Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011
Results 251 to 264 of 264

Thread: Neo Diagnostics ROMs

  1. #251
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    342
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Is there any work around to get it to work on AES like pull it from the cart inserted, kinda like how the Unibios does?
    I'm still a bit light on neo geo graphics but reading over the dev wiki and looking at open bios I think its likely unibios/openbios are using some trickery to get the bars on aes. They can use a single solid color tile (0x00) to render the bars by using the hblank/timer interrupt to change palettes colors multiple times mid frame. I'm not sure at this point if there was a specific reason smkdan didn't go that route.

    There should be a somewhat simple workaround though. I assume you are using a diag cart, it should be possible to burn the sfix rom as the carts s1 rom, then I can give you a bios version that enables the bars test on aes. I dont have a working aes to test with, but this works in mame.

  2. #252
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    342
    Here is the disassembled code.

    https://github.com/jwestfall69/neogeo-diag-bios

  3. #253
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    342
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Is there any work around to get it to work on AES like pull it from the cart inserted, kinda like how the Unibios does?
    Can you give this a try

    https://www.mvs-scans.com/misc/sp1-19a00-aes-bars.bin

    I reimplemented the colors bars to mimic what unibios does. Its working as expected on mvs hardware and seems ok running it in aes mode in mame.

  4. #254
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    342
    Quote Originally Posted by ack View Post
    Can you give this a try

    https://www.mvs-scans.com/misc/sp1-19a00-aes-bars.bin

    I reimplemented the colors bars to mimic what unibios does. Its working as expected on mvs hardware and seems ok running it in aes mode in mame.
    I fixed up a broken aes I had and was able to confirm the color bars are working with that version.

  5. #255
    New Challenger
    Mehunglo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So. Cal.

    Posts
    22
    I have a couple of boards that I've been working on that play games fine, but have no game audio. They both have sound in hardware test without game, but not with game inserted.

    The 2 slot I had in my dedicated cab, was working fine, turned it on one day, no audio. No battery leakage but still removed battery, cleaned all slots, replaced/socketed Z80A, YM2610, YM3016. Neo diagnostics audio test gives this error.
    2-slot.png

    The 4 slot, removed battery, cleaned slots, socketed Z80A. Neo diagnostics audio test gives this error, which is jumbled. 4-slot.png

    I'm stuck here.

  6. #256
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    342
    I assume you are using the diag m1 cart and have verified its working as expected on a know working board?

    On the 4 slot pic. Are graphics messed up in the diag bios if you don't do the Z80 tests?

  7. #257
    New Challenger
    Mehunglo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So. Cal.

    Posts
    22
    I verified cart on working board. The jumbled letters are only with the audio part of the diagnostics. The hardware part is normal.

  8. #258
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    342
    The graphics issue to me looks like fix data might have stuck data bits. If its happening on all slots it might be an issue with the connection between the boards or one of the chips that handles switching between the slots on the slot board.

    On your 2 slot board, the actual being 01, I think would be an indication the diag m1 is not running right. 01 would have been the last thing the sm1 rom sent to the 68k to indicate it was ready for the switch to the diag m1. So perhaps you have an issue with the data/address path to the m1 on the cart that causing it to crash/not function.

    I would also suggest clearing your backup ram as it can sometime fix audio not working.

  9. #259
    New Challenger
    Mehunglo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So. Cal.

    Posts
    22
    On the 4 slot I used an older diag. and no jumbled graphics and was able to see this error.
    4sloterror.png.
    This is my cart.
    Diagcart.pngdiagcartback.png.
    Tried it in 2 of the 4 slots, same error. Out of curiosity I removed the M1 eprom and still got the same error. Has my M1 been bad all this time? I've cleared the backup ram countless times hoping it would suddenly work. No such luck.
    Last edited by Mehunglo; 05-22-2020 at 10:55 PM.

  10. #260
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    ack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA

    Posts
    342
    Its possible its bad or there is a connectivity issue between the z80 and m1 diag.

  11. #261
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    pnauts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    France

    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by Mehunglo View Post
    I have a couple of boards that I've been working on that play games fine, but have no game audio. They both have sound in hardware test without game, but not with game inserted.

    The 2 slot I had in my dedicated cab, was working fine, turned it on one day, no audio. No battery leakage but still removed battery, cleaned all slots, replaced/socketed Z80A, YM2610, YM3016. Neo diagnostics audio test gives this error.
    2-slot.png

    I'm stuck here.
    It was useless to change the YM3016.
    You can have a Z80 successful test even without YM2610.
    Is it a MV2F slot or MV2-01 ?
    You problem can come from a defective SM1 Rom, RAM BR6116 (quite rare), NEO-D0, PRO-B0 for 1st gen slot (quite rare I think) or NEO-C1 if 2 slot from 2nd gen.
    The NEO-257 can also have some trouble on the Sound Datas bus (SD 0..7)

  12. #262
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,600
    When using the Diagnostic cart in a multislot, make sure you follow the instructions on the Diagnostic bios page as multis lots require you to press and hold a direction to test a certain slot.

    Also, if you are using a Unibios 4.0, test audio only from slot 1 if using only 1 cart.

  13. #263
    New Challenger
    Mehunglo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So. Cal.

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by pnauts View Post
    It was useless to change the YM3016.
    You can have a Z80 successful test even without YM2610.
    Is it a MV2F slot or MV2-01 ?
    You problem can come from a defective SM1 Rom, RAM BR6116 (quite rare), NEO-D0, PRO-B0 for 1st gen slot (quite rare I think) or NEO-C1 if 2 slot from 2nd gen.
    The NEO-257 can also have some trouble on the Sound Datas bus (SD 0..7)
    It's a MV2F. I tried something that's not usually recommended, but I piggybacked the 3016 and got sound. I also tried it on the 4 slot(didn't work), went back to the 2F, didn't get sound the second time. Still replaced it (I have several 3016's), still no in-game sound. I've kind of given up for now. Time disappears when I get into troubleshooting the boards.

  14. #264
    New Challenger
    Mehunglo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    So. Cal.

    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    When using the Diagnostic cart in a multislot, make sure you follow the instructions on the Diagnostic bios page as multis lots require you to press and hold a direction to test a certain slot.

    Also, if you are using a Unibios 4.0, test audio only from slot 1 if using only 1 cart.
    I followed the directions exactly. The games boot fine (all slots), no glitches, look perfect to me, except no in-game sound. I'm pretty sure I've spent more money buying parts and tools to fix these boards than they're worth. The smart thing would have been to sell the boards as-is and be done with it, guess I'm not that smart!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •