Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 69 of 69

Thread: Games that dont work without -5v

  1. #51
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    Just got hold of Double dragon pcb board and i am a total noob. I have a egret II candy cab running a neo geo mvs 1 slot board. I wanted to plug in my double dragon pcb board and a bit confused as the harness that was connected to the MVS 1 board has a white bracket which does not allow me to fit it into the double dragon pcb board.

    I have three other harnesses but I have no idea which one is the right one and which way it should plug in. Can anybody help me please?

    photo of the spare harness

    http://s927.photobucket.com/albums/a...ent=006-45.jpg

  2. #52
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=193

    Can anybody answer this question? I am having the same problem as this guy.

    I have three other harneses's

    I dont know which one to use..or which way round they supposed to fit in.

    I dont want to blow up a 23 years old game.

    http://s927.photobucket.com/albums/a...ent=006-45.jpg

  3. #53
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    As i was waiting for a moderator to moderate my post........ over an hour now... I figured out which harness to use and adapter.

    Now i cant figure out why there is no sound. I used the harness with the -5 wires connected. It was the only one. The other two had no wires connected to the -5 pin on the harness.

  4. #54

  5. #55
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    Double dragon

    I checked my egret II and it seems there is a brown wire comming out from the -5v on the psu. The jamma harness does have a wire connected to the -5 pin. I used one of those spare harnesses in the picture that has a wire connected to the -5 pin and the game works but no power.

    Been googling for last 30 mins and cant seem to work it out..

  6. #56
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    http://img585.imageshack.us/g/img1536.jpg/

    Pictures in order:

    1. Adapter that goes into the Double dragon PCB. (note the green wire connected to -5)

    2. Whole shot of the harness adapter (multi coloured wires) that fits into the jamma harness inside the marchine (all pure white)

    3. Close pic of the adapter which goes on the jamma harness. (note the -5 wires connected on the jamma harness)

    4. The other side of the adapter (note the green wire connected to -5 on the jamma harness. from picture 1)

    5. Close up of psu with -5 going out

    6. Control panel (does the switch need to be on mono or stereo for double dragon?)

  7. #57
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    Just got out my voltimeter and tested the -5 comming out from the psu is reaching the -5 pin on the double dragon pcb board. Tried adjusting the vr knob and switching the stereo sound from mono to stereo.

    No luck.

    Anybody have any suggestions? Im feeding it -5 and there is still no sound. Really boggling my mind .

  8. #58

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    7,558
    Can you test the board in another cab? Sound is the first thing to go on a lot of jamma boards.

  9. #59
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    I dont have another machine i am afraid.

    I am pretty sure the sound is not faulty on this board so I think I will have to return it.

    Anyway I can test the sound on the board using a voltimeter?

  10. #60
    Choi's Barber
    Hewitson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia

    Posts
    2,207
    Is your cab wired for mono or stereo sound? If you touch the pins of the power amp, does it make a sound?

    Oh and its called a voltmeter

  11. #61
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    I am not sure which part of the pcb is the sound amp....

    haha me bad about typo. Just to show you guys how bad I am at electronics lol

  12. #62
    New Challenger
    Monstermug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    London

    Posts
    21
    Oh its a egret II cab. It plays my neo geo games in Mono. There is a switch on the cab to turn it into stereo.

    I am pretty sure double dragon plays in mono sound though.

  13. #63
    Pupil of Bonus-Kun

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Yorkshire UK

    Posts
    7
    my stern amidar pcb has now sound with -5v disconnected, thought it was a faulty board until I checked this.

  14. #64
    Frenzy Football Player
    K-2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts

    Posts
    1,133
    Do all Power Supplies have -5 volt line?

    Recently picked up a Rastan Saga and it won't boot in my Astro, or my Neo Candy with the Jamma converter board.

  15. #65
    The Chinese Kid Kid Panda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Panda Islandô

    Posts
    11,060

    Games that dont work without -5v

    Quote Originally Posted by K-2 View Post
    Do all Power Supplies have -5 volt line?

    Recently picked up a Rastan Saga and it won't boot in my Astro, or my Neo Candy with the Jamma converter board.
    No, most candy cabs made after 1988 took the -5v off the line. You'll need a Negatron power inverter to get your -5.
    Most if not all American cabs had -5 on the switching power supplies.

  16. #66
    Frenzy Football Player
    K-2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Massachusetts

    Posts
    1,133
    Thanks for the info Kid!
    Too bad my American uprights are both Neo machines. I'll give the Negatron a shot. I was excited for Rastan going to have to wait a little longer now.

  17. #67
    New Challenger

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    switzerland

    Posts
    20
    I played fighting hawk in my naomi cab. No sound. i plugged the negatron adapter and then there was music.
    So the Taito Fighting Hawk PCB also need -5v

  18. #68
    Give an Azn
    A Break Here!
    Westcb's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Tennessee

    Posts
    1,289
    I bought a atlas board from jnx and put a negatron on that to get smash tv to work. I believe he sells them put together too with it already.

  19. #69
    Edo Express Delivery Guy
    Apocalypse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    New-Zealand

    Posts
    337
    Quote Originally Posted by fighting mania View Post
    splatterhouse will keep resetting under 5.25 v and so will bloodstorm
    Your board should have a problem. I've managed to get it run with voltage as low as 4.55V

    To feed that thread:
    - Karate Champ (Data East - 1984 - original version): no sound

    [EDIT]
    I was wrong for Rush & Crash, it was just a coincidence sound started to work after I plugged the -5V.
    [/EDIT]
    Last edited by Apocalypse; 06-06-2016 at 03:23 PM.
    Current SNK projects:
    - Samurai Spirits (Shodown) RPG English version for the NGCD:
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...nch-to-English)
    - AES to MVS converter (plays AES games on MVS):
    http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showth...-games-on-MVS)


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •