Page 10 of 14 FirstFirst ... 67891011121314 LastLast
Results 226 to 250 of 344

Thread: The Neo Geo's Compatibility with Your TV

  1. #226
    Zero's Tailor

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    PL

    Posts
    719
    Results for a Samsung LE46C530 LCD TV:

    Supergun + Neo Geo MVS MV-1FZ
    SCART hookup

    Everything is working great, no problems to report.
    Regards, MtothaJ

  2. #227
    Kuroko's Training Dummy
    Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    86
    Neo-Geo AES
    Apex AT2702 (or similar) 30inch
    CRT
    Needed to adjust due to overscan, otherwise great.

  3. #228
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    US

    Posts
    6
    Sony KV-24FS120 24" HDTV CRT
    MV-1F
    jrok v4.1 encoder n sync cleaner

    Picture quality is fantastic in component, only issue I have is the vertical lines are kinda shaky at first but clears up once you've played for a few minutes. Have not tried it hooked up thru svid or composite

  4. #229
    Timid Neo Newbie
    GMFattay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Zealand

    Posts
    8
    MVS

    Toshiba 15VL63 15" LCD TV via Scart

    No problems with Sega ST-V PCB.

    Constantly flickering with Neogeo MVS PCB on same setup. Shows clear, bright image for a second then starts flickering with a dull image.

    Assuming it is the 59.18 Hz signal, have checked sync ground, tried using a 0.01uf ceramic capacitor on sync and different power supplies.
    Last edited by GMFattay; 10-15-2013 at 05:17 PM.

  5. #230
    Big Bang Pro Wrestler
    GadgetUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    1,042
    A couple of interesting points here:-

    MV-1FZ works fine via scart to both my 32" Phillips Ambi Light and 42" Panasonic Viera. The Phillips was manufactured in 2006, the Panasonic in 2009. The Phillips provides an amazing picture even though native is 720p. The Panasonic is 1080p and looks aweful - there's no processing done to the picture like the Phillips does - huge difference between the two.

    Additionally the Panasonic doesn't quite display the full width - on multicart games you cannot see cursor on the left, its cut off, you can just see 1 pixel. Other than that it looks OK though but very digital.

  6. #231
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    435
    Omega CMVS
    Two LGs: LG 21FJ8RL-L4 and LG 29FX4BK
    CRT

    While the color is amazing, even in composite, both TVs suffer from HORRIBLE and very crippling overscaning issues. Even after one access and modifies the service menu, the stuff originally left out of the display ends up having geometryl errors (like shrinking pixels). Very disappointing experience. Will try getting a Wega, I guess.

    EDIT: Or do you think an encoder might do the trick?
    Last edited by Cernex; 11-17-2013 at 11:47 AM.

  7. #232
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,450
    The component encoder inside the Omega was designed by shadowkn55 but the S-video/Composite encoder in the Omega is the same as in the Neo Geo AES, the CXA1145 so I don't know if anything can be done to fix it.

    Are you playing in widescreen or 4:3?

  8. #233
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    435
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    The component encoder inside the Omega was designed by shadowkn55 but the S-video/Composite encoder in the Omega is the same as in the Neo Geo AES, the CXA1145 so I don't know if anything can be done to fix it.

    Are you playing in widescreen or 4:3?
    4:3 , I think. Have a couple of pictures and videos:

    Without the "service mode" messing around:



    After the service mode (where width and height were modified so it could show the whole damn thing):



    Video 1:


    Video 2:
    Last edited by Cernex; 11-16-2013 at 09:51 PM.

  9. #234
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,307
    that's a strange issue you got there... you might be able to work around it by using an external scaler which will feed you screen the input signal it wants... the XRGB-3 or GBS-8200 spring to mind.

    //EDIT: Sorry, I overlooked that both your TVs are CRT, don't have other tips for you then to try other displays.
    Last edited by xsq; 11-17-2013 at 06:05 AM.

  10. #235
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    435
    UPDATE: So, convinced my LG was no good and couldn't be repaired, I went out CRT hunting once again. I spotted a Samsung CL-29K5MQ flatscreen CRT. I mean, Samsungs are usually good, no? So I plug it in...

    And this is the fucking thing I get via component:

    2013-11-17-032[1].jpg

    I swear of god, I'm the unluckiest fuck when it comes to CRTs. I have gone trough 4 already, and all of them are fucked one way or another.

  11. #236

  12. #237
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    435
    Quote Originally Posted by Xian Xi View Post
    Make sure the switch on the back is on component and not RGB.
    Well ok, I'm an idiot apparently. Now the only problem is that I'm stuck with overscaning issues just like the ones of my first picture.

    Time to look for a service manual, I guess

  13. #238
    JammaNationX
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    27,450
    Quote Originally Posted by Cernex View Post
    Well ok, I'm an idiot apparently. Now the only problem is that I'm stuck with overscaning issues just like the ones of my first picture.

    Time to look for a service manual, I guess
    Nah, a lot of people do that.

  14. #239
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    435
    UPDATE: Same thing as the LG, the pixels shrink. HOWEVER, it is far less noticeable.

    Been toying around with the service menu, can't find a way to get rid of that.

    Anybody has a clue?

  15. #240
    Hardened Shock Trooper

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mexico

    Posts
    435
    UPDATE: Got a Sony Triniton. A 29FV300.

    Not only does it also has overscaling issues like all the others -in both composite and component- but also a weird sound glitch that basically equals to it not coming out as it is supposed to, instead coming out as a garbled mess.

    I swear, how can I man get so unlucky he gets 4 CRTs and ALL OF THEM have the same fucking problem?

  16. #241
    Mr Square Eyes.
    bubba966's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Washington

    Posts
    1,090
    Omega CMVS w/virtual memory card
    30" Loewe Aventos flat tube HD CRT
    Running on component video

    And it runs quite well.


    [Rot] 2:38 am: Z'OMG... ANYTHING... is cool in 15/70... even GregN home movies

  17. #242
    Cheng's Errand Boy
    Voultar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    117
    Fantastic! Very informative thread. Nothing beats an 'ole electron gun!

  18. #243
    greeneye8181
    Guest
    I have a question. I have a AES and I'm aware CRT is the way to go but what if I wanted to use a newer tech flat screen? Would a modded AES with s-video and RGB upgrade make it compatible?
    I need to get a TV for it because it looks like sh*t on my Samsung FPT5894W. It's actually a wireless TV...

    Anyway, I can get a CRT no problem (was thinking about a Sony Trinitron) but they are so heavy.
    Thanks

  19. #244
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,307
    Depends on whether or not that flat screen supports s-video and/or RGB. If you have a home console with RGB out, you can use converters/scalers and perhaps a SLG to make it work via VGA or HDMI.

  20. #245
    Goal! Goal! Goal!

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    110
    Supergun + MVS MV-1F
    Samsung DW15G10VD CRT
    Connected via SCART
    A little overscan but rather good image quality.

    Just for the info, an Amiga 1200 plugged via SCART shows the same overscan problems too. But as Ive said, there are no relevant ones.

  21. #246
    Galford's Armourer
    Archdesigner03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Bay Area

    Posts
    474
    Neo Geo AES ( Component, S-Video, and Composite video mods by Xian Xi)
    VIZIO E220VA 22 Inch Class Edge Lit Razor LED LCD HDTV (2012 model)
    Connected via Component and by setting the view screen to 4:3

    Everything is bright, colorful, and crisp.

    Special shout out to Xian Xi for the professional work with fast turn around time!

  22. #247
    Goal! Goal! Goal!

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Spain

    Posts
    110
    Supergun + MVS MV-1F and MV-2F
    Sony Trinitron KV-X2583E CRT
    Connected via SCART

    Amazing RGB video quality. Colorful, crisp and vibrant.
    -Hodor!- Said Hodor.

  23. #248
    Lazy SNK Employee

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Italia

    Posts
    58
    Neo Geo MVS MV-1FZ consolized and NEO GEO AES working perfect on Panasonic TX-P50GT60 with RGB Scart connection.
    Neo Geo AES serial 025909, MVS 1 FZ

  24. #249
    Another Striker
    DeusVult's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    scotland

    Posts
    323

    plasma picture

    I tried my aes and mvs on my 50 panasonic plasma and its terrible, but I have a 42 Panasonic plasma panel th-42pwd6 which only has a vga in, using a js technology rgb to vga box the picture looks good for a 42 screen, also tried it on a 37 lcd and it didn't work, the only difference between the 3 tvs is that the panel is not a full hd tv which is why is works...I think

    photos are not the greatest
    Attached Images Attached Images

  25. #250
    Previously A04_msh. CMS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, SE

    Posts
    201
    AES rev 3-3
    Sony KDL 32ex710
    LCD
    No picture problem.

    AES first gen
    Sony KDL 32ex710
    LCD
    Screen is rolling/jumping for a sec when screen flashes white. This happens when using shotgun in Metal Slug and KO in Samurai Shodown.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •