NEO GEO CD dead?

Wan-Fu

Galford's Armourer
Is SNK Japan still producing NEO GEO CD versions of their games? The last CD game I bought was Metal Slug 2 and then I lost interest in SNK until I recently heard that they went out of business in USA so I started playing my old games again and now I am hooked.

I saw there is a CD version of King of Fighters 99 but is it worth getting with missing animations and all? How about Metal Slug X or Metal Slug 3? Will these games ever come out on CD?

chimpmeister

Former Moderator
In answer to your question, yes the Neo CD is dead. At least as far as new releases. SNK (now Aruze) hasn't bothered to put out any new games for it since KOF99. No Garou: MOTW, no Metal Slug X or 3, its done.

As for whether KOF 99 is worth getting, I'd say that with the horrible load time on all the recent KOF games, its not worth it. You'd really do best getting MVS cart versions of all the games you want, and then a supergun/mvs board or a dedicated MVS arcade cabinet.
cool.gif

C

charles

Yes the CD has been dead for quite some time now. It's a shame too... they should've rereleased a newer version of the CD hardware with more internal memory. Or at least an upgradeable cartridge slot like the Sega Saturn. They could've put out a machine at a $150 price point and still made money off the hardware.

Then, release greatest hits versions of the most popular games... Metal Slug, KOF 99, Samurai Spirits, etc etc. Sometimes I wonder what kind of people run SNK Japan. The things they could've done to please their loyal fans.

On a side note the CD systems are getting quite cheap for Single-Speed. I am thinking of getting a CDZ soon. What are the rarest games?

Master Terry Bogard

Belnar Institute Student