Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 203

Thread: Neo Diagnostics ROMs

  1. #1
    Galford's Armourer

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    452

    Neo Diagnostics ROMs

    This is something I started a long time ago but only got off the backburner recently. In a nutshell, it's a pair of diagnostic ROMs that's supposed to do a better job of error reporting. Ideally it ends up saving hours of trying to find the cause compared to what the original BIOS does for you. The other major thing is that it includes a Z80 ROM for an actual Z80 test instead of the really basic "Z80 ERROR" you might see. The Z80 part requires a spare CHA board (any one with NEO-ZMC), a socket and a 27c1001 to burn but it's optional. The BIOS just takes place of the regular BIOS but it can't be used to play games.

    Enabling proper Z80 testing is the reason I started it since the original setup is almost worthless for that. It does have a full set of tests for the 68k end of things though. A lot of tests have been added and are more precise in reporting what actually appears to be wrong and are more likely to catch certain problems that the original tests can't. Another bonus is that it's more likely to give a meaningful info on a completely dead system since it doesn't rely on as many working components, so a system with the click of death is worth trying with something like this. There's a bunch of other things too but most of it on my site.

    Here's the homepage with download links and some info. I tested this on my own AES+MV1T+MV2F+MV4F and it seems to work fine. Any suggestions or questions, just shoot. Even if you don't understand what an error is trying to tell you, just posting a pic of the results may help you save a lot of screwing around. I already got some use out of it with a 4 slot that I've been sitting on for a while and hopefully repairers or anyone with a load of systems can get some use out of it.

  2. #2
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd
    shadows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    1,659
    Thats pretty awesome.

  3. #3
    Astra Superstar
    dragonpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ネオジオCO、ポルトガル

    Posts
    813
    good work mate
    Hyper Neo Geo 64 / Neo Geo CD - Top Loader / Neo Geo Poket Color/ Neo MVS - MV1FZ / 1B / 4F

  4. #4
    Kula's Candy
    mjs256's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    U.S.A.

    Posts
    292
    WOW That is entirely awesome! You deserve a medal, sir! This will be extremely useful!
    SNK forever

  5. #5
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,497
    It's finally public, so happy dude.

    I urge everyone to support him by making a donation if you can. He's always making good stuff for the Neo.

  6. #6
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    distropia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    my workbench

    Posts
    1,041
    Thanks man. I'll give it a shot. When I can, I'll make a donation.
    "appleTV-like" Consolized NeoGeo MVS builder (take a look here)

  7. #7
    Mauru's Zoo Manager
    werejag's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma

    Posts
    2,881
    now time to build an aes and a mvs cart but ill want labels
    I guess it's a good day for Were-Jag... -NG: DEV.TEAM
    It's only fucking 50 USD for crying out loud. -Yakumo
    If there's one thing I hate in life more than anything else it's freeloaders. -Yakumo
    "reality has a well-known liberal bias." - Stephen Colbert

  8. #8
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,497
    Works pretty good, only thing I would say is maybe slow down the tones a little.

    On an FZ I am working on I got:

    BRAM ADDRESS (A0-A7) 1010010
    Address: D00002
    Actual: 0800
    Expected: 0101

    When I held C during boot I got ( did this only because I don't know if it only displays one error at a time, so I tried to skipp the BRAM test):

    Palette Address A8-A12
    Address: 400000
    Actual: 1010
    Expected: 0000

  9. #9
    Mauru's Zoo Manager
    werejag's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma

    Posts
    2,881
    how about a chr board specially made with a aes slot and a mvs solt on same cart.....
    I guess it's a good day for Were-Jag... -NG: DEV.TEAM
    It's only fucking 50 USD for crying out loud. -Yakumo
    If there's one thing I hate in life more than anything else it's freeloaders. -Yakumo
    "reality has a well-known liberal bias." - Stephen Colbert

  10. #10
    Astra Superstar
    dragonpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ネオジオCO、ポルトガル

    Posts
    813
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    It's finally public, so happy dude.

    I urge everyone to support him by making a donation if you can. He's always making good stuff for the Neo.


    DONE





    This guy have my support, thanks for your hard work,
    If i had more money i would made bigger donation, but i was a father 2 months ago (), so money is not too much now
    Hyper Neo Geo 64 / Neo Geo CD - Top Loader / Neo Geo Poket Color/ Neo MVS - MV1FZ / 1B / 4F

  11. #11
    Astra Superstar
    dragonpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ネオジオCO、ポルトガル

    Posts
    813
    Since im an nuub on this

    can you give me some info in what i need to have (eprom burner ?), and how to use it?

    thanks
    Hyper Neo Geo 64 / Neo Geo CD - Top Loader / Neo Geo Poket Color/ Neo MVS - MV1FZ / 1B / 4F

  12. #12
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,497
    Quote Originally Posted by werejag View Post
    how about a chr board specially made with a aes slot and a mvs solt on same cart.....
    The only person I know that has that is NeoTurfMasta.

  13. #13
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS
    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    4,198
    Very nice work there.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS / AES, and now also for CD )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  14. #14
    Galford's Armourer

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    452
    Thanks for the feedback/support.

    @Xian: I had a typo that made backup RAM get address tested before data tested which should be the other way around, so don't trust that error info yet for BRAM yet. I updated sp1.bin so try download v011 from my site. I might slow down the tones the next time m1.bin gets an update. It stops on the first error it finds and the tests are done in fixed order. I didn't let you continue when errors are found since you can't skip them to play games anyway, but since it could be useful if you get a busted board with lots of issues I can add that in later on.

    @dragonpt: You need EPROM programmer and 1x 27c1024 EPROM atleast. It's the same as if you were to make any BIOS. 27c1024 goes into the BIOS socket, then you just power on. To do sound tests, you need more: 1x 27c1001, 1x 32pin socket and almost any CHA board. "How to use" section on my site has more info.
    Last edited by smkdan; 08-02-2012 at 05:53 AM.

  15. #15

  16. #16
    DANCE DANCE KARNOV!
    NeoTurfMasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    They call me Hell. They call me stacey. They call me her. They call me Jane. That's not my name. That's not my name. That's not my name. ☭

    Posts
    4,225
    Congrats man, this is awesome! I'll be testing it this weekend on a few junker mvs boards I have. You know James, I have been thinking about recreating the dev board for low meg games. It would work perfectly for things like this

  17. #17
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,497
    Quote Originally Posted by NeoTurfMasta View Post
    Congrats man, this is awesome! I'll be testing it this weekend on a few junker mvs boards I have. You know James, I have been thinking about recreating the dev board for low meg games. It would work perfectly for things like this
    Oh hell yes. That would be a perfect use for it.

  18. #18

  19. #19
    Galford's Armourer

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    452
    @Xian: Palette RAM address looks like cut trace on A8 to both chips according to error info. A8(25) on both RAMs should go to PA8(28) on NEO-B1 according to pinouts. It looks like it's just a cut trace. Backup RAM data looks odd but I have some ideas. Is the result address+data values always the same? What happens when you power cycle and not just soft resetting? Output enable tests are in there but nothing specifically for write enables (should
    be a future feature) and I'm suspicious about both chips outputting odd values on the same address.

    edit: nevermind, just realised it said "Actual: 1010" instead of 0101. That's a palette bank problem. A12(2) on each palette RAM comes from an output from the HC259(12).

    @NTM: Sounds interesting, I forgot about those dual connector dev boards. If you have something in mind that wouldn't cost much to develop that would be great.
    Last edited by smkdan; 08-03-2012 at 01:03 AM.

  20. #20

  21. #21

  22. #22
    Galford's Armourer

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    452
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Just tried again and now it is:

    Addy: D00002
    Actual: 0900
    EXP: 0000
    Random power up data explains it. I think it's just reading random garbage data that the RAMs power on with. I am pretty sure this is a /WE problem to both backup RAMs. The reads are working since the BIOS is getting output from them but the writes are failing and random garbage data comes out. They have individual /WE signals that are supposed to come from a pair of outputs from HC32 for write protection. Can you trace pin 27 on each BRAM to it?

  23. #23
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,497
    Quote Originally Posted by smkdan View Post
    Random power up data explains it. I think it's just reading random garbage data that the RAMs power on with. I am pretty sure this is a /WE problem to both backup RAMs. The reads are working since the BIOS is getting output from them but the writes are failing and random garbage data comes out. They have individual /WE signals that are supposed to come from a pair of outputs from HC32 for write protection. Can you trace pin 27 on each BRAM to it?
    The /WE from the BRAMs I know is handled by U17 which is the LS32 in the backup area. I check this board and it's connected fine. Is not having a battery installed part of the problem?

  24. #24
    Galford's Armourer

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    452
    Unless the backup circuit is damaged it shouldn't matter unless they changed things later on. SRAM should be active with/without battery.

    There's more to enabling backup RAM though. Q6(11) from the HC259 leads to an inverter (HC04 on 1F), then gets output to an LS32 input pair. The other LS32 input in this pair comes from a transistor according to the 1F schematic. They're named SRAMWEN and SRAMCS if you have the 1F schematic open but I don't know if this goes for the 1FZ too. There's also pins 98 and 14 from NEO-C1 that lead to inputs on this LS32. First page of the 1F schematic has the diagram. There's also the LS32 output that leads into a pair of its own inputs and that has to be good or else writes get blocked.

    edit: missed inverter between HC259 and LS32, added that in.
    Last edited by smkdan; 08-03-2012 at 01:38 AM.

  25. #25
    ネオジオ
    massimiliano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    On the green!!

    Posts
    2,819
    Awesome projects here!

    please join with Brian, a development/debug kit would be awesome!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •