Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 232

Thread: Debug for NeoCD

  1. #26
    Mr. Big's Thug
    stormy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    At the bottom of the sea

    Posts
    229

    I am fairly certain that I have seen games like Ironclad with full sound/music.

  2. #27
    Duck King's DJ
    alphagamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Posts
    1,891
    Quote Originally Posted by stormy View Post

    I am fairly certain that I have seen games like Ironclad with full sound/music.
    The native MVS version of Ironclad has been extracted from the Wii virtual console rom, that's why.
    Progress (n.): The process through which the Internet has evolved from smart people in front of dumb terminals to dumb people in front of smart terminals.

  3. #28
    Mr. Big's Thug
    stormy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    At the bottom of the sea

    Posts
    229
    Ok, good to know.

  4. #29
    Vice's Love Slave
    Hewitson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    2,153
    Quote Originally Posted by xiao_haozi View Post
    It still is a nice way to play/own some of the more expensive neo games that are costly on both MVS and AES alike. Sure you have load times and such, but I don't see how higher meg games would make it obsolete. It's not like all of the games that were released for it are suddenly gone once some higher meg games come out.

    Well what is creating your playability standard then? Is it quality of graphics, meg count...or game play? If you are setting your standards solely on the first two alone, then aren't most neo games getting dated for you? And if so, then how so are your arguments against interest in the NGCD not applied to the other Neo platforms then?

    Besides NGCD being a great way for people to get into the Neo at an affordable price (no, not everyone can buy a full MVS cab and no, I don't consider CMVS an affordable route per se either), it deserves it's own spot on the stage with the AES and MVS.
    My playability standard in this case is based on nothing but loading times.

    An AES with a few common titles is hardly an expensive piece of equipment and a supergun is not difficult nor expensive to make.

    The CD audio is a no brainer for me. I'd prefer the music to be actually generated by the hardware over pre recorded sounds any day.

  5. #30
    So Many Posts
    No Time
    For Games.
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    23,800
    Quote Originally Posted by SNKorSWM View Post
    The NGCD exclusives can't be converted without losing sound.
    Quote Originally Posted by stormy View Post

    I am fairly certain that I have seen games like Ironclad with full sound/music.
    Quote Originally Posted by alphagamer View Post
    The native MVS version of Ironclad has been extracted from the Wii virtual console rom, that's why.
    Hopefully SNK releases Crossed Swords 2 as well as Zintrick on the Wii VC.

  6. #31
    Vice's Love Slave
    Hewitson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    2,153
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Hopefully SNK releases Crossed Swords 2 as well as Zintrick on the Wii VC.
    If not, I wonder if it'd be at all possible (or feasible) to patch some custom music into them?

    I've just done a search and located a number of MP3 to MIDI converters, I wonder if these would be any good to use on the CD versions? This is of course assuming someone could code a player for them.
    Last edited by Hewitson; 03-10-2010 at 06:42 AM.

  7. #32
    Quote Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post

    The CD audio is a no brainer for me. I'd prefer the music to be actually generated by the hardware over pre recorded sounds any day.
    SNK made many small changes is the sound circuitry during their numerous board revisions, so I will have to ask, which one is correct version so that the sound comes off the way the programmers intended it to be?



    At least on the neo cd it is happening in the exact way it is supposed to be.

  8. #33
    Vice's Love Slave
    Hewitson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    2,153
    Quote Originally Posted by metallizer View Post
    SNK made many small changes is the sound circuitry during their numerous board revisions, so I will have to ask, which one is correct version so that the sound comes off the way the programmers intended it to be?



    At least on the neo cd it is happening in the exact way it is supposed to be.
    I can't say I've ever noticed a difference in sound between boards unless bad capacitors are involved. The differences must be very minor.

    If you want to get that technical the CD systems don't all sound the same either due to different tolerances in the components.

  9. #34
    Galford's Armourer

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    452


    not much to look at and low on features, but it's injected BIOS code that actually does something. That thing pops up after a game does its first load. Pressing start takes you into the game with applied settings. That is based on the CDZ bios I am pretty sure, the one where the NEO GEO letters in the little startup demo fly around in 3D space, I think that's for the Z. Obviously it's got a long way to go but it's a start.

    I will get the demo ROM up soon since I really should know if this thing even works on the real thing, you can't trust CD emulators much with homebrew. I don't think I did anything wrong, just need confirmation. NeoTurfMasta/XianXi you both have modded CDZ consoles that can take a replacement BIOS?

    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi
    On another note, I dont know shit about how the CD system works but if this is possible let me know. Is it in the bios where the RAM size is set? Like can you use higher capacity RAM and load more info, kinda like the CDZ.
    It won't work. Every game was made with the fifty something megabit limit in mind, every game would have to be hacked to take advantage of extra RAM. Faster load times are the only way to go for improvements. If I see a way to get the BIOS to load stuff faster in just software I will do it, just doubting it would be that simple to get big improvements.

    if this turns out to be Unibios equivalent for NGCD in the end (with ingame menu pop ups,cheats etc.) then great. Unless something comes up, I can follow through on this since I know how to go about it already.
    Last edited by smkdan; 03-17-2010 at 06:47 PM.

  10. #35

  11. #36
    So Many Posts
    No Time
    For Games.
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    23,800
    Awesome dude. As for in-game cheats I think it's more fun to have to enter them like in NES days rather than at your disposal at any time.

    I actually have atop loader not a CDZ. Rewiring in a bios shouldn't be a problem if it's just like the MV1C style unibios mod.

  12. #37
    Divine Hand of the UniBIOS

    Razoola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Finland, Earth

    Posts
    2,717
    Quote Originally Posted by smkdan View Post


    not much to look at and low on features, but it's injected BIOS code that actually does something. That thing pops up after a game does its first load. Pressing start takes you into the game with applied settings. That is based on the CDZ bios I am pretty sure, the one where the NEO GEO letters in the little startup demo fly around in 3D space, I think that's for the Z. Obviously it's got a long way to go but it's a start.
    Nice, good to see someone else having a go at such things. The beauty about the NeoGeo CD is the fact that one can patch the game code directly (as its in RAM) meaning far more accurate cheats with less side effects.
    THE UNIVERSE BIOS ( MVS & AES )
    www.universebios.com. Also on facebook, please like http://www.facebook.com/UniverseBios.

  13. #38
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd
    SNKNostalgia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hattiesburg, MS

    Posts
    1,671
    I like the idea of this just for uncensored games and playing in English mode.

    Example: Metal Slug Combat Missions in English with blood, KOF 94 and 95 without having to input the code during the high score screen, US intro with demo and game being unedited, Samurai Shodown 1 in english with blood etc...

    Also, it would be nice to cheat so it is easier to get the good endings on games like FF3 and AOF2.

    There is a color edit mode on AOF3 and I don't remember how to unlock it. I think you either beat the game with everyone or beat it on a harder setting. A friend of mine borrowed my single speed back in the day and unlocked it somehow. My CDZ doesn't have the edit mode since I don't know how to unlock it.
    God made dirt, and dirt bust yo ass!


  14. #39
    DANCE DANCE KARNOV!


    NeoTurfMasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    They call me Hell. They call me stacey. They call me her. They call me Jane. That's not my name. That's not my name. That's not my name. ☭

    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by smkdan View Post
    NeoTurfMasta/XianXi you both have modded CDZ consoles that can take a replacement BIOS?
    I will by the end of the day! I know at least James and I will spread the word about getting you some cash for this, you totally deserve it!

    Edit: Donation sent!
    Last edited by NeoTurfMasta; 03-10-2010 at 11:57 AM.

  15. #40
    Frenzy Football Player
    systmdfect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Dallas

    Posts
    1,125
    Sweets. I'll be donating as soon as I get paid on Friday.


    Quote Originally Posted by neo_geo_aes View Post
    i come here because some friends ninjas from spain say me one person attack me

  16. #41

  17. #42
    DANCE DANCE KARNOV!


    NeoTurfMasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    They call me Hell. They call me stacey. They call me her. They call me Jane. That's not my name. That's not my name. That's not my name. ☭

    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Is the Bios is the Neo CD and CDZ both SMD 40 pin?
    Yep. Been digging through all my parts and I'm out of 40 dip sockets. Have to head to the store today... I may not have it ready tonight after all, but definitely tomorrow.

  18. #43
    So Many Posts
    No Time
    For Games.
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    23,800
    We need to get the pinout for the bios. What size is the stock bios 128k/1Mbit?

  19. #44
    DANCE DANCE KARNOV!


    NeoTurfMasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    They call me Hell. They call me stacey. They call me her. They call me Jane. That's not my name. That's not my name. That's not my name. ☭

    Posts
    3,546
    TC54420CF-120

    One of my CD system has this. Will look up the info today.

    Edit: Cant seem to find a doc on this chip, but I think its a 4Mbit rom, so a 27C400 would most likely be the best bet. I can give it a shot.
    Last edited by NeoTurfMasta; 03-10-2010 at 02:11 PM.

  20. #45
    General Morden's Aide
    DanAdamKOF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Dallas (and Houston sometimes)

    Posts
    7,578
    Damn, we have some talented assembly hackers on this forum

  21. #46
    Quote Originally Posted by metallizer View Post
    One project that has been in my mind for a while is to understand the NGCD cd controller interface and see it there is anything that can talk to it while being also compatible with a IDE or SCSI interface, I think this is the first step to a upgrade path for the NGCD.
    So, I gave a quick look at the NeoCD top loader, (possibly front loader as well) cd rom drive controller and the cdz controller.

    The cdz does have a different solution using more modern/faster components, but I noticed one thing at the top loader controller, his microcomputer has a high speed model variant that works at the same bus speed but has two times the processing power CXP5084H, maybe worth to try it out if the extra components can take the load as well.
    Last edited by metallizer; 03-10-2010 at 06:03 PM. Reason: typo at chip model

  22. #47
    DANCE DANCE KARNOV!


    NeoTurfMasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    They call me Hell. They call me stacey. They call me her. They call me Jane. That's not my name. That's not my name. That's not my name. ☭

    Posts
    3,546
    half way there... tomorrow have to pick up some sockets. BTW, opening the CDZ reminded me of how many empty RAM slots there on the board.


  23. #48
    So Many Posts
    No Time
    For Games.
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    23,800
    Hey Brian,

    Isn't it strange how the inside guts of the CDZ remind you of the Hyper 64?

  24. #49
    Florida Preacher Man
    Pope Sazae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pensacola, FL

    Posts
    3,197
    Would the inside board be any different for a front loader? That is all I currently have at the moment but I'd also like to help out/test/etc. in any way possible.


    Quote Originally Posted by Master Tasuke View Post
    if i could reach through the monitor and Cold-Cock you, i would.

  25. #50
    DANCE DANCE KARNOV!


    NeoTurfMasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    They call me Hell. They call me stacey. They call me her. They call me Jane. That's not my name. That's not my name. That's not my name. ☭

    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Hey Brian,

    Isn't it strange how the inside guts of the CDZ remind you of the Hyper 64?
    Yeah, the shield grounding seems similar.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sazae View Post
    Would the inside board be any different for a front loader? That is all I currently have at the moment but I'd also like to help out/test/etc. in any way possible.
    Front loader is completely different and actually has a DIP bios.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •