SuperGun...On a Computer Monitor

Gamefan

OldSkool4Life,
20 Year Member
With everyone getting and or making superguns, I was thinking of making one but displaying it on a computer monitor. I was thinking this could be for say System 246 or Naomi games. I am in the market for parts, and a nice 19" computer monitor. If anyone can help me out with with what type of computer monitor would work best and a parts list, I would greatly appreciate it!

I am a very novice electrician, but am capable of learning. I would like it to be able to play six button games and all. If someone can make a JAMMA+ cable for me, let me know.

Thanks,

GAMEFAN:D

Amano Jacu

Charles Barkley
Well, a Naomi has regular VGA connector in the board, so connecting any regular computer monitor to it should be very easy, no need to make a feature for it in the supergun.

Take care that superguns are usually designed only for straight JAMMA games, with low-res and digital controls. Things other than this need to be taken care specifically, and usually each board behaves differently.

On a side note, if you want to use a computer monitor with regular JAMMA low-res games, you can use some type of device that converts RGB to VGA.

Lagduf

2>X
20 Year Member
Amano Jacu said:

On a side note, if you want to use a computer monitor with regular JAMMA low-res games, you can use some type of device that converts RGB to VGA.

Just to add a bit more, these units are often called Upscan Converters and can be a bit pricey. As far as i am aware the XRGB 2+ By Micomsoft is the best one on the market. Its about 200 USD though. I'm considering getting one for christmas.

Bishamon

Azu Bla, ,
I'm running my supergun though a Hauppage WinTV card with S-Video into my computer using a program called DScaler. It kicks ass! The 17" LCD I have also pivots, even allowing me to play vertical PCBs easily.

Still, going straight RGB into an XRGB-2 (which outputs VGA) would be even cleaner.

Fluff_Daddy

Galford's Armourer