Buying stuff form Japan these days

neo_X7

Disciple Of Orochi
Serious question, what do all of you think about the chances of games coming from Japan having radioactive contamination? I know most of the import shops on eBay and such are located around the Tokyo area. I have seen a lot of people second guessing about buying items from Japan lately, and I have no knowledge on the subject. Do you think that people are just believing media and being ignorant, or keeping themselves safe?

SSS

neo retired
get some lead foil and wrap it around your head and nether regions

ki_atsushi

So Many Posts
No Time
For Games.
20 Year Member
What is this, the fifth time this has come up?

People are so damn paranoid. Think of this: 12km around the Fukushima plant have been evacuated. This means that no one in the direct vicinity of the damn reactor is in the possession of game related stuff. They are living elsewhere... or, unfortunately, dead. Do you think the survivors had time to take any videogame related items during evacuation?

So the chance of someone selling you a contaminated item is slim to none, but even if you were to get a contaminated item, you're not going to be rubbing it on your skin, are you? The amount of what would be secondary radiation contamination probably wouldn't even be harmful in the long term even if you bathed in irradiated Neo carts.

Can we put this baby to bed?

Late

Reichsf?rer-Finnland,
20 Year Member
This hysteria is getting ridiculous.

I just bought a cart from Japan, it glows with a sickly green light in the dark, and once I caught it moving about the flat.

Takumaji

Master Enabler
Staff member
As long as it isn't spinach grown in Fukushima half a mile away from the plant, I wouldn't be worried about a possible contamination of goods ordered from Japan.

Maybe we should sticky one of those threads to avoid further repeats...

Flagshiphero

Crazed MVS Addict