Neo-Geo cd system resets

Newbie here... Just bought a used Japaneese Neo-Geo cd system and a Double-Dragon cd game. I place the Double-Dragon cd game into the system and power it up, but whenever the game loading bar gets to around 1/3 of the way, the entire system resets itself, each and every time. It plays audio cds fine. Any suggestions?

JAMMASLOT

Crossed Swords Squire
Check for the correct power supply, and also if your cd is in good condition. annoyed

<small>[ August 11, 2003, 10:05 PM: Message edited by: JAMMASLOT ]</small>

While you're checking the power supply (it has to be correct, really, nothing else will fit) try wiggling the cord where it enters the system. The cord is very shoddily assembled and they break internally a lot. 90% of the used units I see in Japan have dead pads and dead PSUs. Thanks SNK!

The game disc is perfect... zero scratches, the power supply says 'AC 100V 50/60hz, 55VA' (I would guess after hours of the main system powered on, if there was a power problem, it would have gone bye,bye.) I tested it for around 2-3 hours. Do you think it's the game disc (could it be a copy?) It looks very genuine. I'm a great fan of any NeoGeo equipment, and I love the fighting games. I may be a newbie, but I respect the collectors around the world that treasure their Neo-Geo collections, and would love to get this Neo-Geo cd system working... Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Takumaji

Master Enabler
Staff member
There are a number of reasons why a CD system resets besides a dirty disc:

- dirty laser lense
- maladjusted CD reader unit
- excessive heat
- electric/electronical shortcut/burnout (e. g. a blown capacitor, damaged memory bank, etc.)

Do you have another game besides DD? If so, test it with that.

Afterwards, get a q-tip and a bit of pure alcohol and CAREFULLY clean the laser lense and the surrounding parts. Make sure that you don't use any force, then try again.