Neo Geo Development

Crim

n00b
Hey Guys,

I'm a neo-geo noob, who has an interest in learning to develop games for the neo geo. unfortunately I haven't found all that much hard information about this topic, it seems that the neo-geo homebrew circle is pretty small. I've run across the NeoDev libraries, along with the source for a few games/demos. I've managed to build the source, but am having difficulties figuring out how to get Mame to play homebrew roms. Can anyone lend me a hand here?

My end goal would be to have some game that I could put onto a MVS cart and play on my machine. From searching around it seems as tho there are no flash carts for loading homebrew code. Someone out there must have information on building these due to the large number of bootlegs. Although I'm not all that adept with hardware/electronics (I'm a software guy by trade) I do own a few eprom burners and have some basic knowledge. I have a bootlegged metal slug cart, I was considering tearing that apart to try to figure out how I could load my own code, but if anyone already has this kind of information and would be willing to share that would be awesome (I do understand this is probably an touchy subject due to the people bootlegging games)

Thanks!
Stephen

michel

n00b
First of all, welcome!

It's great to hear that you wish to develop games for NEO*GEO!

As for your question, I'm not MAME literate as others here. All I can say is that the NEO*GEO rom file format must be worked on to make it runs on MAME. Paradoxally, the Kawaks emulator now only accept NEO*GEO roms in MAME format instead of native.
I'm sure that other people here are going to give you a superior insight on the problem.

As for burning AES roms, it's known that the German developers of Last Hope did just that, so I'd ask them, for a starter.

good luck!... :)

Chainclaw

Geese's Thug
I asked about this the other day, and was linked to this : http://www.neobitz.com/