SCART connector considerations??

John_Smith

B. Jenet's Firstmate
Hey there all! I have a couple question on wiring up an MVS board to output to a TV via SCART input. I've got the pinout sorted, but want to know if theres anything I need to add to the RGB or Sync lines if the levels are too strong or something? Also on the pin 8 (function switching) do I need to supply 12v or 5 - 6v? If there are any other considerations please let me know!!

Thanks guys! ;)

ttooddddyy

PNG FTW,
Pin 8 Status, I think you need 12 volts/10Kohm here to enable the composite vid input on pin 20, so you dont need that, pin 8 should be low if you are inputing RGB to the TV. afaik

Im no expert at this.
BTW when are you going to send me your AD encoder to have a look at ?

Last edited:

MKL

Basara's Blade Keeper
20 Year Member
John_Smith said:
Hey there all! I have a couple question on wiring up an MVS board to output to a TV via SCART input. I've got the pinout sorted, but want to know if theres anything I need to add to the RGB or Sync lines if the levels are too strong or something?

Wiring the RGB lines of a MVS board directly to the scart RGB pins will give you a very bright picture. Not overly bright as with CPS2 but still very bright, so you might want to insert resistors in the RGB lines. What value? Something in the 75-100 ohm range (I use 82 ohm). You can do a test with pots and choose the value that works better for you: it's a matter of taste after all.

John_Smith said:
Also on the pin 8 (function switching) do I need to supply 12v or 5 - 6v? If there are any other considerations please let me know!!

See the paragraph "scart control signals":
http://www.idiots.org.uk/vga_rgb_scart/
As you see, pin 8 is hardly ever needed (I never had the need to wire it). Voltage to pin 16 (5v through a 100 ohm resistor) on the other end is strongly recommended.