Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 45 of 45

Thread: Best MVS Multicart and where to buy?

  1. #26
    Crawley's Sergeant
    Tyranix95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    LA, CA

    Posts
    5,383
    Quote Originally Posted by SNKorSWM View Post
    Now that SSVS mvs cart prices have gotten over a grand, the multicart may be the only way for many to play this game on actual hardware.
    Darksoft should make a multi-EverDrive-cart for the NEO.

  2. #27
    Bashful Neophyte
    sammargh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    United States

    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by KRiSX View Post
    lol... yeah this is true... something to keep in mind if you're looking to buy i guess... also i think its the 120 that doesn't work in console mode if you're running unibios (probably doesn't work on a AES to MVS converter either i'm guessing)... the 161 does however if i remember correctly
    Console mode works fine on the 120 in 1 and you can switch the difficulty via a menu or through softdip once in game. I've never had an issue and can definitely tell that it sets right. The 161 in 1 also has a bugged version of Aero Strikers 3 while the 150 in 1 doesn't. The 150/161 in 1 also have a bug where if you have a memory card in you cannot go back to the game menu by holding start until you remove the memory card. The 120 in 1 does not exhibit this bug. Also the 161/150 in 1 requires a unibios to work on a MV-1C as you have to disable the hardware test or you will get a Z80 error on boot-up.

    I purchased the 120 in 1 about a week or two ago from alibaba and it came new. Here's the url if you're having issues finding it
    http://www.aliexpress.com/item/1-Pcs...375859464.html

  3. #28
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,801
    I've got the 161 & 60 (sans audio), I understand what they are and their quarks. I can always play stuff on the NGCD or AES/MVS if I want the real thing. I echo the Holland Computers link.
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  4. #29
    Akari's Big Brother
    joe8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    2,523
    Quote Originally Posted by sammargh View Post
    Console mode works fine on the 120 in 1 and you can switch the difficulty via a menu or through softdip once in game. I've never had an issue and can definitely tell that it sets right. The 161 in 1 also has a bugged version of Aero Strikers 3 while the 150 in 1 doesn't. The 150/161 in 1 also have a bug where if you have a memory card in you cannot go back to the game menu by holding start until you remove the memory card. The 120 in 1 does not exhibit this bug. Also the 161/150 in 1 requires a unibios to work on a MV-1C as you have to disable the hardware test or you will get a Z80 error on boot-up.

    I purchased the 120 in 1 about a week or two ago from alibaba and it came new. Here's the url if you're having issues finding it
    http://www.aliexpress.com/item/1-Pcs...375859464.html
    does anyone know of any other websites that have this one?
    Shock Troopers high score- 17,364,600

  5. #30
    King's Dry Cleaner
    Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania

    Posts
    386
    Honestly, if you really wanna go the multi-cart route, just wait and see if Darksoft or somebody else makes a quality flash cart. It's not gonna be cheap, but its better than buying 4 freaking flash carts with 200 hacks you're never gonna play. I'm not even sure if it's possible to get every official release via the current carts. I mean, with all the everdrives out now, you just know its gonna happen eventually.

  6. #31
    . SNKorSWM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Haven, CT

    Posts
    15,154
    It's gonna cost about the same as 10 multicarts. That's why krikzz isn't even entertaining the notion of doing one for the neo.

  7. #32
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,318
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott View Post
    I mean, with all the everdrives out now, you just know its gonna happen eventually.
    wishful thinking/argumentum ad consequentiam.

  8. #33
    King's Dry Cleaner
    Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania

    Posts
    386
    Quote Originally Posted by SNKorSWM View Post
    It's gonna cost about the same as 10 multicarts. That's why krikzz isn't even entertaining the notion of doing one for the neo.
    Whoa, when I said 'expensive' I wasn't expecting quite that much. I was thinking more along the lines of the CPS-2 muti-carts. I mean, I get why SD2SNES is so much, what with all of the special chips it needs to support, but aren't all MVS carts essentially the same?

  9. #34
    . SNKorSWM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Haven, CT

    Posts
    15,154
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott View Post
    Whoa, when I said 'expensive' I wasn't expecting quite that much. I was thinking more along the lines of the CPS-2 muti-carts. I mean, I get why SD2SNES is so much, what with all of the special chips it needs to support, but aren't all MVS carts essentially the same?
    No. Some games require the backup RAM of the mvs mobo to function and no AES console has that. DavidG made Jockey Grandprix homecart and added the backup RAM manually to the cart. That thing cost like $1500.

    http://www.neostore.com/Jockey-Grand...-DG-p/1324.htm
    Last edited by SNKorSWM; 01-26-2015 at 09:20 PM.

  10. #35
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,318
    Quote Originally Posted by SNKorSWM View Post
    DavidG made Jockey Grandprix homecart and added the backup RAM manually to the cart. That thing cost like $1500.
    Well, that's not very convincing, in my eyes:
    DavidG->$1500 --and not-- backup RAM->$1500

  11. #36
    Mickey's Coach
    MidnightMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Frederick, MD

    Posts
    725
    You could give me $50, and I can send you this multicart I have (but I'll actually just fill the box with meconium and call it a day).

  12. #37
    . SNKorSWM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    West Haven, CT

    Posts
    15,154
    Quote Originally Posted by xsq View Post
    Well, that's not very convincing, in my eyes:
    DavidG->$1500 --and not-- backup RAM->$1500
    Unfortunately, there aren't any other bootleggers who knows how to incorporate a backup RAM into a cartridge.

  13. #38
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,318
    agreed. It's time someone bootlegged the bootlegger and shared that info publicly...

  14. #39
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,613
    Personally, I'd say the 120 in 1 > 161 in 1 overall. But, I have both, and between the two it has most of the games I want to play. The only drawback with the 120 is that it doesn't work in a home cart system with a converter. The 161 works just fine.

  15. #40
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,140
    Quote Originally Posted by GohanX View Post
    Personally, I'd say the 120 in 1 > 161 in 1 overall. But, I have both, and between the two it has most of the games I want to play. The only drawback with the 120 is that it doesn't work in a home cart system with a converter. The 161 works just fine.
    The 120 in 1 also resets when playing two player metal slug with gohan in a NAC using a MV1FS and unibios. Just sayin'
    Quote Originally Posted by Skillzguy View Post
    I sometimes wish I didn't have Aspergers as I feel game related collecting would be a mild hobby rather than an obsession.

  16. #41
    Schlonginator II: Judgment Dong
    GohanX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Next to your mom

    Posts
    9,613
    To be fair, I'm pretty fucking awesome at Metal Slug, and our two player simultaneous awesome was far too much for it to handle.

  17. #42
    Bashful Neophyte
    Missinglenk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Redding, Ca.

    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by xsq View Post
    Except the 150in1 features Viewpoint, Pulstar, Andro Dunos and Sengoku 2, all of which the 161in1 misses. Of course you don't get AoF 1, Kizuna, Magical Drop III, Puzzle de Pon! R, Savage Reign, Stakes Winner 2 and Super Dodge Ball with the 150in1. [I'd call Pulstar and Viewpoint good reasons.]

    At least that's what the Arcade Otaku Wiki says.
    Actually, the 161-in-1 I have does have Pulstar. I believe it also had Viewpoint too.

  18. #43
    Member ShaunRF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Rochester, MN

    Posts
    36
    Got the 161in1 for my 2-slot cabinet, but it looks like my motherboard doesn't like this multicart. It wont let me get to the menu. I just get the green screen when I try, then it goes right to SNK vs Capcom. I thought it was the cart at first, but the replacement does the same thing. I've been told that some motherboards are just picky about these things.

    I wanted to just buy a 1 slot board and plug it in, but I've learned that they are on the JAMMA standard instead of the MVS harness.

  19. #44
    AH
    A
    COLUMBIAN!
    aha2940's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Colombia

    Posts
    2,475
    Quote Originally Posted by Missinglenk View Post
    Actually, the 161-in-1 I have does have Pulstar. I believe it also had Viewpoint too.
    That's correct.

  20. #45
    Crossed Swords Squire
    Damulta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Miami, Oklahoma

    Posts
    195
    Someone said that the 161 sets the difficulty to max. Would the aes debug bios be able to turn that down?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •