Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: 4-slot board headphone jacks

  1. #1
    Just buy my shit. Seriously. You can call me Susan if it makes you happy. mmsadda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Columbus, OH

    Posts
    3,630

    4-slot board headphone jacks

    I'm getting no sound out of either headphone jack on my four-slot board. I find it hard to imagine the headphone jacks are somehow blown, so I'm wondering if there's a switch that could have turned them off or something. Any thoughts as to what I should look into? I need a working jack to put a bass speakers in my cabinet, as it only has like 2"x3" speakers, and they get distorted with bass.
    -Susan

    Quote Originally Posted by Coryoon View Post
    This guy [MmSadda] should have "real doll seller" written under his name
    ^do it.

  2. #2
    Just buy my shit. Seriously. You can call me Susan if it makes you happy. mmsadda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Columbus, OH

    Posts
    3,630
    Ten people have read this already, and no one has any ideas to post? Is the board just plain broken and I'm a dumbass for even asking?
    -Susan

    Quote Originally Posted by Coryoon View Post
    This guy [MmSadda] should have "real doll seller" written under his name
    ^do it.

  3. #3
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,450
    The two headphone jacks are driven by the same pair of caps, try tapping the sound before the cap and see if you hear anything, if you do then you need to change the caps.

    Also make sure the volume is up and also don't check sound during attract mode as sometimes it's off.

  4. #4
    Just buy my shit. Seriously. You can call me Susan if it makes you happy. mmsadda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Columbus, OH

    Posts
    3,630
    Thank you, James! I'll go try that!
    -Susan

    Quote Originally Posted by Coryoon View Post
    This guy [MmSadda] should have "real doll seller" written under his name
    ^do it.

  5. #5
    Fighting Artist
    xiao_haozi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia

    Posts
    2,029
    Yeah just go into hardware mode to test... that way you can do the separate channels.

    Could he maybe short the caps temporarily to test through the headphone jacks???

  6. #6

    MKL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Italy

    Posts
    3,608
    The jacks J4 and J5 on the 4-slot (and 6-slot) aren't headphones jacks at all, i.e. they aren't like the jacks on the 2-slot. They're a low level output, so low actually that you can't hear anything if you plug headphones into them. The 6-slot manual says "LINE IN" which makes no sense and is probably a typo.

    Here's the 4-slot audio circuit where you can see they have nothing to do with the headphones out, which is header J3:


    Note that The 2-slot models with headphones jacks (MV2 and MV2F) lack the headphones header whereas the 2-slot model with the headphones header (MV2B) lacks the jacks.

    Anyway, with a super easy mod you can turn J4 and J5 into actual headphones jacks:


  7. #7
    Fighting Artist
    xiao_haozi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Philadelphia

    Posts
    2,029
    Brilliant as always MKL!

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Houston

    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by MKL View Post
    Anyway, with a super easy mod you can turn J4 and J5 into actual headphones jacks:

    I know this is an old thread, but I recently acquired a 4-slot and made the same mistake thinking J4 & J5 were headphone slots.

    I could probably figure out the mod talked about above, but does anyone know where I can find the image that has been removed from the above post? I saw that GadgetUK made a similar mistake and video, I could potentially pause his video and make the mod from that.

    I assume the ground is common, which is why only two wires were needed in the 'hack'.

  10. #10
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,039
    Yes, only left and right pins are needed as ground is common - which are the outer pins on the 4 pin white headphone output. You can just re-purpose one of the 3.5mm sockets like I did. Just check your left and right is the right way around using the sound test in the bios.
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

  11. #11
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Houston

    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by GadgetUK View Post
    Yes, only left and right pins are needed as ground is common - which are the outer pins on the 4 pin white headphone output. You can just re-purpose one of the 3.5mm sockets like I did. Just check your left and right is the right way around using the sound test in the bios.
    Thanks, will do! I do like your videos, very matter of fact and down to earth (re: no BS).

  12. #12
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Houston

    Posts
    15
    4 Slot Headphone Modification (thanks GadgetUK):
    headphone_mod.jpg

    Universe Bios 3.3 Installed (thanks Raz!)
    4slotuni.jpg

    Cleaned up and sprayed black.
    4slot.jpg

  13. #13
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,039
    Nice work - love that black shell =D 4 slots are lovely machines!
    My YouTube channel contains some MVS repairs and stuff:-
    http://www.youtube.com/user/GadgetUK164

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •