?How Do I Begin An Arcade(Neo) Business?

avulon

Rip Van Winkle
Hello Everyone:

Soon, I'll be forced to quit my job. I'll be
getting some money from the retirement program
at work. With another person in the same
situation, we decided to pool our funds
and maybe open a very small business. We are
thinking about an arcade business; at first buy
two machines, and if it goes good, buy more.
We have enough for about two new ones.
The thing is that we don't know where to begin.
Me being the Neo enthusiast want to evetually
buy a dedicated MVS with the memory card
capability and everything like that, among
the more popular machines we want to buy.

But, since I have no knowledge whatsoever on
how the business works, I need some information
help. All I know is that, if I don't have my
own place, I need to rent them out or whatever
that is called, you know, where I put the machines
in a pizza place or something like that and then
give a percentage of the revenue to the place operator. But how much? Where do I get
the MVS and other machines? What about permits?
Most important, what about maintenance?
Because we all know some people bang and beat
them up.

Does anyone out there have some information they
want to share, or know of articles or publications
relatiing to this topic. I have been searching
libraries web pages all around, and I have only
found one from 1993.

Any information given will be highly appreciated.

Peace,

AVULON

chimpmeister

Former Moderator
Arcades are all dying. There is no money to be had in that business anymore. You really should forget that idea, and find a real job; then you can buy a few arcade cabs to have in your home, as a hobby.

FTL

AES Price Guide Analyst, International Moderator,
Staff member
chimpmeister:
Arcades are all dying. There is no money to be had in that business anymore. You really should forget that idea, and find a real job; then you can buy a few arcade cabs to have in your home, as a hobby.