Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Can I do this psu swap? Peter Chou for an Snk?

  1. #1
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    3,979

    Can I do this psu swap? Peter Chou for an Snk?

    Peter Chou F102141288 for an SNK ETXA01C7J

    Peter Chou

    +5v 15a
    gnd
    gnd
    -5v 1a
    +12v 3a
    FG
    AC 115
    AC 115

    SNK

    AC
    AC
    -5v ?a
    +12v ?a
    GND
    GND
    +5v ?a

  2. #2
    Hmm,I forget what the FG means...something Ground?(but I don't think you'll need it.


    IMO it'll work..

  3. #3
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    3,979
    thanks! That's what I wasn't sure about. It just has different wires going to it, that the regular ground and I am not sure if it's ok, lol...I know, stupid question that you'd think someone who's messed around with this shit for a while should know...but I don't want to mess anything up, lol.

  4. #4
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    3,979
    works great


  5. #5
    Mr Neo Fix-it channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas Metromess

    Posts
    3,880
    FG is field ground. It hooks to the ground wire that goes to the AC plug.

    It's there for safety. Use it.
    Call me a cheap bastard... I learned to fix things to save money... even surface mount soldering...

    Visit my website: http://www.arcadecomponents.com

    ---------

    I've repaired boards for many members here.

    Want me to repair your arcade game board? Look here. I do MVS, AES, and many other game boards.

    My repair logs are have moved to NewLifeGames.com!!!

  6. #6
    So Many Posts
    No Time
    For Games.
    Xian Xi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Waipahu, Hawaii

    Posts
    23,805
    Quote Originally Posted by NGT
    works great

    Some of those connectors look dangerously close. You should alternate sides if possible.

  7. #7
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    3,979
    Quote Originally Posted by channelmaniac
    FG is field ground. It hooks to the ground wire that goes to the AC plug.

    It's there for safety. Use it.


    I know I am supposed to use it...but didn't know where since this psu didn't have FG. I just stuck it on the ground.

    As for the wires being too close...good point. I was in a hurry...on my way to a b-day party this morning....Some I can't move (wire length), but I can did straighten them and swap a ground from one side to the other. They are all tight and nothing is going to move. I think it would have been fine the other way, lol..


  8. #8
    Ninja Combat Warrior
    dogtoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Louisville, KY USA

    Posts
    689
    If you connect FG straight to the ground on the board without any caps or anything for isolation you may start to have problems with video ghosting or weird audio humming since the FG in your house can sometimes act like a giant antenna and pick up stray rf. Not a big deal but if you notice it happening, and it wasn't happening before, that's probably what it is.

    *edit*It might be better to connect the FG to one of the chassis screws on the power supply? Anyone else ever tried that or have thoughts about it?*/edit*

    cheers,
    -DT
    Last edited by dogtoy; 09-01-2007 at 10:11 PM.
    MV-1A 1-slot MVS SN#00179947 Mfg. 12/95 Universe BIOS v2.1
    MV-4F 4-slot MVS SN#032614 Universe BIOS v2.1
    Anthracite NGPC SN#0501435

    Currently in the 4-slot: (all my Neo stuff is currently in storage )
    http://dogtoy.cjb.net/

    WTB: TAITO F3 sytems and games, TAITO G-Net systems and games

  9. #9
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    3,979
    Quote Originally Posted by dogtoy
    If you connect FG straight to the ground on the board without any caps or anything for isolation you may start to have problems with video ghosting or weird audio humming since the FG in your house can sometimes act like a giant antenna and pick up stray rf. Not a big deal but if you notice it happening, and it wasn't happening before, that's probably what it is.

    *edit*It might be better to connect the FG to one of the chassis screws on the power supply? Anyone else ever tried that or have thoughts about it?*/edit*

    cheers,
    -DT

    so why was the FG from the psu before this wired to the regular ground? Would this cause a pop in the speakers on boot up? I get that sometimes. Or would that be the reason the psu went out in the first place? It came from a coinop in San Fran. Also, I don't think this last psu was the original psu in the cab. When I pop in a game, I get a buz in the speakers, but there's an amp in the cab and when a pair of rca red and white plugs are in the jacks on the amp, the hum is gone. Weird? yeah...will this damage something? there's no real color issues.
    Last edited by NGT; 09-01-2007 at 10:57 PM.

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Mr Neo Fix-it channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas Metromess

    Posts
    3,880
    If there isn't an FG connection I would connect it to the frame of the power supply or to the cabinet if it's metal.

    RJ
    Call me a cheap bastard... I learned to fix things to save money... even surface mount soldering...

    Visit my website: http://www.arcadecomponents.com

    ---------

    I've repaired boards for many members here.

    Want me to repair your arcade game board? Look here. I do MVS, AES, and many other game boards.

    My repair logs are have moved to NewLifeGames.com!!!

  12. #12
    J. M Club

    NGT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northern Bay Area

    Posts
    3,979
    Quote Originally Posted by channelmaniac
    If there isn't an FG connection I would connect it to the frame of the power supply or to the cabinet if it's metal.

    RJ
    cab is plastic, I did it (to screw on psu frame)...but the hum is still there unless the rca cables are attached. It plays fine so I am going to leave it alone. Thanks for the advice..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •