Is this a real email from eBay?

KaedesBlade

Bead Banger
Joined
Oct 1, 2001
Posts
1,493
I got one of these today. With all the fake emails stealing accounts, I'm not sure about this one. I haven't bidded on anything in a long time. But couple months ago, I retracted a bid, and ebay sent me a email saying it could be a possible fraudulent bid. Could that be it?


If says something like: "I or someone is used your account to make fake bids on eBay."

So is this email real?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v209/kaedesblade/ebaything.jpg

When I click on the link, I get to this page:

http://safetrust-ebay.com/eBayISAPI.php?MfcISAPICommand=SignInFPP&UsingSSL=1&email=&userid=
 
Last edited:

Phoenix Down

Flagstaff Up,
20 Year Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2002
Posts
3,669
I'm going with fake on this. The kicker is to see what that link points to, a lot of times it will point to something that looks like an ebay site but has extra characters meaning it's a bogus site (ebay-en-secure.ru, etc.).
 

Pink Spider

Beast Buster
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Posts
2,102
This might be of some help in the future.

http://pages.ebay.com/education/spooftutorial/

You can count on the fact that a Spoof email will take you to a fake Web site.

Take a look at the example on the right. Often, the link in the email will not match up with the URL of the site it takes you to.
scr1Step3_318x276.gif
 
Last edited:

KaedesBlade

Bead Banger
Joined
Oct 1, 2001
Posts
1,493
Thanks Phoenix Down and Ron McRae. I read the spoof email tuturial from Ebay, and reported the email. Ebay says it fake.
 
Joined
May 29, 2002
Posts
4,771
I've gotten 2 of these in the last month. The first time I got brave and clicked on the link anyway. Popup's galore!

Fake as fake is.
 

dullbuoy

Leon Ther,
Joined
Jun 20, 2002
Posts
2,017
i've gotten about a dozen please send and additional $6 for shipping BS.

to spot it's a fake, the text at the bottom has spelling errors (design was mispelled) and if you do a view source of the entire email the ebay link is bogus.
 

Benimaru

King's Dry Cleaner
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Posts
398
You have to be extra careful with these emails especially if you are vulnerable to the DOS exploit. Even if it has ebay in the address bar it doesn't necessarely mean it is.
 

chris1

POCKETBIKE NUT,
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Posts
10,830
fakes...


I have it written somewhere by them that Ebay will not ask you for information through emails..

I get them all the time and the Pay Pal ones..and I don't have Paypay..

How do I verify my Paypay account info when I don't even have one.. :loco:
 

Arcademan

Now...It's OFFICIAL!!!
20 Year Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Posts
20,765
chris1 said:
fakes...


I have it written somewhere by them that Ebay will not ask you for information through emails..

I get them all the time and the Pay Pal ones..and I don't have Paypay..

How do I verify my Paypay account info when I don't even have one.. :loco:

I get them on a constant basis...delete them all. If you need info on eBay or PayPal, go to their websites, not the other way around ;)
 
Top