Everyone's support BADLY needed

Yukuridanshi

lurking, ,
Hello everyone. I've been around a while, so many of you know me. For those who don't, my name is Rob Scharr. I'm a first-year graduate student in the Technical Japanese Program at the University of Washington in Seattle.

This is about a book that was published back in December 2001 in Japan by Aspect (Sega's publishing arm). The title of the book is "Game Works" (no relation to Sega's arcade chain), and it is by Yu Suzuki, the man behind all of Sega's major arcade simulators of the 1980's, along with the Virtua Fighter/Shenmue series.

What was this book about? Sit back, relax, and I'll tell you.

The book detailed not only the making of all of Suzuki's major works, but quite a bit of Suzuki's personal life as well. His job is to "inspire people," and he talks about the ways to do that during the better part of the book. Packaged with the book was a Dreamcast GD-ROM containing a compilation of arcade-perfect translation of his first five major games- Hang-On, Space Harrier, After Burner II, OutRun, and Power Drift. (There is a chapter dedicated to each game in the text).

Around when this book was published, I was living in Japan at that time doing my undergraduate work as an exchange student. I was so moved by the book that I decided that I would translate it, both for my personal Japanese study and in hopes of having the book read by a larger audience at some time in the future.

I finished the project in April of this year, and had been in contact with a couple of folks at Sega of Japan regarding a possible publication of GW in North America. Upon hearing the news and seeing the manuscript, they were very impressed, but told me that a third-party would need to pick up the book, since Sega's publishing arm is not operational outside of Japan. The search for a publisher, however, has been fruitless- perhaps I just haven't looked in the right places.