Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: questions?

  1. #1
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753

    questions?

    ok so how much do the mobo run and how expensive are the games? is this plug right into a neo geo cab or is it jamma?



    THIS PLACE IS

  2. #2
    .
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Newcastle

    Posts
    2
    I'll help where i can. I recently got into HNG64.

    Over here in the UK the mobos seen very common. Theres a lot of NOS boxed united about. I picked one up for £10 last month (about 17 dollars).

    Games vary a bit more but i have bought 3 so far for around £15 each.

    As I understand it there are 2 revisions of the mobo, the first is MVS wired and the second has a switch to swap between MVS and Jamma. All the ones I've seen round here have been the second one. (you are aware that there are 3 mobos yeah? 1 for fighters, 1 for driving and 1 for shooters).

    Hope that helps in some small way. I think its a very under-rated system. I have very much enjoyed Fatal Fury and Samurai Spirits 2 on it. Such a shame there wasnt more games

  3. #3
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,420

  4. #4
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,155
    Mobos here are a little more expensive, and the majority are Rev 1. I've got an extra one I'm trying to move dip. Let me know if you're interested.

  5. #5
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    does it play fighting games cause thats what i mostly care about



    THIS PLACE IS

  6. #6
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    ok so rev 1 plays all fighting games and im guessing it will hook right up to my big red and work no prob its just not jamma correct?



    THIS PLACE IS

  7. #7
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,155
    No, the mobo is still jamma but the audio is a separate plug into the motherboard, so you will either need the cable or to modify the mobo itself for audio over jamma, which will be mono of course.

  8. #8
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    ok so its jamma and not mvs? so itll work in my blast that has a 5 button harness? sound dont come outa jamma harness though? how will i hook up sound on my blast?



    THIS PLACE IS

  9. #9
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,155
    Quote Originally Posted by dipindods View Post
    ok so its jamma and not mvs? so itll work in my blast that has a 5 button harness? sound dont come outa jamma harness though? how will i hook up sound on my blast?
    Yes it will work in the Blast, as all fighting games I think are 4 button. For sound you'll need the cable that sometimes comes with the mobo or have one made for you.

  10. #10
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    ok so where does the sound cable hook into the blast? so what version mobo work in a neo cab



    THIS PLACE IS

  11. #11
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,155

    questions?

    Quote Originally Posted by dipindods View Post
    ok so where does the sound cable hook into the blast? so what version mobo work in a neo cab
    You can actually do line level out, which is using RCA cables. I'll pull my cables out and try to show you the connectors.

    Here we go
    First pic

    Here's the power cable and the spot it plugs in


    Here's the other end of the power cable



    Here's the audio cable and the spot it plugs into


    The other end has speaker connections, but I'm sure you could make some RCA adapter type cables if you wanted to. If you did this I would recommend keeping the audio knob on the HNG Mobo turned real low and to not trash the audio amp. I'm not guaranteeing that it still won't damage the amp doing it this way, some have said it does. I personally have had no issue with it.
    Last edited by Kid Panda; 05-11-2014 at 10:18 PM.

  12. #12
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    ok more noob questions where does the power cable and speaker cables plug into on blast........i no im not that smart haha



    THIS PLACE IS

  13. #13
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,155
    Well I can plug the mobo into my blast city, it gets power from the jamma edge. The extra power cable if I'm not mistaken is for 5v and a ground for more power to the board, I remember reading something here about not really needing that extra power.

  14. #14
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    ok so it runs without the power cable but no sound without the other connecters? where do they hook up on cab exactly?



    THIS PLACE IS

  15. #15
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    does it run sound off jamma harness and the other cable is for just stereo?



    THIS PLACE IS

  16. #16
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,155
    Quote Originally Posted by dipindods View Post
    does it run sound off jamma harness and the other cable is for just stereo?
    Stock, no the HNG doesn't have audio over Jamma. You have to do a modification to the mobo to have mono audio over Jamma.

    Here is the manual
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...-1-Manual-info

    Here is how to do the modfication.
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...ector-mod-EASY

    All thanks go to Turfy for this, without him I couldn't have done it on one of mine.
    Last edited by Kid Panda; 05-17-2014 at 03:35 PM.

  17. #17
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    ok sweet that clears it up......stupid design -_-

    so how much you looking to get for your mobo panda?



    THIS PLACE IS

  18. #18
    needs help. stuck in virgina. dipindods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    long island new york

    Posts
    753
    ok next question

    whats better and why
    samurai shodown 64 or warriors way??



    THIS PLACE IS

  19. #19
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    pa

    Posts
    3
    I think I posted this in the wrong area earlier. sorry if I did but same ?????????. are the driving motherboards able to play the fighting games?

  20. #20
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,420
    Quote Originally Posted by classicgames View Post
    I think I posted this in the wrong area earlier. sorry if I did but same ?????????. are the driving motherboards able to play the fighting games?
    yes, your last post was in the wrong thread.
    And no, you can't play fighting games on the driving motherboards.

    you might want to continue reading here (under "motherboards"):
    http://www.jamma-nation-x.com/jammax...riceguide.html

  21. #21
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    pa

    Posts
    3
    thanks that really helped I know what motherboard I have now

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •