of 398

Thread: Offical Omega CMVS Tech Support Thread

  1. #351
    Member MOLTOMOLTO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Queens, NYC

    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by Neo Alec View Post
    PSU is the most common cause of random resets. If you have a multimeter, check the voltage coming off the barrel of the AC adapter.
    I don't have one at the moment, just gonna send this back for repair. Apparently there may be some RAM issues on the board which is definitely not something I'd feel comfortable fixing myself.

  2. #352
    NAM-75 Vet
    Archdesigner03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bay Area

    Posts
    483
    Hi all,

    I had my omega for a while now and have decided to use component for the first time and noticed the picture is extremely bright and washed out. Upon further research, this appears to be a common problem for the omega when using component. Has anybody come up with a fix for this issue?
    Last edited by Archdesigner03; 12-30-2019 at 11:48 AM.

  3. #353

    TMOSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Metropolis

    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by Archdesigner03 View Post
    Hi all,

    I had my omega for a while now and have decided to use component for the first time and noticed the picture is extremely bright and washed out. Upon further research, this appears to be a common problem for the omega when using component. Has anybody come up with a fix for this issue?
    I've had my Omega for years and have only ever used component out and never experienced the issues you're reporting. I've used it on both an HD Vizio 70" and currently an 86" LG Super UHD using a RetroTINK 2X. Where did you hear this was a problem with the Omega?

  4. #354
    NAM-75 Vet
    Archdesigner03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bay Area

    Posts
    483
    Quote Originally Posted by TMOSteel View Post
    I've had my Omega for years and have only ever used component out and never experienced the issues you're reporting. I've used it on both an HD Vizio 70" and currently an 86" LG Super UHD using a RetroTINK 2X. Where did you hear this was a problem with the Omega?
    I just tried it with my other flat screen TV and have no issues. Looks like its issues with the TV (24in Vizio ) instead of the console. I have the same problem in this guy's youtube video that prompted me to try out the component at the 6 minute mark.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBCWqnJ-pxI

    Move along, nothing to see here haha.
    Last edited by Archdesigner03; 12-31-2019 at 09:32 AM.

  5. #355
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,818
    Check if there's a game mode on the TV, it will usually darken the image on some brands

  6. #356

    TMOSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Metropolis

    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by Archdesigner03 View Post
    I just tried it with my other flat screen TV and have no issues. Looks like its issues with the TV (24in Vizio ) instead of the console. I have the same problem in this guy's youtube video that prompted me to try out the component at the 6 minute mark.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBCWqnJ-pxI

    Move along, nothing to see here haha.
    Good to hear man, enjoy and Happy New Year to you.

  7. #357
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by TMOSteel View Post
    I've had my Omega for years and have only ever used component out and never experienced the issues you're reporting. I've used it on both an HD Vizio 70" and currently an 86" LG Super UHD using a RetroTINK 2X. Where did you hear this was a problem with the Omega?
    Interesting - I use component out and it gives me an overblown signal on the retrotink but not my TV and HD receiver. I talked to Mike Chi and itís a reported issue with the Omega.

  8. #358
    I have earned the
    right to PM Rot.
    ChopstickSamurai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Planet Earth

    Posts
    1,523
    I’ve never had any issues with my Omega via component or RGB, but I’ve always run mine into a CRT. Here’s a video on how to “upgrade” your video, but I’ve never noticed any of these issues with mine.

    Last edited by ChopstickSamurai; 01-01-2020 at 05:33 PM.

  9. #359
    . avramce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by XxHennersXx View Post
    Interesting - I use component out and it gives me an overblown signal on the retrotink but not my TV and HD receiver. I talked to Mike Chi and it’s a reported issue with the Omega.
    I believe the incompatibility with the RetroTink 2X is a known issue for the Omega

  10. #360
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by avramce View Post
    I believe the incompatibility with the RetroTink 2X is a known issue for the Omega
    It is, which is why Iím curious how TMOSteel says his Omega works with the RetroTink2X over component

  11. #361

    TMOSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Metropolis

    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by XxHennersXx View Post
    Interesting - I use component out and it gives me an overblown signal on the retrotink but not my TV and HD receiver. I talked to Mike Chi and it’s a reported issue with the Omega.
    Can you clarify what's meant by an "overblown" signal? I may not be up on all my terms as of late, thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by avramce View Post
    I believe the incompatibility with the RetroTink 2X is a known issue for the Omega
    Interesting, I did not know this when I first heard of the RetroTINK back in August of 2018 from a user on AtariAge.

    Quote Originally Posted by XxHennersXx View Post
    It is, which is why I’m curious how TMOSteel says his Omega works with the RetroTink2X over component
    I picked up my Omega from Quan back in January of 2013; in November of 2015 I shipped it back to him to install the NeoBiosMasta VMC.

    The RetroTINK 2X is the original version from Mike Chi purchased back in August of 2018 (I believe he has revised the RetroTINK since then, to resolve a Nintendo 64 issue).

    I'm running the Omega with the component cables into the RetroTINK which is then connected directly to my LG UHD TV.

    Back when I first got the Omega I had a 70" Vizio HDTV that accepted the 240p signal and had component inputs. My Onkyo AV receiver at the time did not, I think the minimum it accepted was 480i.

    When the Vizio developed issues I replaced it with an LG back in 2017, only to find the LG wouldn't accept the 240p signal either.

    When I heard about the RetroTINK and the fact that it supported more usable inputs for me than the OSSC I purchased it from Mike and received it in November of 2018.

    I tried connecting the RetroTINK to the same Onkyo receiver but could not get a signal with either component or S-VIDEO out of the Omega.

    Connecting it directly to the LG worked like a charm, and as far as I can tell it looks great.
    Last edited by TMOSteel; 01-02-2020 at 11:12 PM.

  12. #362
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by TMOSteel View Post
    Can you clarify what's meant by an "overblown" signal? I may not be up on all my terms as of late, thanks.



    Interesting, I did not know this when I first heard of the RetroTINK back in August of 2018 from a user on AtariAge.



    I picked up my Omega from Quan back in January of 2013; in November of 2015 I shipped it back to him to install the NeoBiosMasta VMC.

    The RetroTINK 2X is the original version from Mike Chi purchased back in August of 2018 (I believe he has revised the RetroTINK since then, to resolve a Nintendo 64 issue).

    I'm running the OMEGA with the component cables into the RetroTINK which is then connected directly to my LG UHD TV.

    Back when I first got the Omega I had a 70" Vizio HDTV that accepted the 240p signal and had compoenent inputs. My Onkyo AV receiver at the time did not, I think the minimum it accepted was 480i.

    When the Vizio deveopled issues I replaced it with an LG back in 2017, only to find the LG wouldn't accept the 240p signal either.

    When I heard about the RetroTINK and the fact that it supported more usable inputs for me than the OSSC I purchased it from Mike and received it in November of 2018.

    I tried connecting the RetroTINK to the same Onkyo receiver but could not get a signal with either component or S-VIDEO out of the Omega.

    Connecting it directly to the LG worked like a charm, and as far as I can tell it looks great.
    Overblown being an image that is excessively bright. A very washed out image.

    Scarlet Sprites (his video has been posted in this thread) had the same issue.

    My Omega I got in 2017 and both revisions of the retrotink had the same issue.

    Youíre the first Iíve heard say it looks fine.

  13. #363

    TMOSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Metropolis

    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by XxHennersXx View Post
    Overblown being an image that is excessively bright. A very washed out image.

    Scarlet Sprites (his video has been posted in this thread) had the same issue.

    My Omega I got in 2017 and both revisions of the retrotink had the same issue.

    Youíre the first Iíve heard say it looks fine.
    Ah, thank you for clarifying.

    Could be I was without the Omega for so long I just didn't notice, and thought I was eating a Saltine cracker, or maybe a Ritz. And all along, it was just a regular old cracker...

    Let me look up the video you referenced and see if I can compare it. I'll get back to you.

  14. #364
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    603

    Offical Omega CMVS Tech Support Thread







    For brevity sake, this is what the Omega with component looks like ran through a RetroTink 2X, same results on both revisions (had mine in the initial shipment, the micro usb broke, i was given a new revision by Castlemania).

    Component into my Yamaha Aventage Home Theater receiver upscales to 1080P and 4K with no issue. RGB is passable into OSSC.
    Last edited by XxHennersXx; 01-02-2020 at 04:12 PM.

  15. #365
    Viewpoint Vigilante
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,227
    Does anyone know where I can purchase of one these so I can test it out personally? The discussion about the retrotink2x seems to directly contradict what RetroRGB says about the RGB output not being bright enough.

  16. #366

    TMOSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Metropolis

    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by shadowkn55 View Post
    Does anyone know where I can purchase of one these so I can test it out personally? The discussion about the retrotink2x seems to directly contradict what RetroRGB says about the RGB output not being bright enough.
    I purchased mine from Mike Chi directly:

    https://www.retrotink.com/

    Looks like he's taking a break until February but he lists 5 resellers on that page.

  17. #367
    Viewpoint Vigilante
    shadowkn55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SoCal

    Posts
    2,227
    Castlemania said it was in stock so I placed an order there. The other two domestic shops were out.

  18. #368
    NAM-75 Vet
    Archdesigner03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bay Area

    Posts
    483
    Quote Originally Posted by ChopstickSamurai View Post
    I’ve never had any issues with my Omega via component or RGB, but I’ve always run mine into a CRT. Here’s a video on how to “upgrade” your video, but I’ve never noticed any of these issues with mine.

    Very interesting rgb replacement video board. It would be interesting to see how the new video board works with the rad2x or hd retrovision cable.

  19. #369

    TMOSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Metropolis

    Posts
    518
    So, thanks to XxHennersXx, I realized I am fucking going blind. Thanks for that man.

    All kidding aside, hooking my Omega back up using the RetroTINK I saw exactly what he was referring to, and it seems my year without playing the Omega left me oblivious to just how "overblown" the image really is.

    I played Metal Slug and its related versions, similar to the ScarletSprites YouTube comparisons XxHennersXx posted (and also pointed me to).

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBCWqnJ-pxI&t=2s

    I also played through a number of other Neo games off my NeoSD just to see what the results were, and the results varied depending on what was being shown on screen. Some games in parts looked great, others not so much (Puzzled for example had extremely almost washed out images on the game intro).

    This now makes sense now why my play through of Kraut Buster when I first got it didn't look as good as I expected.

    So, what exactly are my options? Here are some questions I had:

    1. Is the issue with the Omega, or the RetroTINK? Has Mike Chi posted anything about this or is there an active forum where this can be discussed?

    2. Any chance a component/composite board could be made similar to what was done with the RGB board?

    Quan, just wondering if you received your RetroTINK yet and got a chance to look at anything? Maybe the existing Omega board could be revised to work with the RetroTINK?

    3. DFO mod - would this help this situation in any way, shape or form? If not with the Omega > RetroTINK issue, what about being able to connect my Omega directly to my LG UHD?

    In my previous posts I mentioned how I could not connect my Omega to an Onkyo receiver, nor my current LG TV. Both produced an "invalid format" error when the Omega was connected via component.

    Now, in playing around with connections presently I actually tried Mode 1 - Transcoding Only on the RetroTINK which is supposed to perform digitization only, and I actually got a picture on my LG with a resolution of 240p (I have normally only used Mode 2 - Line Doubling which outputs 480p).

    I'm guessing the RetroTINK outputs a more compatible NTSC signal that the Neo normally does, even if the RetroTINK is set to passthrough? (I'm guessing here of course, I know little to nothing about the inner workings of the Neo, AES or MVS).

    I know Xian Xi installs these DFO's in his systems; James, can you shed any light on this or any thoughts on this and if you feel installing a DFO in my Omega might help?

    I don't mind if I can hook the Omega directly to my LG as the LG upconverts on its own.

    I can keep the RetroTINK for my other systems (and actually that was one of the reasons I bought it).

    I appreciate anyone's input.
    Last edited by TMOSteel; 01-20-2020 at 04:08 PM.

  20. #370
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,818
    I only install the DFO if it’s requested. The DFO fixes stutter problems with some upscalers as well as correct the refresh rate to NTSC standard.

  21. #371
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    603
    TMOSteel; when i got the RetroTink last year I reached out to Mike Chi over Twitter. His response was that it would be an issue with the Omega.

  22. #372

    TMOSteel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Metropolis

    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by Archdesigner03 View Post
    Very interesting rgb replacement video board. It would be interesting to see how the new video board works with the rad2x or hd retrovision cable.
    I'll let you know, I plan on pickup up the replacement AV RGB board as soon as it's available. I reached out to the designer on twitter so more should be on the way. I'm going to pickup the Sega Mega Drive 2 / Genesis 2 RAD2X HDMI cable from Retro Gaming Cables which should be perfect for my setup.

    Quote Originally Posted by XxHennersXx View Post
    TMOSteel; when i got the RetroTink last year I reached out to Mike Chi over Twitter. His response was that it would be an issue with the Omega.
    Interesting; I reached out to him via his site and assuming he was the one replying he was saying it should work correctly. I'm going to point him to this thread in case he wants to read up on it.

  23. #373
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by TMOSteel View Post
    I'll let you know, I plan on pickup up the replacement AV RGB board as soon as it's available. I reached out to the designer on twitter so more should be on the way. I'm going to pickup the Sega Mega Drive 2 / Genesis 2 RAD2X HDMI cable from Retro Gaming Cables which should be perfect for my setup.



    Interesting; I reached out to him via his site and assuming he was the one replying he was saying it should work correctly. I'm going to point him to this thread in case he wants to read up on it.
    Iíd like to move all of my equipment to HDMI solutions to more or less future proof my set up. If the RAD2X works well (I imagine it will. Iíve been pleased with the retrotink with everything else) I will swap that board and get that going.

    Iím honestly trying to so I can get rid of my CRT - I kept it around for light gun games and I rhythm but most rhythm games are fine on my newest TV and I find myself not ever bringing out the light guns.

    The more simplified and plug & play my set up, the better. Which is one thing I really liked about the retrotink 2X

  24. #374
    Bashful Neophyte
    Teknoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Texas

    Posts
    15
    So for the first time in awhile, I had time to boot up my Omega, but the instant I pressed the on switch, the power light flashed briefly then nothing. Tried different power cables just in case, but it seems to either have given up the ghost or could it be something else? I've had it for a good few years with no issues, so I was really surprised when this happened. I've got light solder experience, but im not sure if this is something I could check to fix on my own or if it may be as simple as replacing something internally?

    Sucks because i’ve also got Mutation Nation and Blazing Star on the way.
    Last edited by Teknoman; 01-27-2020 at 02:44 AM.

  25. #375
    Why So Many X's?
    XxHennersXx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tacoma, WA

    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by Teknoman View Post
    So for the first time in awhile, I had time to boot up my Omega, but the instant I pressed the on switch, the power light flashed briefly then nothing. Tried different power cables just in case, but it seems to either have given up the ghost or could it be something else? I've had it for a good few years with no issues, so I was really surprised when this happened. I've got light solder experience, but im not sure if this is something I could check to fix on my own or if it may be as simple as replacing something internally?

    Sucks because iíve also got Mutation Nation and Blazing Star on the way.
    I recommend opening it up, and checking any of the ribbon cables and if nothing then just swapping the PSU to an identical unit. Fortunately everything is connected with ribbon cables so swapping components is easy.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •