Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: My new monitor!

  1. #1
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,073

    My new monitor!

    Finally got the Mitsubishi XC-3715 in the house today. Cost me $85 AUD

    It was bought in 1987 and then sold to the previous owner in 1989. Since then it was used as a standard tv so for 90% of its life it hasnt been used in a work enviroment. Obviously the quality isnt 100% as it's over 20 years old but it's still looking good.

    Weigh's 100KG's and it took me and my father to get it up two flights of stairs. Now both our backs are quite fucked and my hands have no grip. But hell was it worth it. This will be the monitor I'm using for arcade PCB's later on.

    Some pics! Dreamcast!

    EDIT: forgot to add, this is via S-VIDEO. RGB will look heaps better as it wont be going through a 20 year old video processor and comb filter. There's still a lot of calibrating that could be done to get the picture just right though.

    Also came with its service manual with all schematics etc.







    Fuck yeah!
    Last edited by lachlan; 08-10-2008 at 03:45 AM.



    For the tunes lovers!

  2. #2
    Juzoh's Gym Trainer
    joe8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia

    Posts
    2,460
    so it has rgb scart input?

  3. #3
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,073
    Quote Originally Posted by joe8 View Post
    so it has rgb scart input?
    Has 2 x composite, 1 x s-video, RGB H/comp sync and V sync BNC connectors, DB15 RGB input adn a DB9 TTL RGB input.

    Internal speakers and ability to output to speakers as well.

    This is far much more like an arcade monitor than just a tv with SCART RGB.

    It can auto sync from 15-36khz on RGB.
    Last edited by lachlan; 08-10-2008 at 05:26 AM.



    For the tunes lovers!

  4. #4
    Starks is always out. tony starks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Starks Enterprises

    Posts
    746
    What size is the moniter Lach?
    " When I find out how to do these mods (which I WILL, trust me), I WILL CHARGE MUCH LESS FOR THE SAME SERVICE!!!

    Out... "


    Kpj (formally Kenny Boy) 09-24-2001, 04:14 AM

  5. #5
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,073
    Quote Originally Posted by tony starks View Post
    What size is the moniter Lach?
    37" or 94cm

    Fucking huge.



    For the tunes lovers!

  6. #6
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    4,514
    I have a mitsubishi megaview pro 27 and it's awesome! I love these presentation monitors. I run a naomi gd-rom setup on mine as it takes the audio and video right off the mobo, and autosyncs for easy switching between games that look better in low or high res. Nice monitors, imo. Mine is only 27", but I've seen 33, 42, and 50 inch versions on craigslist for pretty cheap. Most people seem happy just to have someone pick these big ass monitors up and get them out of their house, lol.
    .

  7. #7
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,073
    Quote Originally Posted by NGT View Post
    I have a mitsubishi megaview pro 27 and it's awesome! I love these presentation monitors. I run a naomi gd-rom setup on mine as it takes the audio and video right off the mobo, and autosyncs for easy switching between games that look better in low or high res. Nice monitors, imo. Mine is only 27", but I've seen 33, 42, and 50 inch versions on craigslist for pretty cheap. Most people seem happy just to have someone pick these big ass monitors up and get them out of their house, lol.
    Just the thought of having the Neo on this thing makes me excited. This is going to be the shit!

    It was hell moving the damn thing. I cant imagine anything bigger.

    At the moment I'm modding a NES case for my supergun. I've got the PSU and fan put in, just need to wire up some controller ports and get a JAMMA harness. I'll post pics soon !
    Last edited by lachlan; 08-10-2008 at 06:58 PM.



    For the tunes lovers!

  8. #8
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    4,514
    Quote Originally Posted by lachlan View Post
    Just the thought of having the Neo on this thing makes me excited. This is going to be the shit!

    It was hell moving the damn thing. I cant imagine anything bigger.

    lol, I didn't like moving mine. Needed 2 people and it's only 27 inches. Heavy as shit though. I was just happy it fit in the back seat once I drove the 2 hours to see it, lol.


    edit: supergun in a nes case?...should be cool. I put a dreamcast to jamma hookup in a nes case a while back. They work well. Can't wait to see it
    Last edited by NGT; 08-10-2008 at 07:05 PM.
    .

  9. #9
    Starks is always out. tony starks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Starks Enterprises

    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by lachlan View Post
    37" or 94cm

    Fucking huge.
    Awesome man, yeah Neo games should look the shit on that
    " When I find out how to do these mods (which I WILL, trust me), I WILL CHARGE MUCH LESS FOR THE SAME SERVICE!!!

    Out... "


    Kpj (formally Kenny Boy) 09-24-2001, 04:14 AM

  10. #10
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,073
    Quote Originally Posted by NGT View Post
    lol, I didn't like moving mine. Needed 2 people and it's only 27 inches. Heavy as shit though. I was just happy it fit in the back seat once I drove the 2 hours to see it, lol.


    edit: supergun in a nes case?...should be cool. I put a dreamcast to jamma hookup in a nes case a while back. They work well. Can't wait to see it
    I had no idea how big this thing was going to be until the day I picked it up. Pictures are good but it's really hard to tell the actual size. I was going to put this thing in my girlfriends hatch but when my dad rocked up he had a trailer ready to go. Thank fuck he did! sure as hell wasn't going to fit in a hatch.

    Yeah, my cutting skills are pretty shocking but that's alright, the only cutting I have to do is for the fan. Everything else is relatively round so a drill is sufficient.



    For the tunes lovers!

  11. #11
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,073
    I was playing around with the monitor last night and I found that when it displayed a white screen, something in the back was hissing? the tone changes slightly and it sometimes dissapears on dark screens but it just doesn't sound right.

    Could it be a cap that needs replacing?

    Okay, just did a search and found some very useful information. I think the EHT might be leaking? the picture it completely stable, normal. The only discoloration I have is in the lower right hand corner that doesnt go away with the auto and manual degause.

    I have seen some of toddyy's posts and I think the next step it to check the anode cap or even discharge the monitor. Would rather not but hey.

    Anyone else know what it could be?
    Last edited by lachlan; 08-12-2008 at 11:00 PM.



    For the tunes lovers!

  12. #12
    Choi's Barber
    Hewitson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    2,207
    Are you sure its not just the normal 15khz squeal you often get out of old monitors/TV's? Stuffed caps can squeal, but I'd expect you'd be having problems with the TV if one was damaged to that extent.

    I'm not sure why you've put a fan into your supergun, its completely unnecessary.

  13. #13
    drunk downunder!
    aka. Muff Diver.
    lachlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    AUST

    Posts
    10,073
    Quote Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
    Are you sure its not just the normal 15khz squeal you often get out of old monitors/TV's? Stuffed caps can squeal, but I'd expect you'd be having problems with the TV if one was damaged to that extent.

    I'm not sure why you've put a fan into your supergun, its completely unnecessary.
    Well this is while playing a PS2. But yeah that's what I thought. The picture is actually, really good except for some magnetic interferance.

    The fan was put in there because the ATX PSU has one and I thought, why not carry it over.



    For the tunes lovers!

  14. #14
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    6
    Not to necro this post, but you don't happen to have that service manual any longer, do you?

  15. #15
    Pupil of Bonus-Kun

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Melbourne

    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by lachlan View Post

    Also came with its service manual with all schematics etc.
    Hey lachlan,

    Do you still have the service manual for the XC-3715C?

  16. #16
    Bashful Neophyte

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Rhode Island

    Posts
    10
    Nice monitor...been looking for a Mitsubishi mega view for awhile.

  17. #17
    Dogg-Father
    Neodogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH

    Posts
    2,584
    Do you still have the service manual?
    _ _ ___________________________ _ _
    People I've delt with:
    |Steve Rhine|Vinh|Jeff Kurtz|Kenny Boy|Big Bear|Fox1|Bones|Kid Aphex|Bluevoodu|Kubikiri Basara|Shawn|Michael Yagami|

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •