AES Gold doesn't boot properly and reset itself

jcoelho

n00b
Hi all!

Hope you are doing well and merry Christmas for all of you! I heard this is the right place to look for help, so here I go...

Long story short, this is my first time touching an AES which I got with a known issue, the issue was (apparently) related to the PSU connector since it would reset by just moving the PSU cable. When I got it yesterday, I tested it the first time and was able to play a random game for a minute or something, today I decided to clean the power connector with IPA and the first try after that looked promising until the console just started giving me some glitchy graphics while I was trying to flash a game on my NeoSD Pro.

At the moment, all I get is the screens attached, I haven't been able to get further than that again the console resets itself after around 15 seconds, like a reset loop. Already tried reflowing the PSU and AV connector to no avail, not sure where to go from here.

The facts:
  • This is an early revision, exactly the same to the picture attached.
  • The power supply I'm using is a Triad WSX050-4000-R (5V 4A).
  • The RGB cable I'm using is from Retrogamingcables and it works perfectly with my NEo Geo CD top loader.
  • I actually get the "booting" sound every time I boot up the console or when it resets itself.

So, any ideas on what to try/check?

Thanks a lot in advance!!!

Attachments

• IMG_20211225_221143.jpg
    IMG_20211225_221143.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 4
  • IMG_20211225_221144.jpg
    IMG_20211225_221144.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20211225_221149.jpg
    IMG_20211225_221149.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20211225_221151.jpg
    IMG_20211225_221151.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 3
  • neogeoaespsuguide-03.jpg
    neogeoaespsuguide-03.jpg
    316.8 KB · Views: 3

jcoelho

n00b
Oh, I forgot to mention that I get a blue screen if I boot the console up with no game in it...hopefully that's a good sign.

jcoelho

n00b
Hi all,