Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How to open Dynamo HS-5 Model cab (w/ pics)

  1. #1
    Lazy SNK Employee

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Michigangamers.net/lounge

    Posts
    57

    How to open Dynamo HS-5 Model cab (w/ pics)

    I got this cab from ebay, and I need to open it in order to fix one of the guns... the game is area 51 and one of the guns has completely stopped working.

    www.powerofthepeople.net/pics

    On the inside of the cab you can see this little bolt system that i cant cant figure out.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Mickey's Coach
    Grinwing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Minnesota

    Posts
    728
    The pics you posted look more like a hinge unit. Are there some clamps further along on the control panel?
    In dog years, I would be dead.

    My Collection

  3. #3
    Lazy SNK Employee

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Michigangamers.net/lounge

    Posts
    57
    Thanks for looking! Their is only one clamp in the middle. when it is unlatched those hinges keep the unit locked. those hinges are what i need to undo.

  4. #4
    Neo Bubble Buster
    Crowquill's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Evansville, IN

    Posts
    42
    Obviously you're the one with the cab, but I thought that they HS-5's use the same type of latches and in the same locations as the HS-2's. [Here's what one of them looks like open

    It's hard to tell from the pictures. Is that screw/bolt/whatever holding down the black bracket removeable? Once you can get it apart and take a look you should be able to figure out how to reassemble it. It might be something that was modified on your cabinet.

  5. #5
    Lazy SNK Employee

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Michigangamers.net/lounge

    Posts
    57
    Thanks for help Crowquill

    Pic:
    http://www.powerofthepeople.net/pics/19000602.jpg

    if you take a look at the picture that I marked, my cab has one latch in the middle which is like the one I circled in number one. It connects where the x's are.

    I don't understand what that is in #2? Do you think thats what I was taking the picture of?

    I have two other dynamo cabs, but neither one of them locks like this one! Its so odd!

  6. #6
    Lazy SNK Employee

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Michigangamers.net/lounge

    Posts
    57
    hmn no new replys (hangs head)

  7. #7
    Bashful Neophyte
    iMPULSZE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NorCal

    Posts
    10
    I have a friend who has 2 of these cabs and I work on them for him. His has 3 hinges, but they are the same kind. What needs to be done is this...

    1. Get the coin door open and reach up and under and feel the hinge locks

    2. Pull the bottom of the hinge lock towards you and up

    3. The hinges should be unlocked now, but still latched

    4. The pic that you linked shows the inner parts of the cabinet.... #1 on the pic is the hinge lock, and #A has nothing to do with the hinge....if you looks closely, its a pull out panel, and #A is related to mounting hardware deep within the cab, but not the hinge. Now, where you marked #X on the pic on the back of the control panel, there should be a metal rectangle with a cutout slit on it for the hinge lock to slide into. When the Hinge is in the slit and then pulled down and away it pulls into itself and locks completely. http://www.lizardlickamusements.com/...runk_latch.jpg

    5. What you might want to do, is push the bottom front of the control panel up and forward slightly, while your other hand is underneath slipping the lip of the hinge out of the cutout slit. Thats all thats needed.

  8. #8
    Lazy SNK Employee

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Michigangamers.net/lounge

    Posts
    57
    hey guys thanks for all your help! I finally figured It out.

    Apparently the owner installed an additional lock system.

    http://www.powerofthepeople.net/pics/DSC03555.jpg this pic shows it. that funny looking round thing is a screw, that really holds things firmly in place. It was a real pain to unscrew two of those each on the side of the cab, but they are so secure that it makes me want to get them for the rest of my dynamo cabs.

    my cab only had one of those flip latches, instead of three. I wonder if they can be bought separately?

  9. #9
    Mr Neo Fix-it channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Dallas, Texas Metromess

    Posts
    4,236
    Call me a cheap bastard... I learned to fix things to save money... even surface mount soldering...

    Visit my website: http://www.arcadecomponents.com

    ---------

    I've repaired boards for many members here.

    Want me to repair your arcade game board? Look here. I do MVS, AES, and many other game boards.

    My repair logs are have moved to NewLifeGames.com!!!

  10. #10
    Bashful Neophyte
    iMPULSZE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NorCal

    Posts
    10
    Wow! HAHAHAH After posting all that, and my method didnt even fix it. NICE! Lizardlick.com also has those trunk latches for sale.

  11. #11
    Lazy SNK Employee

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Michigangamers.net/lounge

    Posts
    57
    thanks guys! people on this forum are the best!

  12. #12
    OG OG
    Billkwando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    On the battle bridge, enjoying the mood lighting.

    Posts
    1,739
    Since the page linked in this thread is dead, and it's the top result in google, I made a video in case anybody else needed help with this:



    I got the idea when I was showing a friend how to change games in my cab... with the sagely advice of "Just reach up in there and undo the latches". 5 minutes later, he was still fumbling around all up in there. Obviously, it's only easy if you already know how to do it.




    Quote Originally Posted by SamuraiShodownSensei View Post
    These multicarts will eventually burn up your mvs board.
    ^ the above statement is absurd and was quoted sarcastically, if that doesn't come across clearly enough.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •