Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678
Results 176 to 193 of 193

Thread: Neo Geo CD Conversion Project.

  1. #176

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    7,709
    Quote Originally Posted by Sly DC
    P.S. to Razoola: Will you ever make a release of the Unibios for the NGCD ?? I would be in heaven if ever you do!!
    A better project would be a bios for the Hyper Neo 64 that makes the gun and racing games boot on the fighting board. Maybe there's just one byte of data that locks it out.

  2. #177
    Neo Bubble Buster
    cdoty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Houston TX

    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by Sly DC
    i'm pretty sure that he doesn't know that you need to byteswap 0x66 to 0x69 with 0x6A to 0x6D. KaNyErO told me about the byteswap (and now Razoola confirms it) but KaNyErO told me it was only for some specific games like Eightman but it works with the two swapped bytes (0x66 with 0x6A)....weird huh ?!
    You need to:
    Byteswap PRG rom, append banks together.

    Swap the IRQs at 0x64 and 0x68 (DWORD values). This swaps the VBlank and HBlank IRQs.

    And change locations:
    0x40 - 00 C0 05 22 00 C0 05 28 00 C0 05 2E 00 C0 05 34
    0x50 - 00 C0 05 3A 00 C0 04 F2 00 C0 04 EC 00 C0 04 E6
    0x60 - 00 C0 E0 00


    It's cool to see someone finally figured this out. And my versions do have incorrect colors, this was pointed out by Chirs Covell.

    I guess in my excitement of getting it working, I didn't check the colors. The sprite banks probably need to be byte swapped.
    Last edited by cdoty; 12-05-2006 at 11:40 PM.
    Visit RasterSoft on facebook or visit the website.

  3. #178
    Geese's Thug
    Princess-Isabel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    US

    Posts
    277
    good to see Neo Geo CD getting "new" games, good job guys.

  4. #179
    Neo-Geo FAQs Editor NeoLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire

    Posts
    2,429

    Question

    I was really excited when I read this thread, but when I clicked on the 'link' provided in his initial post, it comes up with this:

    For Sale

    Internet Domain Name

    www.Game-Shoppe.com

    For The Current Price

    CLICK HERE



    What's going on?

  5. #180
    Electric Head
    Guest

    Sorry, need help

    I'm sorry I'm posting this here (where it doesn't belong) but I have no other choice!

    I am new and I ca't open new threads, just answer in some forums, like this "News And Rumors" one.

    Anyone knows why?

    Thanks!

  6. #181
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    8

    Talking

    Are there any people still interested in resurrecting this project? With a fresh guide and new set of tools?

  7. #182

  8. #183
    Baseball Star Hitter
    wyndcrosser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Midwest

    Posts
    1,256
    kuk thanks. still looking for shock troopers and nightmare in the dark. thanks

  9. #184
    Morden's Lackey

    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Fernandeathland
    Posts
    354
    Interesting...

  10. #185
    Neo Bubble Buster
    Coligion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    44
    Did anyone attempt to convert Flip Shot? That one is small enough that it should work (46 Megs). I always thought it was a pretty decent two-player game; it was not as good as Windjammers, but still fun.

  11. #186

    Neo Alec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    7,709
    Quote Originally Posted by Coligion View Post
    Did anyone attempt to convert Flip Shot? That one is small enough that it should work (46 Megs). I always thought it was a pretty decent two-player game; it was not as good as Windjammers, but still fun.
    Without checking, I think the graphics or sound roms were too big.

  12. #187
    Neo Bubble Buster
    Coligion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    USA

    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by Neo Alec View Post
    Without checking, I think the graphics or sound roms were too big.
    Ah, too bad. Thanks for the info., though.

  13. #188
    Super Spy Agent
    kuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Normandie, France

    Posts
    761
    the probleme is the limitation of 4 Mo for the Graphism, you could have more but you should delete and load the new graphism (and have a loading time)

  14. #189
    Timid Neo Newbie

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    UK

    Posts
    8
    Thanks for the link kuk.

    I was hoping maybe people in the know would have the tools to appropriately scale down certain game assets for the NGCD.

    Rather than just chopping the files.

    Like King Of The Monsters, extracting the audio data and maybe checking for unused data or using techniques to shorten the audio data. So it would fit in the 1mb rather than what we have now.

  15. #190
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    mikew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX

    Posts
    237
    Quote Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
    Like King Of The Monsters, extracting the audio data and maybe checking for unused data or using techniques to shorten the audio data. So it would fit in the 1mb rather than what we have now.
    The NGCD has 2MB available for PCM data, not 1MB

  16. #191
    Cheng's Errand Boy

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    DTC

    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by mikew View Post
    The NGCD has 2MB available for PCM data, not 1MB

  17. #192
    Super Spy Agent
    kuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Normandie, France

    Posts
    761
    well for me it's 1 Mo or 7 Mbits
    7 Mb no more, no less. 7 shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be 7. 8 shalt thou not count, neither count thou 6, excepting that thou then proceed to 7. 9 is right out. Once the number 7, being the 7 number, be reached, then lobbest thou
    Amen

  18. #193
    Krauser's Shoe Shiner
    mikew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX

    Posts
    237
    Quote Originally Posted by mikew View Post
    The NGCD has 2MB available for PCM data, not 1MB
    **CORRECTION**

    I want to apologize for misleading you guys here. You were correct, the NGCD does indeed only have 1MB of PCM ram. For awhile I was thinking there was 2MB but after running many tests to confirm, only 1MB of PCM ram is useable. It's setup as 2 banks of 512KB however if you are doing CD conversions it probably doesn't make any difference as you would be loading all of the data from one entry starting at 0x0 in the IPL.TXT.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •