Is my MV1C a boot?

MegaGraffin

Edo Express Delivery Guy
I'm pretty new to Neo Geo and new to the arcade scene in general, so I'm glad I hopefully can gain some clarity on this here. I think this board may be a boot for the following reasons:

-Another site member here said the boards (MV1C) Coinopstore was selling on their website appeared to be boots from the stock photo used. I bought this board from Coinopstore. It's the same in the photo. Owner of store sells bootleg merchandise such as multicarts and has been known to rip people off.

-On my cab I have used a number of other boards with no problem (Naomi setup, MK2, KI). Though, I've used both a legit cart of League Bowling and also a 150 in 1 multicart which have had very similar problems. On League Bowling (only 1p side) and on some of the multicart games, when hitting the A button it's extremely sensitive. Basically registers multiple times from hitting it once. Also some of the games on the multicart don't work. A few other consistent problems on the multicart as well.

I understand the 150 in 1 multicart is no standard to measure anything by, so that aside, considering where I bought it, and that other boards have no problems on my cab except games played on this MV1C, both of these things make me think it's a boot.

I'll be happy to post more pics if needed. Here's a general pic below. Thanks for the help!! Also if it is a boot, what can a person do with these things? Is there a way to "fix" them? Can they be sold for parts? Is there any market for them? I'd prefer not to throw it away, but is there really any option if it's not functioning properly with games? ALSO can using a bootleg 1 slot board hurt my cabinet?
001.jpg

Last edited:

BIG BEAR

SHOCKbox Developer,
20 Year Member