A possible Ebay scam

Pink Spider

Beast Buster
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Posts
2,102
I figured I'd share this here because I know we all use ebay, and I know we all get junk mail. Just wanted to give everyone a heads up.

I got a letter which at first appeared to be an official ebay letter, but upon closer inspection it appears to be a scam.

This is the email I got

ebayscam.jpg


The email itself appeared to be sent by ebay

Note that this is not an image I took of the screen, this is an actual attachment which was sent to appear as the body of the email, which was the first thing to make me alittle confused..

The whole image itself was a link as opposed to just the blue text... which seemed even more odd

Once I clicked the message I was taken to a page that looks exactly like an official ebay page.

Once on this page I was asked for my
User ID
Password
Full name
Date of birth
Social Security Number
Credit or debit card number
Expiration date
CVV2 code
and ATM PIN!

Now this of course sent up the big red "What the fuck" flag.

Keep an eye out for this kinda shit, should someone fall into this trap who knows what horror awaits.

At first when I read the email I got nervous something was wrong, but who wouldnt, I'm sure you all love ebay as much as I do.
Just be careful out there, if some poor fella fell for this, 10 years later you'd probably end up having 1,000 or so credit cards listed in your name as well as illegal immigrants living in the states under your name.

Be careful kids!
 

Rot

Calvin & Hobbes, ,
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Posts
11,439
YEP! Evil SWINE about!

YEP! Know about this one matey!!

Tres EVIL!! My mate told me about it on the phone... I use Mailwasher to police my emails now... can't be TOO careful...

If it aint from a person I know and I'm dealing with... it gets deleted/bounced/blacklisted... Handy program!!!
 

RyoGeo

Global Moderator, Voice of Reason, Member #13
Joined
Aug 14, 2000
Posts
2,495
These are extremely common and, sadly, as most AOL users are pellet fed, internet n00bs (not saying you are one though), far too often they fall for the trick.

This is a scam.

Don't even click on the link.

Forward to email immediately to the AOL Safe Harbor folks, or whatever they are called.
 

Pink Spider

Beast Buster
Joined
Jul 2, 2003
Posts
2,102
Re: YEP! Evil SWINE about!

rotphungte said:
YEP! Know about this one matey!!

Tres EVIL!! My mate told me about it on the phone... I use Mailwasher to police my emails now... can't be TOO careful...

If it aint from a person I know and I'm dealing with... it gets deleted/bounced/blacklisted... Handy program!!!

Sounds interesting...

I got this email, and all my junk mail in my Hotmail account.
My actual emal accound with my ISP I only use for personal useage and have never got a single junk mail sent to it!
 

BIG BEAR

SHOCKbox Developer,
20 Year Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Posts
8,431
SOLUTION
NEVER CLICK ON LINKS provided by unsolicited e-mails.
If you have doubts,you should go directly to the official web site and e-mail them forwarding your unsolicited e-mail.
Also to avoid receiving spam of that nature ebay suggests that you change your handle from your e-mail account to something else.
-BB
 

chris1

POCKETBIKE NUT,
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Posts
10,830
I get them all the time..I have a topic about them somewhere on this forum..
I get them so damn much it's sickening..


The last one I got actually had an email address from someone using optonline.net..
So I replied to that..saying....."Go Fuck yourself"..
 

Rot

Calvin & Hobbes, ,
Joined
Jul 8, 2003
Posts
11,439
chris1 said:
I get them all the time..I have a topic about them somewhere on this forum..
I get them so damn much it's sickening..


The last one I got actually had an email address from someone using optonline.net..
So I replied to that..saying....."Go Fuck yourself"..

YU DA MAN!!!:tickled:

DAMN! I'm TOO civilised!!:(
 

doughboy

Lurker.
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
Posts
400
Got that exact mail too..looked dodgy straight away, cos I've not been approached by ebay before..

Quick check on the ip of the link, and it was from Taiwan or somewhere(can't remember exactly)
 

Dean

Choi's Clawmaker
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Posts
4,821
One clue that it's fake is the "scgi" part of the web page link. eBay uses "cgi"

Another one I caught in another scam e-mail:

"aw-confrim"

instead of

"aw-confirm"

with that subtle misspelling

I hate people

Not YOU people, but people....
 

Kazuya_UK

NeoGeoForLife.com,
20 Year Member
Joined
May 11, 2001
Posts
1,443
Yeah I've had this loadfs of times and I had that exact same one a couple of days ago. Although the link in the email looks like it says "ebay.com" if you look at the link it sends you to it is usually something like "eboy.com".

Never respond to anything like this that asks you for your credit card or bank details etc.

Kaz
 

Arcademan

Now...It's OFFICIAL!!!
20 Year Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Posts
20,765
I got that message a few times myself too in the past and hit the 'delete' button every time. Most major places will NEVER ask you for your password or private information via e-mail. Rule to live by online ;)
 

SNKJorge

Collection Gallery Keeper, CD Price Guide Analyst,
Joined
May 26, 2002
Posts
9,233
No one in their right mind would fill these forms out..
Unless you are very stupid.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Posts
16
That big red "what the fuck" flag thing was awesome,i'll have to use that :glee: any way it sounds like they were trying to rectal ram you on that one...watch your ass,literally.
 

Neo Fan

King's Dry Cleaner
Joined
Nov 23, 2000
Posts
396
Unfortunately, too many Dumb-Asses do reply to this E-mail. MSN just did a story on the whole scam and how it works. Interesting read:

http://www.msnbc.com/news/957191.asp?vts=092420032030

BTW, I must have received that E-mail about 100 times. Then one day while using e-Bay, a message popped up suggesting that I change my user name to something other than my e-mail. Reason being that spammers pull them off e-Bay. I changed my user name, and have not received another one since.
 

Moon Jump

Alfred Garcia's Butler
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Posts
5,904
I got one telling me they changed my name for some reason. So they made it Yuckmud823346r or somthing like that. I erased it. If they did anything to my name I'm going to kill them.
 
Top