Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: Sony WEGA Trinitron CRT TV service menu Tips, Tricks and settings suggestions

  1. #1
    . Yodd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,967

    Sony WEGA Trinitron CRT TV service menu Tips, Tricks and settings suggestions

    It's getting hard to find info on Service menu settings for Sony's WEGA CRT Tvs. Much of the this info has disappeared from the Web. For the most part, this thread is relevant for WEGA CRTs produced from around 2000 to 2006 or so.


    The Following info comes from:
    https://web.archive.org/web/20070525...yadj.html#warn

    As you can tell, this isn't on the web anymore. I had to use wayback machine to pull it up. I have slightly reformatted and cleaned up this info for the forum.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    HOW TO ENTER SERVICE MODE


    [PWR OFF] - [DISP], [5], [VOL+], [PWR ON]
    -or-
    [PWR OFF] - [DISP], [5], [PWR ON]

    The TV will turn on in service mode and the screen will look something like this:




    NAVIGATE IN SERVICE MODE
    [1] = Moves to Previous Menu Item
    [4] = Moves to Next Menu Item
    [3] = Adjusts Value Up
    [6] = Adjusts Value Down
    [MTS] = Toggles Stereo/Mono Audio

    SAVE NEW SETTING
    [MUTE] followed by [ENTER] = stores NEW service mode settings to NVRAM

    RESTORE USER SETTINGS
    [8] followed by [ENTER] = Restores All *USER* settings to factory defaults

    RESET VALUES
    [0] followed by [ENTER] = Read Default service mode value from stored settings. (service mode reset)

    LEAVE SERVICE MODE
    [PWR OFF] = Leave Service Mode any settings not written will be in effect until TV is unplugged or a Reset is performed.

    RETURN TO DEFAULT SETTINGS:
    BEFORE storing NEW settings - unplug TV from wall, wait a few seconds, then plug back in, turn TV set on - All settings not written will have been lost.
    AFTER storing NEW settings - restore original value from list you made of original values before adjustments and store in NVRAM.

    PLEASE NOTE:
    RECORD ALL ORIGINAL VALUES BEFORE
    MAKING ANY ADJUSTMENTS.



    XBR250 COLOR BANDING PROBLEM
    If you have a XBR250 and you're experiencing horizontal blue, green or red banding across the screen with a component video connection, you will need to enter service mode and adjust the HOSC parameter. Initially HOSC is set to 7 (factory default), you'll need to change it to about 11 - this will eliminate the color banding in the picture.


    ITEM TYPICAL RANGE DESCRIPTION
    --------------------------------------------------------
    AFC 0 0-3 AFC Loop Gain
    HFRE 42 0-127 Horizontal Frequency
    VFRE 11 0-31 Vertical Frequency
    VPOS 16 0-31 Vertical Picture Position
    VSIZ 18 0-63 Vertical Picture Size
    VLIN 6 0-15 Vertical Picture Linearity
    VSCO 10 0-15 Vertical Correction
    HPOS 6 0-15 Horizontal Picture Position
    HSIZ 11 0-31 Horizontal Picture Size
    PAMP 18 0-31 Pincushion Amp.
    CPIN 4 0-7 Corner Pincushion
    PPHA 7 0-15 Pincushion Phase
    UPIN 10 0-31 Pincushion upper ends, vertical lines
    LPIN 10 0-31 Pincushion lower ends, vertical lines
    PPHA 7 0-15 Keystone correction vertical lines
    HKEY 6 0-15 Keystone distortion, horizontal lines
    HTRP 8 0-15 Keystone correction, horizontal lines
    VCOM 2 0-7 Vertical Compensation
    VUSN 0 0,1 Shrinks Vertical Height to 16x9 Area
    VZOM 0 0,1 Places Bars on Picture to give 16x9 Area
    EHT 15 Adjust Height of VZOM
    ASP 47 Vertical Picture Size - Aspect
    SCRL 31 Vertical Picture Position
    HBLK 1 0,1 Horizontal Blanking (on/off)
    LBLK 15 Left Blanking
    RBLK 3 Right Blanking
    GAMP 18 0-31 Green Amp.
    BAMP 14 0-31 Blue Amp.
    GDRV 18 0-31 Green Driver
    BDRV 14 0-31 Blue Driver
    RCUT 15 Red Cutoff - (lower level)
    GCUT 4 0-15 Green Cutoff - (lower level)
    BCUT 1 0-15 Blue Cutoff - (lower level)
    RDRV 21 Red Amp. - (upper level)
    GDRV 18 Green Amp. - (upper level)
    BDRV 14 Blue Amp. - (upper level)
    DCOL 1 0,1 Color Temperature
    COFF 0 0,1 Color On/Off - B/W Picture
    Y-DC 0 0-15 BLACK background level retention
    R-YR 15 0-15 Sets the amount of RED
    R-YB 15 0-15 Sets the amount of RED
    G-YG 11 0-15 Sets the amount of GREEN
    G-YB 9 0-15 Sets the amount of GREEN
    AXIS 0 0-15 Cleans up the red & oranginess in yellow
    DPIX 0 0-3 Dynamic Picture
    CROM 28 0-63 Chroma Trap
    SPIX 30 0-63 Sub-Picture Contrast (Picture)
    SCON 30 0-63 Sub-Picture Contrast (Picture)
    SHUE 23 0-63 Sub-Picture Hue
    SCOL 26 0-63 Sub-Picture Color
    SBRT 22 0-63 Sub-Picture Brightness (Black Level)
    RGBP 10 0-63 RGB Picture
    SHAP 6 0-15 Sub-Picture Sharpness
    SHPF 3 0-15 This helps with the S-Video sharpness
    NRLV 0 0-3 Find the value that gives the best resolution
    VSMO 1 0,1 Vertical Pull In Range (1 allows PAL in B&W)
    REF 2 0-3 Reference Line
    ROFF 1 0,1 Red Gun ON(1)/OFF(0)
    GOFF 1 0,1 Green Gun ON(1)/OFF(0)
    BOFF 1 0,1 Blue Gun ON(1)/OFF(0)
    RON 1* 0,1 Red Gun ON(1)/OFF(0)
    GON 1* 0,1 Green Gun ON(1)/OFF(0)
    BON 1* 0,1 Blue Gun ON(1)/OFF(0)
    AXPL 0 0,1 Cleans up Reds/Yellows
    ABLM 0 0,1 Automatic Background or Brightness Limiter
    NOTC 1 0,1 Notch Filter ON(1)/OFF(0)
    VMLV 0 0,1 Scanning Velocity Modulation ON(1)/OFF(0)
    VAPI 0 0,1 Sets vert resolution for 3-d comb filter
    VAPG 0 0,1 Sets vert resolution for 3-d comb filter
    DRGB 0 0,1 On-Screen Display (OSD) Intensity
    DISP 35 0-63 On-Screen Display (OSD) Menu Placement (L/R)
    VTMS 0 0-3 On Screen Display (OSD) - On/Off
    DPDV 1 0-3 Lumipon
    MPIC 8 0-63 Lumipon (depth)
    SVOL 0 0-15 Sub-Volume (0=Max,15=Min.)
    SBAL 7 0-15 Sub-Balance (0=Left,15=Right)
    BASS 8 0-15 Sub-Bass (0=Min., 15=Max.)
    TRE 7 0-15 Sub-Treble (0=Mix., 15=Max.)
    MPX - 0-15 Audio ATT
    FILO - 0-15 Audio I1
    DEEM - 0-15 Audio I2
    STEV - 0-15 Audio OSC1
    SAPV - 0-15 Audio OSC2
    PILO - 0-15 Audio PILOT
    SEP - 0-15 Audio WIDE BAND
    VD - 0-15 Audio SPECTRAL
    LVOL - 0-15 Audio VOLUME-L
    RVOL - 0-15 Audio VOLUME-R
    PADJ 63 0-255 Hor/Vert Picture Adjustment (total picture)
    UYBO 32 0-63 Upper Y Bow (B/R Top)
    LYBO 27 0-63 Lower Y Bow (B/R Bottom)
    HAMP 34 0-63 Horizontal Amp. (B/R OuterLines)
    HTIL 32 0-63 Horizontal Tilt (R/R)
    UCBO 39 0-63 Upper C Bow (B/R Corners Only)
    UTIL 37 0-63 Upper Tilt (Top Corners)
    LCBO 41 0-63 Lower C Bow (B/R Corners Only)
    LTIL 40 0-63 Lower Tilt (Bottom Corners)
    DCSH 36 0-63 DC Shift (Static Convergence All Vertical)
    VBOW 30 0-63 Bow distortion correction vertical lines
    VANG 30 0-63 Skew correction, vertical lines
    RTCO - 0-63 Raster Rotation
    PHPO 79 0-127 Picture In Picture (PIP) Horizontal Position
    PHUE 0 0-31 Picture In Picture (PIP) Hue
    MSHU - 0-31 Main PIP hue
    MSCOL - 0-31 Main PIP color
    SSHU - 0-31 Small PIP Hue
    SSCO - 0-31 Small PIP Color
    GV SKEW - 0-63 convergence service item
    GH SKEW - 0-63 convergence service item
    GH BOW - 0-63 convergence service item
    RV SKEW - 0-63 convergence service item
    BV SKEW - 0-63 convergence service item
    GH PIN - 0-63 convergence service item
    GH CENT - 0-63 convergence service item
    GV CENT - 0-63 convergence service item
    RH CENT - 0-63 convergence service item
    RV CENT - 0-63 convergence service item
    BH CENT - 0-63 convergence service item
    BV CENT - 0-63 convergence service item
    ID0 88 0-127 Model ID
    ID1 127 0-127 Model ID
    ID2 104 0-127 Model ID
    ID3 64 0-127 Model ID
    ID4 19 0-127 Model ID
    ID5 1 0-127 Model ID



    NOTE:
    Not all ITEMS appear on all televisions models.
    Provisions for convergence adjustments are not enabled on 27" or smaller Sony direct view television sets.
    Typical settings may not apply to your particular model and are shown only for reference purposes.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------


    One of the most important things you can do is to write down ANY changes you make in the Service Menu. Write down current and then new settings. It's very, very easy to misadjust these TV's and fuck everything up.



    I will continue to update this first post as new info is found. Keep in mind not all the Service Menu options appear on all TV's.

  2. #2
    Bead Banger
    goombakid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Orygun

    Posts
    1,475
    Great job! Thanks for getting all this info and sharing!
    ...console emulation has no soul...

  3. #3
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,697
    Nice work. I needed this like 5 years ago and ended up paying I think $12 for instructions on how to get into the service menu since people were hoarding info.

  4. #4
    Mai's Apprentice
    Neorebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts

    Posts
    1,800
    -BROKEN- Thank you SO MUCH for posting this! I know my Wega needs some adjusting but I have been at a complete loss with finding a readable FAQ. I got the service manual but that really served no practical purpose. I didn't want to start haphazardly start changing things for trial and error, but it probably would have came to that soon...

    Anyway, thanks again!

  5. #5
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,919
    I think this should be a sticky!
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  6. #6
    Bashful Neophyte
    gptrilik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Dunlap, IL

    Posts
    19
    Awesome. Something I have been getting around to do on the Sony 36" XBR400 I have. Note the first option ([PWR OFF] - [DISP], [5], [VOL+], [PWR ON]) was the one that worked...

    Thanks!

    gptrilik

  7. #7
    Yamazaki's Pupil
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,737
    Ultra Necro
    I was making some changes to my 27inch KV series trinitron and found a setting called INTL with values from 0-3, they make the scanlines look amazing around values 2-3 but sadly they don't save even after writing to NVRAM. Once you turn off the tv and back on it defaults back to 0.

    Strangely enough this setting does not exist on the 34" KV series I have (but it does have a slew of comb filter options) but nothing seems to adjust the scanline/shadows like the INTL setting.

  8. #8
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    amaradona's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    England

    Posts
    128
    Thank you man,I was actually trying this week end to correct the geometry on my trinitron set.

  9. #9
    OldSkool4Life
    Gamefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Denver, Colorado

    Posts
    3,668
    Thank you for this Broken!

  10. #10
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    25
    Thanks you so much, i am about to get a Wega, so this will be very helpful.
    Hehe, i have had an LG Flatron for years, bought it because it was sopposed to be NTSC and PAL, but PAL games displayed black and white. For years i tought i got riped off. Until one day i entered its service mode, and from there i finally fot it to display my PAL consoles properly. I so love that tv.
    Anyone knows if the Wega is compatible with both NTSC and PAL?

  11. #11
    Chang's Combo Meal #4
    2D_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Alphaville (with Lemmy)

    Posts
    3,669
    Fuck the geometry on these sets is so hard to get perfect.

    Thanks for this guide, it's gotten me the best result so far.

    WEGA 4 Life.

  12. #12
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by saturndual32 View Post
    Thanks you so much, i am about to get a Wega, so this will be very helpful.
    Hehe, i have had an LG Flatron for years, bought it because it was sopposed to be NTSC and PAL, but PAL games displayed black and white. For years i tought i got riped off. Until one day i entered its service mode, and from there i finally fot it to display my PAL consoles properly. I so love that tv.
    Anyone knows if the Wega is compatible with both NTSC and PAL?
    Crap, just got a Wega, but the seller didnt have the remote. So, its not posible to access the service mode without the remote?

  13. #13
    Yamazaki's Pupil
    ballzdeepx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Nakatomi Towers

    Posts
    2,737
    Most likely not, you need to have a display and muting button typically but you might get lucky with a universal that has it, or check ebay.

  14. #14
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    12,272
    Quote Originally Posted by ballzdeepx View Post
    Most likely not, you need to have a display and muting button typically but you might get lucky with a universal that has it, or check ebay.
    I think I'll have to hit the bay as mine didn't come with one.
    Quote Originally Posted by DecepticonZero View Post
    I don't know why you're white knighting this guy, couldn't you buy the North Pole and have the elves build you anything you want?

  15. #15
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by ballzdeepx View Post
    Most likely not, you need to have a display and muting button typically but you might get lucky with a universal that has it, or check ebay.
    Yeah, will try with a universal first. If not, off to ebay as you say.

  16. #16
    Bead Banger
    goombakid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Orygun

    Posts
    1,475
    Try thrift stores, too. I've seen a ton of Sony ones at the local Goodwills.
    ...console emulation has no soul...

  17. #17
    today forever Fran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    .

    Posts
    16,426
    nice thread
    i just went through this service menu bs with my five sony crt's and it wasn't a walk in the park
    here's a website i found
    don't be scared by the arabic alphabet,the useful bits are in english
    http://ashraf-osman.yoo7.com/t30p15-topic

  18. #18
    Chang's Combo Meal #4
    2D_Master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Alphaville (with Lemmy)

    Posts
    3,669
    All I see on that site is how to access the service menu. Does it have any links to suggested settings?

  19. #19
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Beaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124
    I can access the service menu but I cannot change the values, any ideas?


  20. #20
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Beaps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    124

  21. #21
    Rugal's Thug
    Rig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Illinois

    Posts
    105
    This thread is great. Very informative.

    Question hopefully someone can answer. I just got my first Trinitron: a KV-36XBR450. A hulking beast of a TV!
    I've hooked up three game consoles to it: N64, PS1, and a Wii. The PS1 and N64 are composite, and the screen scrolls and bounces around. I have tried every composite input, and the same issue occurs.

    The Wii, on the other hand, works great on the component inputs. No crawl, no bounce, nothing. The N64 and PS1 work fine on other sets.

    So...what's wrong with my composite inputs? This TV has a bunch of S-video...but it's been years since I had an S-video cable for a console. Gonna try and dig one up this weekend to test.

  22. #22
    Bashful Neophyte
    kkcloak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    10
    good info, thank you!
    |Atari| Rampage, All Points Bulletin [A.P.B.], Primal Rage, Toobin', Super Breakout, Pole Position|DataEast| Commando, Kung-Fu Masters, Robocop|Konami| TMNT [4 Players], Scramble|Taito| Operation Thunderbolt
    |Nintendo| PlayChoice 10, Punch-Out!!, R-Type, RedTent|Sega| Carnival|Midway| Ms. Pac-Man, W.O.W, SI Deluxe|Other| Neo-Geo 4 Slot, Nibbler, MS Puckman, Silkworm, MoonPatrol|

  23. #23
    Neo Bubble Buster

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia

    Posts
    42
    I have a Sony XA34M31, I can get into the service menu fine and I can change the settings I want to fix up the geometry. However it doesn't save,with mute and enter, I need to use mute and 0.

    It took me a while to find this info (it may have driven me crazy for an hour...) and it doesn't seem to be posted elsewhere.
    Plasia

  24. #24
    War Room Troll ni-ten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    asdf

    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by Beaps View Post
    I can access the service menu but I cannot change the values, any ideas?

    Quote Originally Posted by Beaps View Post

    I have the same problem as Beaps with a KV-21T1D. I can access the service menu, no problem. But i cannot change any of the values. There must be an additional step with these models. Can anyone shed some light on this?

  25. #25
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,318
    Quote Originally Posted by ni-ten View Post
    I have the same problem as Beaps with a KV-21T1D. I can access the service menu, no problem. But i cannot change any of the values. There must be an additional step with these models. Can anyone shed some light on this?
    I had a Trinitron that would only let me change the values while I was watching TV or gave it composhit - which was utter crap because I wanted to adjust for a better picture when the screen was in RGB mode. Might want to experiment with that.

    Here's my post from the CRT Fetish Thread about it:
    Quote Originally Posted by xsq View Post
    Oh, and while I'm at it, here's some pics of my old Screen, a Sony Trinitron KV-21T3D.

    I really wouldn't recommend this model and I never got it set up to put out a decent picture (I think that shows in the photos). You can only change the settings via the remote when you're using the tuner or supply a composite signal - once you change to RGB (which you have to select manually everytime as well by pressing the aux button twice, otherwise it'll show composite) the picture shifts and changes colors. So you're basically adjusting the RGB picture blind, hoping the changes you make will be right. This also means that if you're going for a good RGB picture, the composite picture you're seeing while adjusting will be shifted and looking bad. You also have to switch off your RGB source while using composite/tuner, otherwise the menu won't be readable because the picture is running. The service mode can only be reached by a entering a code on the remote while the TV is in standby, which adds to the fun...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •