Which AES model

Voodoohead

Morden's Lackey
As i am new to this collecting thing and as i want to do it right, i was wondering which aes model you would suggest to me and for which reason?
maybe you can give some pros and cons to each of the three: PAL, US and JAPANESE.

xsq

Thou Shalt Not, Question Rot.,
Don't get a PAL system, it will be 50hz, Games will be slower and you'll have black boarders on the top&bottom. (They can be modded however.)
The rest of the differences are managed by the BIOS - JPN plays all games uncensored and in Japanese, while some will be censored with a US one (all will be in English). The best way around this would be to get a UNIBIOS installed (if you're good with the soldering iron you can do it yourself, but it's not recommened for noobs).

You might also want to check the revision of the system you're going to get and if it is advisable to mod it's (RGB) output. See Jamma-Nation-X Tutorials for more info.

Also: GOOGLE! SEARCH FUNCTION.
As well as: Don't buy to collect, buy to play. If you're looking to save some money, consider getting into MVS first instead of Homeconsole stuff (get the cheaper releases on each system if you're feeling sassy)... Xian Xi builds bad ass CMVSs for cheap, there are a lot of other options (e.g. Omega CMVS). Don't ever buy conversions EVER. Get an "MVS to AES" converter, like the MagicKey instead.

pulstar

Mickey's Coach
10 Year Member
In my opinion revision of motherboard is more important than region. PAL systems are very easy to mod for 60hz, and if you know someone (or can do it yourself) that is handy with a soldering iron, a unibios will get over censorship issues.

As stated above, if you're just looking to play games, an cMVS would probably serve you better (and will be cheaper)...and really take the advice by xsq and don't buy conversions. Games are destroyed and you're funding the process of more games getting destroyed.

Voodoohead

Morden's Lackey