Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 456789 LastLast
Results 176 to 200 of 203

Thread: Neo Diagnostics ROMs

  1. #176
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,500
    Quote Originally Posted by sega8bit View Post
    Thanks for much for making this Diag BIOS for the Neo Geo boards. It's saved me a few times already.

    I have one AES board that passes all tests, but when holding D to test the Z80 it fails with:

    Z80 Dead / Errored / Comm issue
    Expected 03
    Actual 00

    Attachment 35891
    Did you test it with the additional PCB required for Z80 testing?

  2. #177
    . sega8bit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Did you test it with the additional PCB required for Z80 testing?
    No, I just tested it with the game NAM1975. I wasn't aware of an additional PCB.

    So the tests all pass, but the Z80 one fails.

    See my screen shot here - Graphics have sprite issues.

    NeoGeoAESAllTests.jpg
    NeoGeoAESSpriteIssue.jpg

  3. #178
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,500
    that's a software issue. The D-Bios only tests hardware on the system to make the game/sound run.

    Check smkdan's website for the into to make a test cart to test the Z80.

  4. #179
    . sega8bit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    that's a software issue. The D-Bios only tests hardware on the system to make the game/sound run.

    Check smkdan's website for the into to make a test cart to test the Z80.
    Oh right. Yeah im starting to think this has nothing to do with the Z80 as that only runs audio on the AES right?

    What do you mean software issue?

    So my issue is the graphics glitch as per my previous sheet shots. All tests pass on the Diag BIOS. The game works perfectly on another console. I've cleaned the cart slot on this one and made sure it's not that.

    Any suggestions from anyone?

  5. #180
    .
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Montevideo

    Posts
    1
    I hace this problem : video ram error , code 00008000 , write 5555, read 00FF , un dagnosis say vram 2k edad (lower) i look traces form ram 7 and ram 8 of my mv-1fz and traces ser fine, ahy suggestion? Thx

  6. #181
    .
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Nottingham, UK

    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by vash999 View Post
    I hace this problem : video ram error , code 00008000 , write 5555, read 00FF , un dagnosis say vram 2k edad (lower) i look traces form ram 7 and ram 8 of my mv-1fz and traces ser fine, ahy suggestion? Thx
    I had a similar issue on by MV1FZ too, mine was on the Upper Vram though, after checking the traces to Ram7 and Ram8 were fine i marked each chip then desoldered them and swapped them around, the error then reported lower so i knew my Ram8 was at fault.

    Yours should just be the reverse.

    Replace the faulty chip and all should be well

  7. #182
    Neo Bubble Buster

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    48
    Hi all,

    I have a MVS which doesnt boot without game, but with game inserted works sometimes.

    I have tested it with NeoDiagnostics Bios and shows "Bios CRC Error" . I dont understand this error, can anybody help me?

    Thanks.

  8. #183
    Angel's Love Slave
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,070
    If the SMK dan bios is giving you the Bios CRC error, I would suspect bad connection between CPU and the BIOS - check all the address and data lines.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  9. #184
    Neo Bubble Buster

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    If the SMK dan bios is giving you the Bios CRC error, I would suspect bad connection between CPU and the BIOS - check all the address and data lines.
    Hi,

    before write my message, I checked all bios and 68k traces and all was ok. The board worked fine, but in a cicle off-on showed the message. Only works with unibios + cart inserted.

  10. #185

  11. #186
    Astra Superstar
    dragonpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ネオジオCO、ポルトガル

    Posts
    813
    Is there any news about snkdan?
    Hyper Neo Geo 64 / Neo Geo CD - Top Loader / Neo Geo Poket Color/ Neo MVS - MV1FZ / 1B / 4F

  12. #187
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,500
    Quote Originally Posted by dragonpt View Post
    Is there any news about snkdan?
    I wish, I haven't gotten a response from him in a long time. I hope he's ok. He's a very useful guy.

  13. #188
    Astra Superstar
    dragonpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ネオジオCO、ポルトガル

    Posts
    813
    Yeah :/
    Its been more than 2 years since he login
    Hyper Neo Geo 64 / Neo Geo CD - Top Loader / Neo Geo Poket Color/ Neo MVS - MV1FZ / 1B / 4F

  14. #189
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    cyberspace

    Posts
    6
    Is there anyone I can purchase the Neo Geo Diag Bios from? I know this isn't the buy/sell/trade part of the forum but I figured some one here could point me the right direction. Thanks.

  15. #190
    B. Jenet's Firstmate
    TravistyOJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Woodstock, GA

    Posts
    414
    PM me your address, I'll send you a free one

  16. #191
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Ireland

    Posts
    9
    anybody knows where I can buy the diag cartridge..?

  17. #192
    Lazy SNK Employee
    pnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    France

    Posts
    59
    Hi, I'm new here and I would thanks SMKDAN for its works.
    I didn't found any contact email on your webpage so it's mainly the reason I'm here.
    I work on a MVS02 slot and I've good hope to make it works with your diagnostic rom.
    Many traces have been fixed and it remain 2 to fix between my LSPC-A0 and my Neo-IO (both are related to the SFIX) and normally I'll have something turning from this:

    https://s10.postimg.org/4mfve3709/DSC_0893.jpg

    in something almost like this.

    https://wiki.neogeodev.org/images/1/19/Diag1.png

    This link was also helpful.
    https://wiki.neogeodev.org/images/1/15/Fixref01.png

    all the best and sorry for my english.

  18. #193
    Lazy SNK Employee
    pnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    France

    Posts
    59
    Progress, the first test steps are ok then I have a VRAM2K lower dead output.
    So, problem with the /RW or the SRAM.
    I hope it's not the LSPC-A0 (76) pin that goes bad.



    edit 2:
    are the tests in your webpage displayed in the same order than the test ?
    Because I could briefly see displayed test on WRAM, BRAM and Palette RAM.
    And it seems that the program halt on the first failure, is there any way to skip and resume test till the end ?
    Last edited by pnauts; 06-12-2017 at 04:33 PM. Reason: picture added

  19. #194
    Lazy SNK Employee
    pnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    France

    Posts
    59
    passed the RAM2K error with 2 new chips, great!
    But then I had a video RAM error, but message was in the garbage, it seems to be once data, then address, I removed and change the lower chip, no more error like previous but set of data displayed by pair, then removed the upper RAM32K and now have some curious colors. I have to solder a new one and fix the broken traces. Pfff, I hope to be next to the end.
    Last edited by pnauts; 06-25-2017 at 09:40 AM.

  20. #195
    Lazy SNK Employee
    pnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    France

    Posts
    59
    almost fixed, doesn't run with a game (whatever slot 1 or 2 used)




  21. #196
    Cham Cham's Banana
    Geekman1222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Carolina

    Posts
    157
    I read through a lot of pages on this thread. This bios tool set is AWSOME I might really need soon.
    I gotta MV1-FSB thats turning into a nightmare. Long story short one of the traces was bad around the z80 location and there was heat damage around the Z80 when I bought the supposed "working" board. I had to remove the z80 to get to the bad trace and after carefully cutting the old z80 out and socketing a new one in to cut down on heat in the area I now get a Z80 error. It can be bypassed with a Uni bios but theres no sound... And the repaired trace didnt fix any issues I had with my video issue I wasn't sure it really would but it needed fixing damit. LOL should have just left it but I cant do that... lol

    Also inbefor anyone mentions yes I tried my best to go back and check continuity on all the Z80 pins after I socketed it. I wont rule out something terrible happened to one of the through holes for the Z80 but I was very careful sigh

    Prolly gonna look into getting a cheap MVS cart as a donor for a Char board.

    Kudos to the awsome people on this forum that make useful tools and information available !!
    Last edited by Geekman1222; 07-05-2017 at 11:42 PM.

  22. #197
    Lazy SNK Employee
    pnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    France

    Posts
    59
    I don't understand, with Unibios, memory at @0100 is good.



    why am I stuck to the crosshatch ?
    Last edited by pnauts; 07-07-2017 at 04:50 PM.

  23. #198
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,208
    It might have been better to make a seperate post about this to make it more visible. I think you almost have it working though.

    Its not just 0x100 that is checked. Address 0x182 is read to get an offset (32bit). A chunk of code at this offset (on the cart) is then compared against the same code in the bios byte for byte. If this fails you'll see the crosshatch. From the picture you have posted I would guess one the the higher program ROM address lines is broken at the cart edge (but have you confirmed te cart your testing is good?).

    Try cleaning the cart contacts and if no joy use the memory viewer again after looking the following info.

    https://wiki.neogeodev.org/index.php...=Security_code
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  24. #199
    Lazy SNK Employee
    pnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    France

    Posts
    59
    The cartridge is a good one, tested on another slot.
    I have almost good B02D instead of D02D ?
    just to this address?
    Looks like a bad copy/paste on the wiki???

    dc.w 07600H, 04A6DH, 00A14H, 06600H
    dc.w 0003CH, 0206DH, 00A04H, 03E2DH
    dc.w 00A08H, 013C0H, 00030H, 00001H
    dc.w 03210H, 00C01H, 000FFH, 0671AH
    dc.w 03028H, 00002H, 0B02DH, 00ACEH
    dc.w 06610H, 03028H, 00004H, 0B02DH
    dc.w 00ACFH, 00606H, 0B22DH, 00AD0H
    dc.w 06708H, 05088H, 051CFH, 0FFD4H
    dc.w 03607H, 04E75H, 0206DH, 00A04H
    dc.w 03E2DH, 00A08H, 03210H, 0E049H
    dc.w 00C01H, 000FFH, 0671AH, 03010H
    dc.w 0B02DH, 00ACEH, 06612H, 03028H
    dc.w 00002H, 0E048H, 0B02DH, 00ACFH
    dc.w 06606H, 0B22DH, 00AD0H, 06708H
    dc.w 05888H, 051CFH, 0FFD8H, 03607H
    dc.w 04E75H
    but I don't start at this address, I think this is the point.



    sorry for the post in this thread, if a moderator can move it in a general repair topic and link it ?
    Thank you.
    Last edited by pnauts; 07-08-2017 at 06:47 AM. Reason: overload thread with generic fix topics

  25. #200
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,208
    yes it was bad in the wiki, I corrected that now. I guess then the issue is the data is not stable at the point the bios tests the cart.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •