Page 2 of 60 FirstFirst 1234561252 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 1497

Thread: NeoGeoX Hacking and Mods

  1. #26
    N00b of Syougi SlickDizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI, USA

    Posts
    204
    Don't get me wrong, I totally support the effort to open up the NGX, I'm just wondering if they might change it later. But considering they aren't offering any other game cards, who knows. At least us owners have options if they never support it with good titles.
    In the beginning, god created the universe.
    This has made a lot of people very angry, and is generally regarded as a bad move.


    Vatanen & Richards: The Winner 1981 WRC

  2. #27
    NEST Puppet

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    183
    Aw, nuts. My attempts to mount the SD card somehow corrupted it despite me setting it to read-only. Oh well.

    Edit: All attempts to format it thwarted. Says it's write-protected with the switch up and down.
    Last edited by nerdstick; 12-21-2012 at 12:34 AM.

  3. #28
    Pao Pao cafe VIP
    Caprica Orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Netherlands

    Posts
    205
    Maybe this can help with formatting the card: https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_3/

  4. #29
    Member 68k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cardiff

    Posts
    39
    Ingenic JZ4770 CPU (1 GHz, ~250 mW)

    Includes: 1080p video decoding unit for H.264, VC-1 and VP8 (a secondary 500 MHz MIPS processor with SIMD extension), 2D+3D GC860 Graphics core (licensed from Vivante) supporting OpenGL ES 2.0 and OpenVG 1.1

    That is one beastly CPU for a Neo Geo emulator.

  5. #30
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    HitokiriRyu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA

    Posts
    248
    Here is a link to all of the development tools for the processor http://en.ingenic.cn/product.aspx?ID=62. I'm sure the software required to read the data off the cards is in there.

  6. #31
    Bao's Babysitter
    topher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    va beach

    Posts
    2,832
    This was a pleasant surprise to wake up to! You guys are awesome!

    I have a feeling we are going to see this completely hacked before the New Year...

  7. #32
    Member 68k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cardiff

    Posts
    39
    This would make an awesome MAME portable if the software is completely cracked. The hardware is pretty damn powerful.

  8. #33
    Member 68k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cardiff

    Posts
    39
    Also, would be interesting to attempt a CPU speed increase if the software is cracked.

    You can see the 512.00 MHz oscillator located next to the SoC.



    Won't be useful for Neo Geo emulation, but if MAME/Dreamcast/etc emulation is added in the future...

  9. #34
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    HitokiriRyu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA

    Posts
    248
    Not to mention being able to use the dock for tv output with the emulation and possibly supporting other usb controllers.

    Quote Originally Posted by 68k View Post
    Also, would be interesting to attempt a CPU speed increase if the software is cracked.
    Won't be useful for Neo Geo emulation, but if MAME/Dreamcast/etc emulation is added in the future...
    Last edited by HitokiriRyu; 12-21-2012 at 07:21 AM.

  10. #35
    Robert Garcia's Butler
    broken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    1,276
    Quote Originally Posted by 68k View Post
    This would make an awesome MAME portable if the software is completely cracked. The hardware is pretty damn powerful.
    That's what I am holding out on.

    I would buy one of these once someone sorts out how to open it up and run other stuffs on it.
    RGB 4 THE PEOPLE!



    Slashchat nick = Yodd


  11. #36
    World Hero
    werejag's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma

    Posts
    2,323
    is there a copy of the microsd around?
    I guess it's a good day for Were-Jag... -NG: DEV.TEAM
    It's only fucking 50 USD for crying out loud. -Yakumo
    If there's one thing I hate in life more than anything else it's freeloaders. -Yakumo
    "reality has a well-known liberal bias." - Stephen Colbert

  12. #37
    Gai's Trainer
    lantus360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kansas City, KS

    Posts
    1,344
    ya it could be a really sweet emulation/homebrew device

    i am excite

  13. #38
    I'll try to make an image of it this weekend, but the "bad blocks" or whatever errors it was giving me worry me. I wish I was well versed in Linux. I'll put that "testdisk" on my mac since it has a unix backbone and see if I have better luck there.

    I'm also hesitant to do too much because if I screw up my card, I'll be SOL. I'm sure I can get it replaced from Amazon.

    Side note, When I press up (this was before I took it apart), I have to go further past the click for the up to register. The other 3 directions register right at the click. So that's a warranty issue, it'll have to go back at some point.

  14. #39
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    DaytimeDreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London, UK

    Posts
    345
    Interesting. I will talk with some programmers friends of mine tonight and be back with info if there is any

    Awesome work guys, keep this thread alive!

  15. #40
    NEST Puppet

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by ComBoMasTer View Post
    Maybe this can help with formatting the card: https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_3/
    Same one I used. Perhaps they rigged the card to be write-protected regardless of the switch?

  16. #41
    What firmware does everyone have? I think I have 337. Over at gamefaqs, someone asked that question and there are at least 3 versions out there. 337, 357, and 370. No idea what the difference is.

  17. #42
    NEST Puppet

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    183
    I have 337. I was wondering if someone who still had their update file someone mentioned in the main thread for a later version would upload it if we could update the older (337/357) units with it.

  18. #43
    Bao's Babysitter
    topher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    va beach

    Posts
    2,832
    Where is firmware version shown?

  19. #44
    NEST Puppet

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by topher View Post
    Where is firmware version shown?
    Pressing Menu in the menu.

  20. #45

    Why So Serious
    Lee Gray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    England

    Posts
    7,189
    The good thing about this is, If there is something needed doing to the machine itself and some people (me inc) have no clue how to do it, it will be easy and cheap enough to send of the handheld to an expert.

  21. #46
    Toapran
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    West

    Posts
    10,701
    Has anyone tried comparing the ninja masters card to a normal SD card? Might be easier to read.

  22. #47
    Bao's Babysitter
    topher's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    va beach

    Posts
    2,832
    I have a 337 also

  23. #48
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    mr_e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis

    Posts
    111
    Someone should take a dd dump image of that internal SD card and upload it for me. Anyone with a mac or linux can do it. If I can get a peek at the filesytems and figure out what they are. And even better, get them mounted, shits on. Its going to be large, if someone is willing to dump it, I can provide a place to host it.

    dd overview and usage found here...
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dd_%28Unix%29

  24. #49
    I made a DD image of whatever it is when you hook the NGX up to your computer, I don't know if that 1GB partition is from the internal SD card or what. It was late when I did it and I was able to mount it with daemon tools, but I couldn't access it. I only tried once then went to bed. I have an open weekend ahead of me to dive in to this more.

  25. #50
    FUCKSTICK MODERATOR.
    Misanthrope


    VanillaThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chasing the Pfhor around L'howon with SPNKR in hand...

    Posts
    14,092
    You can take a look at this in windows fairly easily.



    Download and install FTK imager ( http://www.accessdata.com/support/product-downloads )

    Add the card as an evidence item
    Acquire an image in RAW (dd)format.
    When done, you can proceed with looking at the file tree, also. you should be able to view the filesystems on the card.

    You now have an unaltered, safe copy of your card and the ability to browse and file carve the contents of the image. You can also do this for the system if that's not the same card that is presented.
    Last edited by VanillaThunder; 12-21-2012 at 02:39 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •