Best KOF Game to start out with

mehguy

Haomaru's Blade Shiner
I'm a bit new to neo geo and was wondering, what is the best KOF game to start out with. I've played street fighter 4 and gotten pretty good at it. So what do you guys think? :scratch:

Tyranix95

Chang's Grocer
Either, go to the local meets, find out which one everybody likes to play, then get that one.

Or, scour the web for some cool game play videos, and get the one that looks the most fun to play.

---

If I was collecting KOF all over again, I'd get either 98 and 2k2 first cause these were the hardest for me to find.

But, if I was just getting some KOF carts to play, then I'd get '96 & '97 first 'cause I like playing these the most.

SNKorSWM

So Many Posts
No Time
For Games.
10 Year Member
Start from the beginning in chronological order. If you play the best ones first, you won't want to try the others.

Tyranix95

Chang's Grocer
and since both of those are Dream Matches, nice big character rosters on both of em :)

A Bigger Roster is not always better, look at MvC2.

I really like the fight engine in '96~'97 and the character designs. Most of the characters are fast, simple, and powerful. Makes for lots of interesting match-ups all around.

The only way to make it more interesting is to figure out a way to add a NO-Team-Edit Option (like in '94). When both players can not edit a team, they are forced to play with characters you normally wouldn't use. But that's another debate. Seems most people like the Team Edit Option though.

Fighting games get boring when people play the same six or eight overpowered charters again and again.

Last edited:

Pope Sazae

Known Scammer, DO NOT DEAL WITH!, The Management.,
Quit trollin.

I'd say 98 or 2002 as well.

Haha. My honest answer would be '96 then go up to '98. 2002 isn't the best to start with as it goes really deep into a lot of stuff and styles built up over the years that should be experienced in the older (pre-99) games.

joe8

margarine sandwich