Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: How should I proceed with this NEO GEO?

  1. #1
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    5

    How should I proceed with this NEO GEO?

    Hi,

    First post here!

    <OFFTOPIC>Man, I wish I had found this board a few years ago, could have saved me a lot of time. Nice to see so many people from all over the world keeping the NEO GEO alive </OFFTOPIC>

    My brother still has his NEO GEO that he bought when we still lived in Germany. When we moved to the U.S. I remember going to every store with the Neo Geo RGB cable asking for some kind of adapter so we can use our Neo Geo on an American TV. Most of the people had never seen a cable like that before. We pretty much gave up on the NEO GEO after that. This was in 1995/6 and the NEO GEO has been sitting in it's box in a closet ever since. The other day I saw it in the closet and I figured I'll see what kind of information I can find on it. I've read a lot of older posts in this forum and am wondering if I can still breathe life back into the NEO GEO.

    Specific Problems:
    - Since we bought it in Germany I'm assuming it is a PAL System.

    - I can't seem to locate the RGB cable but I'm sure we still have it somewhere. I will need a A/V cable for the time being. The sega Genesis cable should work right?

    Worst case scenario It won't run because it's PAL.

    Would it be best to buy a PAL/NTSC multisystem monitor? (Had one in Germany)

    Would any RGB capable monitor be multisystem?

    Any advice on how to proceed is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Mizuki's Demon
    Decepticon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    3,048
    Let me be the first to welcome you to the forum, most of the time you will find your questions to be answered quickly.

    As far as your issue, you cant use a Genesis cable for it as it uses a slightly different DIN (cant remember right off hand the #'s)

    The best thing I would recommend is to send it off to get the Svideo and Composite output mods from either Kenny or Jeff Kurtz.

    Both seem pretty damn good in those respects.

    Also NEOFREAK9189 has a scan converted for sale in the Everything Else forum that might help you.

  3. #3
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    5
    .Originally posted by Decepticon
    Let me be the first to welcome you to the forum, most of the time you will find your questions to be answered quickly.

    Thanks! I thought the NeoGeo was a system long and forgotten but just reading these forums brings back the excitement of having a NeoGeo in the house.

    As far as your issue, you cant use a Genesis cable for it as it uses a slightly different DIN (cant remember right off hand the #'s)

    Yeah, I was reading contradictory statements about that and wanted to know if it is true or not. One guy in here wrote that the NeoGeo uses a 270 degree DIN while the Genesis uses a 262 degree cable ?

    The best thing I would recommend is to send it off to get the Svideo and Composite output mods from either Kenny or Jeff Kurtz.

    I assume they convert the system from PAL to NTSC? Probably isn't cheap. And doesn't that void the warranty??

    Also NEOFREAK9189 has a scan converted for sale in the Everything Else forum that might help you.

    This might be the best alternative. I would be able to have RGB ability aswell as PAL playback. I assume NEOFREAK9189 has a good reputation on these forums?

    Hey thanks a lot Decepticon. You helped me a lot.
    Last edited by jazz; 10-11-2003 at 02:55 AM.

  4. #4
    Mizuki's Demon
    Decepticon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    3,048
    More than happy to be of service...just a hint but that "Quote" button over the post is alot more effective

    As far as them converting it to PAL and whatnot I am pretty sure that the system itsself is capable of NTSC signal. Im sure their video mods might work but check with them first.

    As far as Neofreak, I have never personally done any business with him but he seems like a pretty good guy.

    Your best bet if you have any concerns would be to ask him for references and also post a reference check in the selling forum.

    Searching doesn't hurt much either.

    Good luck in getting it to work and enjoy your stay, you will find out the Neo is far from being a dead system.

  5. #5
    Basara's Blade Keeper
    MKL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pordenone, Italy

    Posts
    3,681
    If it's a pal system converting it to ntsc is very easy: you just have to change the crystal (a $1 component readily available at any electronics shops) and connect pin 7 of the Sony video encoder to vcc (in pal mode it's connected to ground). People doing this mod shouldn't charge more than 20-25 bucks unless they want to be called thieves. If you send it to someone to get it ntsc-modded you might want to mod it for s-video as well since composite sucks big time.

    Note that whether it's ntsc or pal the system doesn't lose its RGB capability, so you can always use an upscan converter to hook it up through RGB to a PC monitor.

    The Neo DIN port IS 270. Not sure about the Genesis as I don't have one to check...

  6. #6
    Legalize Ranch roker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Detroit

    Posts
    15,940
    Originally posted by jazz
    .Originally posted by Decepticon

    The best thing I would recommend is to send it off to get the Svideo and Composite output mods from either Kenny or Jeff Kurtz.

    I assume they convert the system from PAL to NTSC? Probably isn't cheap. And doesn't that void the warranty??
    I'm assuming you were joking about the warranty thing.

    Anyway shoot over an email to jmkurtz@columbus.rr.com

    for the S-vid mod

    I assure it is not expensive, but I cannot post the price here.

    You should have no problem with the AC adapter also, if you do, ask in the email.

  7. #7
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by MKL
    If it's a pal system converting it to ntsc is very easy: you just have to change the crystal (a $1 component readily available at any electronics shops) and connect pin 7 of the Sony video encoder to vcc (in pal mode it's connected to ground). People doing this mod shouldn't charge more than 20-25 bucks unless they want to be called thieves. If you send it to someone to get it ntsc-modded you might want to mod it for s-video as well since composite sucks big time.
    Hmm sounds easy. Did a search on the forums using 'crystal' and came up with a lot of results. Although I didn't find any real defintive tutorial. One post said to cut a wire the other post said to just pop in two pins. If there is any soldering involved I would probably not do this myself.

    (BTW. How do you open the NEO GEO? I unscrewed the one screw on the bottom but the case is stuck together really hard. )

    The other question I had,

    Does the scan converter also convert the signal from PAL to NTSC? Or is this just for RGB compatibility? For example if all I did was use the scan converter WITHOUT changing the 'dilithium crystals' or modding the system in anyway. Would I be able to play without any problems?

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Mizuki's Demon
    Decepticon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    3,048
    Originally posted by jazz
    Hmm sounds easy. Did a search on the forums using 'crystal' and came up with a lot of results. Although I didn't find any real defintive tutorial. One post said to cut a wire the other post said to just pop in two pins. If there is any soldering involved I would probably not do this myself.

    (BTW. How do you open the NEO GEO? I unscrewed the one screw on the bottom but the case is stuck together really hard. )

    The other question I had,

    Does the scan converter also convert the signal from PAL to NTSC? Or is this just for RGB compatibility? For example if all I did was use the scan converter WITHOUT changing the 'dilithium crystals' or modding the system in anyway. Would I be able to play without any problems?

    Thanks.
    Good use of the "Quote" button there

    To take apart the system you need to remove the rubber feet on it as well and there are screws underneath.

  9. #9
    Master Cylinder Evil Wasabi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2066
    Location
    В Санкт Петербурге

    Posts
    57,070
    Wonders if he has a Euro Kizuna... If you do I'm interested... 50 dollars shipped.

    Anyhow, welcome, hope you get your problems straightened out. I'm not really a tech guy I just like to hang out here, some smart people here.
    All creature will die and all the things will be broken.

    Neo Geo Dip Switch wiki page

    Quote Originally Posted by SonGohan View Post
    I didn't even talk about how you live in a shack and shit in the fucking forest.
    Quote Originally Posted by SonGohan View Post
    I mean, at least I didn't say your wife should divorce you or comment on your need to play RE while shitting or whatever else was said.

  10. #10
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    5
    Glad I asked probably would have broken the case right there.

    So I have the case open right now and from what I've read on the forums I might have an NTSC verison after all?

    NEO-AES3-4

    Top left corner has:
    NTSC1 with a wire
    PAL2 no wire

    Top right corner has:
    PAL1 no wire

    Also one of the "silver shiny things" (sorry I'm not a hardware guru) says 3.579545
    ?
    Last edited by jazz; 10-11-2003 at 12:10 PM.

  11. #11
    Mizuki's Demon
    Decepticon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    3,048
    Originally posted by jazz
    Glad I asked probably would have broken the case right there.

    So I have the case open right now and from what I've read on the forums I might have an NTSC verison after all?

    NEO-AES3-4

    Top left corner has:
    NTSC1 with a wire
    PAL2 no wire

    Top right corner has:
    PAL1 no wire

    ?
    It sure looks like you do, maybe someone else can confirm this for ya.

  12. #12
    Basara's Blade Keeper
    MKL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pordenone, Italy

    Posts
    3,681
    Originally posted by jazz
    So I have the case open right now and from what I've read on the forums I might have an NTSC verison after all?

    NEO-AES3-4

    Top left corner has:
    NTSC1 with a wire
    PAL2 no wire

    Top right corner has:
    PAL1 no wire

    Also one of the "silver shiny things" (sorry I'm not a hardware guru) says 3.579545
    ?
    Jumper settings and crystal show you have a ntsc machine that should work perfectly on US TVs (if you use a composite cable)

  13. #13
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    5
    @MKL

    Thanks that's one thing less I have to worry about.

    Jumper settings and crystal show you have a ntsc machine that should work perfectly on US TVs (if you use a composite cable)
    You had to throw the "if " in there didn't you!

    Composite cable being the red, white, and yellow cable (often referred to as A/V cables)? Well I'm going to go over to Fry's today see what I can find. If not I'll probably buy one them scan converters.

    Thanks to everybody for their help.

  14. #14
    Mizuki's Demon
    Decepticon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New Orleans

    Posts
    3,048
    If you dont have the cable, Im sure Fry's wont have it either.

    Your options then would be to either buy a cable from the forums or eBay or else send it off to get those video mods.

    I would recommend the latter as that way you dont need a proprietary cable that is getting rare.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •