Viability of collecting MVS kits?

xb74

Gai's Trainer
10 Year Member
I am new to the neo geo collecting game and was wondering if anybody can assist -

I am contemplating owning some MVS kits. They will never be touched, just used as conversation starters. My question is, have MVS kits appreciated much over the last 10 years? I was hoping for some perspective from the experienced collectors as to their worth so I can make an informed decision to begin purchasing or not. Thankyou.

cdamm

Trust the French?
10 Year Member
...I am contemplating owning some MVS kits. They will never be touched, just used as conversation starters...

cmt-medium.gif

trenog

Gai's Trainer
10 Year Member
I think you're better off trying a different hobby that's a conversation starter. Art is probably more what you're looking for. Video games are definitely not a conversation starter in most instances. Also cdamm x a billion.

SNKorSWM

So Many Posts
No Time
For Games.
10 Year Member
Why not just buy empty shockboxes and print out whatever insert you want in them? They would look no different from mvs games on your shelf, except much cheaper.

HeavyMachineGoob

My poontang misses Lenn Yang's wang
10 Year Member
If by "conversation starters" you mean "trying to get laid", then I think you really shouldn't be looking into video games... No matter how expensive they are. That just magnify's the dork-factor.

rcantor77

Baseball Star Hitter
Why would you buy full kits just to look at... would you even think about owning a cab or CMVS so you could actually play them...?

And as for question, most would have depreciated since their original release but the prices have stabilised now and chances are they will not drop in price. But still, collect to play not to shelve...:oh_no:

snkmax330

Rugal's Thug
try first to get a life dude. collecting fks is time consuming and expensive.
don't blow your money in video games
ig your goal is to make easy money, lot of guys already do that

LoneSage