Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Gunbird 2 Sound Issues

  1. #1
    Geese's Thug
    Kickin' Wing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scramble Station

    Posts
    279

    Gunbird 2 Sound Issues

    Just picked up a Gunbird 2 pcb and am getting a lot of feedback out of my speakers. It very noticeably comes on when I start the cab and stays on after that.

    I've tried it in 2 cabs and have the same problem on both. :edit: Turning the sound all the way down the PCB gets rid of it, but turning it up slightly the feedback resumes.

    Not sure if this is at all helpful, but here's a crappy recording I made with my digicam, the *clunk* sound is me turning on the cab:

    http://s130.photobucket.com/albums/p...t=MVI_0001.flv

    Any help would be appreciated.

    -wiNg+thanks
    Last edited by Kickin' Wing; 01-20-2009 at 07:13 PM.
    NG Chat - The Truth is Out There..

    [08:26 PM] KagerouSama: There is no Sama conspiracy.

  2. #2
    Super Sidekicks
    Marshall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    .

    Posts
    54
    Well, it's very hard to identify why this feedback is on, just from your recording.
    Could be just oxidation of volume or some dusts causing electrical resistance on PCB, slow puncuture of ceramic capacitor on sound circuit or some part of legs of capacitor there being bent and disattached, having faliure contacting the circuit, bad electrical resistor or bad amplifier, bad sound chip. You'll never know only from that recording.

    Upload some pics in closeups of sound circuit from upside and backside(of PCB) for more info. Someone might notice something.

    Try to clean whole PCB once again by air carefully and remove all dust as you can, and see how it goes.

  3. #3
    Geese's Thug
    Kickin' Wing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scramble Station

    Posts
    279
    Quote Originally Posted by Marshall View Post
    Well, it's very hard to identify why this feedback is on, just from your recording.
    Could be just oxidation of volume or some dusts causing electrical resistance on PCB, slow puncuture of ceramic capacitor on sound circuit or some part of legs of capacitor there being bent and disattached, having faliure contacting the circuit, bad electrical resistor or bad amplifier, bad sound chip. You'll never know only from that recording.

    Upload some pics in closeups of sound circuit from upside and backside(of PCB) for more info. Someone might notice something.

    Try to clean whole PCB once again by air carefully and remove all dust as you can, and see how it goes.
    Took some pics of the PCB, noticed some "goo" around a few parts near the edge so I circled those with my mad photoshop skillz. Not sure if they're causing any trouble but some of it is going over traces.






    I'll take some air to it tomorrow and try playing around again.

    -|wiNg
    NG Chat - The Truth is Out There..

    [08:26 PM] KagerouSama: There is no Sama conspiracy.

  4. #4
    Mr Neo Fix-it channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas Metromess

    Posts
    4,235
    That's rosin flux, left over from soldering.

    If you tap the sound chip (Yamaha) or the big chip that feeds it do you get changes in the noise? Maybe one of the chips needs reflowing.

    This is where it would help to have a couple of pieces of test gear, notably an audio probe and an oscilloscope.

    RJ
    Call me a cheap bastard... I learned to fix things to save money... even surface mount soldering...

    Visit my website: http://www.arcadecomponents.com

    ---------

    I've repaired boards for many members here.

    Want me to repair your arcade game board? Look here. I do MVS, AES, and many other game boards.

    My repair logs are have moved to NewLifeGames.com!!!

  5. #5
    Geese's Thug
    Kickin' Wing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scramble Station

    Posts
    279
    Quote Originally Posted by channelmaniac View Post
    That's rosin flux, left over from soldering.

    If you tap the sound chip (Yamaha) or the big chip that feeds it do you get changes in the noise? Maybe one of the chips needs reflowing.

    This is where it would help to have a couple of pieces of test gear, notably an audio probe and an oscilloscope.

    RJ
    Mr. CM,

    Threw it in again and tapped the chips, didn't seem to have any affect. Not quite sure what the problem is, may have to end up sending it out.

    Thanks for the help,
    -|wiNg
    NG Chat - The Truth is Out There..

    [08:26 PM] KagerouSama: There is no Sama conspiracy.

  6. #6
    Choi's Barber
    Hewitson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    2,207
    An audio probe really is essential for problems like these. I suggest making one.

  7. #7
    Super Sidekicks
    Marshall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    .

    Posts
    54
    Some pics are over exposured by flashlight so, hard to see all,but can't find any bad point from what I can see. I could notice some repaired point as you circled, but they don't seem to bother. Are all ceramic capacitors soldered well? Does the feedback differs when you carfully turns volume? Many PCB's gets more feedback simply after aging deterioration so, no way to determine, if you can't see any bad point from outside. You should just have them fixed, or get another board, if it doesn't bother you.

  8. #8
    Kyokugen's Student
    skate323k137's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Earth, Dimension C137

    Posts
    3,188
    NECRO BUMMMMMMP

    I'm having this exact same problem with a gunbird 2 PCB I just picked up. The interference is not from the volume pot as far as I can tell because it gets louder / quieter based on how the pot is set. It also seems to go away when the screen is black and comes back when the PCB is outputting video.

    Tested the board in 2 different cabs with 2 different audio amp setups, exact same issue. Both of those cabs have crystal clear audio from other boards (and video is OK from the gunbird 2 pcb on both)

    I'll try some basic stuff like cleaning the edge connector (which deoixt product do I want again?)... if that doesn't work it's down to washing the board and/or starting to recap.

    If anyone else has had or fixed this issue on a psikyo pcb, post up.

  9. #9
    Street Hoop Star
    _rm_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal

    Posts
    1,418
    If i remember correctly, my Gunbird 2 also has a bit of "hum" noise when i play, nothing too agressive but it's definitely there.

    Let me know if you find anything.

  10. #10
    Thou Shalt Not
    Question Rot.
    xsq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Muenster, Germany

    Posts
    7,318
    Quote Originally Posted by skate323k137 View Post
    I'll try some basic stuff like cleaning the edge connector (which deoixt product do I want again?)
    D5 for the edge connector and if you're going to clean the pot you could use F5 faderlube.

  11. #11
    Rosa's Tag-Team Partner
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,495
    Quote Originally Posted by skate323k137 View Post
    NECRO BUMMMMMMP

    I'm having this exact same problem with a gunbird 2 PCB I just picked up. The interference is not from the volume pot as far as I can tell because it gets louder / quieter based on how the pot is set. It also seems to go away when the screen is black and comes back when the PCB is outputting video.

    Tested the board in 2 different cabs with 2 different audio amp setups, exact same issue. Both of those cabs have crystal clear audio from other boards (and video is OK from the gunbird 2 pcb on both)

    I'll try some basic stuff like cleaning the edge connector (which deoixt product do I want again?)... if that doesn't work it's down to washing the board and/or starting to recap.

    If anyone else has had or fixed this issue on a psikyo pcb, post up.
    I'm having similar issues with my Gunbird 2 and recently re-capped it, but it hasn't resolved the issue.

    I noticed that capacitor "C1" is missing on my board and looks to have been possibly snapped off at some point. Is yours missing too by chance?

    It seems to be video related interference that is getting picked up by the amplifier, or maybe bad filtering on the sound ROM (could be due to C1 missing).

    If anyone has a Gunbird 2 board with "C1" populated, can you provide the values or a pic of it please?

    Edit: Rewrite provided me the value of C1 (it's a 25v 100uF), but even with that added in there's no difference.
    Last edited by kuze; 12-03-2019 at 02:01 PM.

  12. #12
    Giga Shock!!
    egg_sanwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada

    Posts
    1,000
    Iíll chime in to say my Gunbird 2 has the exact same issue.

    In my experience, my Psikyo pcbs have been some of the most troublesome, constantly developing issues. Anyone else feel the same?

  13. #13
    Rosa's Tag-Team Partner
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,495
    Quote Originally Posted by egg_sanwich View Post
    I’ll chime in to say my Gunbird 2 has the exact same issue.
    I wonder if they are actually all like this? Does anyone have one that doesn't exhibit this issue?

  14. #14
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,221
    Can take a look at my board later...

    I don’t remember any audio issue but am running it through a super gun...
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  15. #15
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    3,221
    here is a pic of my C1 cap...it's a little different than what kuze was told...looks like a 16v, not sure what kind of difference that would make.



    I don't really notice any feedback, there is a "static" sound but seems like normal. Let me know if y'all need different pics of something...
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

  16. #16
    Rosa's Tag-Team Partner
    kuze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    In the year 2248

    Posts
    2,495
    Thanks Neodogg, to my understanding it is ok to replace a capacitor with a higher voltage rating, as long as the capacitance is the same. It probably doesn't get more than 5v through it anyways.

    The 'static' sound is probably the same thing. If you crank up the volume pot past like 15 to 25% it gets really noticeable unless you're playing on a supergun setup.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •