Page 4 of 19 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 455

Thread: The bad battery thread

  1. #76
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Ugh, my first MVS board and the battery is starting to corrode on the + side. Ordered a battery kit and I'll have it out in a week. Here's hoping nothing else is damaged...

    I have a 6 slot enroute but I couldn't find any info on replacing that one. Does anyone have a link or info on that board?

    ~Anselm~

  2. #77
    Mr Neo Fix-it channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas Metromess

    Posts
    4,236
    Use a 3.6v NiCd or NiMH cordless phone battery that is small enough to fit between the boards.

    You can't use the same type of NiCd or NiMH barrel batteries on the 6 slot as the pins on the top board will short the battery out.
    Call me a cheap bastard... I learned to fix things to save money... even surface mount soldering...

    Visit my website: http://www.arcadecomponents.com

    ---------

    I've repaired boards for many members here.

    Want me to repair your arcade game board? Look here. I do MVS, AES, and many other game boards.

    My repair logs are have moved to NewLifeGames.com!!!

  3. #78
    Neo Bubble Buster

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Zanesville Ohio

    Posts
    40
    Uggh... sorry for insanely noobish question but... Where is this battery? On the main board?

  4. #79
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Does amperage matter? I bought a cell phone battery, 3.6v 350 mAh. It was the lowest amperage available. The salesman assured me extra amperage does not matter as long as the voltage is correct. He said the higher amperage just means it will take longer to charge and discharge. Any guru's here that can second his opinion? I would hate to put this on my 6 slot, only to cause more grief.

    ~Anselm~

  5. #80
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,499
    It's the capacity of the battery, the lower the number the shorter it holds the charge. The stock battery is only 50mAh so with your new battery it will hold it longer. That is, if you charge the battery, you have to play or leave the mobo on for so many hours to charge the battery.

  6. #81
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    It's the capacity of the battery, the lower the number the shorter it holds the charge. The stock battery is only 50mAh so with your new battery it will hold it longer. That is, if you charge the battery, you have to play or leave the mobo on for so many hours to charge the battery.
    Ok, thank you for the quick response. I'll be disassembling it through the week for cleaning and battery installation. Hopefully it works when I put it back together.

    ~Anselm~

  7. #82
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Ok, give it to me straight. Am I screwed? Two questions:

    1. Now that I have the battery out can I assume the corrosion will stop?
    2. This is a 6 slot board. Does anyone know what kind of errors I can expect if the corrosion has eaten through the circuit runs that go under the battery? (There are a series of three runs that go under the battery.

    I am not too worried about the giant circle of corrosion. It's just a grounding plain and it hasn't eaten all the way through. Any advice or condolences would be appreciated.

    ~Anselm~





  8. #83
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,499
    THose 3 traces are easy to patch. Get a multimeter and do a continuity test to see if they are still making connection. And make sure you clean off the HD74LS.

  9. #84
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    THose 3 traces are easy to patch. Get a multimeter and do a continuity test to see if they are still making connection. And make sure you clean off the HD74LS.
    Already tested the runs. Had to twist a bit to get a good contact through the laminate but they all have continuity. I checked each direction (across the jump under the battery and then from each side to the next component).

    I plan on re-flowing the solder on all surrounding components to clear off the corrosion. I'll make sure I hit that IC chip as well.

    ~Anselm~

  10. #85
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Well, I swapped the battery and reassembled. Now all I can get to come up is the test pattern and associated test screens...


    ~Anselm~

  11. #86
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Quote Originally Posted by Anselm View Post
    Well, I swapped the battery and reassembled. Now all I can get to come up is the test pattern and associated test screens...


    ~Anselm~
    Well....I'm an idiot. All 6 carts were in backwards.

    Now I have to figure out why my 6 slot is only servicing one coin slot when the two slot worked for both, and why I don't have stereo sound. I'll start a new thread for that.


    ~Anselm~

  12. #87
    Bashful Neophyte
    Krusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Montebello

    Posts
    18

    odd issues, and VOILA, now what lol!.

    I had some ODD issues. I noticed the main 330 splash screen looked 1/2 pro half pixel level home drawn!.
    Today tried to fire it up and the way it acts changes, goes from green screen, (See pic) then delays about 10 seconds and goes black!
    I inspected board very carefully. And I have a feeling im out of luck or will need to send out for repair, been AGES since I trace jumped. Pics below
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/pictur...pictureid=2074
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/pictur...pictureid=2073
    Looking for a square connector for -5v Power supply end for my NEO 29 I have Jamma side and wire but need the square molex instead of the round.

  13. #88
    Bashful Neophyte
    Krusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Montebello

    Posts
    18

    interesting

    interesting. Ok, I posted message above (Pending review right now)
    And now Have removed the battery and cleaned the acid off.
    there is continuity between the points I thought were eaten clean.
    still acts funny. Will start a new thread in general tech area.

    As of now it does appear removing the battery allowed it to post a little further.
    and boots to a game albiet mighty scrambled. but I hear sound effects etc.



    Looking for a square connector for -5v Power supply end for my NEO 29 I have Jamma side and wire but need the square molex instead of the round.

  14. #89
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Nuclear Neo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    78
    I got a 6 slot neo geo i bought a few months ago, i havnt taken the motherboard out/nor looked at the battery or anything at all.... i would hate for it to leak acid all over the traces! I reckon it's time to take it out and change it... its quite dirty as well so give it a good clean, any tips when taking out a 6 slot motherboard? They are pretty big..

    Can you just solder out the battery and leave it out? I dont care about not saving hiscores or any info/data... i just play it from time to time, so can you just take the battery out and turn it on and play it like normal, without the saving of hiscores? Any disadvantages apart from that when it comes to no battery in the MVS?

    Cheers!

    P.S i bought 7 faulty 1 slot motherboards from a guy, didnt pay much for them, good for parts i say, but the batteries have spewed acid near where the battery is located... it's a pitty, they had been stored in a shed for 4 ish years with batteries... all the traces are pretty eaten up, would be great to get atleast one of them working... I will upload some pictures of them tomorrow for you all to have a look at! Some give garbled graphics, some dont do anything at all.. those batteries are horrible things

  15. #90
    Ghost Of Captain Kidd
    shadows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada

    Posts
    1,659
    Quote Originally Posted by Nuclear Neo View Post
    Can you just solder out the battery and leave it out? I dont care about not saving hiscores or any info/data... i just play it from time to time, so can you just take the battery out and turn it on and play it like normal, without the saving of hiscores? Any disadvantages apart from that when it comes to no battery in the MVS?
    It will work fine without a battery in.

  16. #91
    Mr Neo Fix-it channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas Metromess

    Posts
    4,236
    Quote Originally Posted by Krusher View Post
    I had some ODD issues. I noticed the main 330 splash screen looked 1/2 pro half pixel level home drawn!.
    Today tried to fire it up and the way it acts changes, goes from green screen, (See pic) then delays about 10 seconds and goes black!
    I inspected board very carefully. And I have a feeling im out of luck or will need to send out for repair, been AGES since I trace jumped. Pics below
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/pictur...pictureid=2074
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/pictur...pictureid=2073
    Those pics are of an MV1... When the battery leaks there it typically won't give the issues you describe. You have a dirty slot or a gouged trace on the bottom of the board.
    Call me a cheap bastard... I learned to fix things to save money... even surface mount soldering...

    Visit my website: http://www.arcadecomponents.com

    ---------

    I've repaired boards for many members here.

    Want me to repair your arcade game board? Look here. I do MVS, AES, and many other game boards.

    My repair logs are have moved to NewLifeGames.com!!!

  17. #92
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Nuclear Neo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by shadows View Post
    It will work fine without a battery in.
    Thanks, that is good to hear!

  18. #93
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,499
    Quote Originally Posted by Krusher View Post
    I had some ODD issues. I noticed the main 330 splash screen looked 1/2 pro half pixel level home drawn!.
    Today tried to fire it up and the way it acts changes, goes from green screen, (See pic) then delays about 10 seconds and goes black!
    I inspected board very carefully. And I have a feeling im out of luck or will need to send out for repair, been AGES since I trace jumped. Pics below
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/pictur...pictureid=2074
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/pictur...pictureid=2073
    Can you try a higher meg game, like 250 or higher and post a pic?

  19. #94
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Nuclear Neo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    78
    Well i got rid of the battery in the bottom PCB of my 6 slot, haha i am so happy because it was starting to crystalise, leave it for a few weeks/months and it would probably start pouring out acid on the traces :O

    I will pop a battery in it some other time maybe, but for now i am happy with playing it without the battery!

    Is it possible to solder some wires on the neo geo board where the battery was originally sitting? and then get those wires soldered to a battery, that is AWAY from the PCB? i mean whats the difference, that way if it leaks in a couple of years it will leak on the arcade cabinet wood and not the motherboard. Is that possible?

    Cheers - i will upload some photos some time of the battery taken out etc

  20. #95
    Tung's Hair Stylist
    Anselm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    503
    Quote Originally Posted by Nuclear Neo View Post
    Is it possible to solder some wires on the neo geo board where the battery was originally sitting? and then get those wires soldered to a battery, that is AWAY from the PCB? i mean whats the difference, that way if it leaks in a couple of years it will leak on the arcade cabinet wood and not the motherboard. Is that possible?
    That's exactly what I did. While your at it install a connector so if you ever replace it again, you can just unplug and replace.

    ~Anselm~

  21. #96
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Nuclear Neo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    78
    Quote Originally Posted by Anselm View Post
    That's exactly what I did. While your at it install a connector so if you ever replace it again, you can just unplug and replace.

    ~Anselm~
    Cheers! Thanks for that, sounds like a good idea

    Been playing it, and i had cleaned the board heaps it was really dirty from the last owner.... and to my amazement - the memory card slot now works! When i bought it the Memory card slot didnt work, it now does! So thats a + for the battery gone, and the memory card slot!

  22. #97
    Mr Neo Fix-it channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas Metromess

    Posts
    4,236

    What NOT to do...

    OK,

    This is something you DO NOT want to do!



    This board was sent in for repairs... I won't ID the forum member that sent it to me even though he wasn't the one that installed it. This is a NON rechargeable lithium battery.

    THIS is what is wrong with using that type of battery:



    See that 470 ohm resistor? It CHARGES the battery and should've been removed before the lithium battery was soldered in. It's amazing that battery didn't pop and leak its VERY corrosive fluids.
    Call me a cheap bastard... I learned to fix things to save money... even surface mount soldering...

    Visit my website: http://www.arcadecomponents.com

    ---------

    I've repaired boards for many members here.

    Want me to repair your arcade game board? Look here. I do MVS, AES, and many other game boards.

    My repair logs are have moved to NewLifeGames.com!!!

  23. #98
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,499
    That's jacked up man. People need to learn stuff about the charging system and knowing what battery types to use and when they CAN use them.

    Good thing no one got hurt.

  24. #99
    Mature's Love Slave
    NeoTheranthrope's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV (it's pronounced Neh-ve-da, not Neh-va-da)

    Posts
    3,701
    Bump, due to rampant modfaggotry.

  25. #100
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN

    Posts
    4
    Hi guys, I'm new here and after searching through posts for a few days with no success, I wondered if I could find some guidance. I recently purchased a MVS 2 slot conversion cab and noticed that some of the games seemed "buggy" the seller stated that he hadn't touched the games in four years and that they were most likely dirty. I did get most of the games to work, now once I got it home I cleaned the crap out of all of the games and the connectors on the board and still had issues. After reading I found this thread and decided to check my battery, sure enough it had leaked it was furry around the connectors. The board however looks ok. The splash screen is scrambled on all carts and the games all seem to have the same scramble problem, my test screens however are ok. Here are some pics, I fear the worst...

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    [IMG][/IMG]

    sorry about the bad pic of the board, i'll try and get a better one. thanks guys this forum rocks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •