Stay away from this Ebay seller

Ckd N Lkd

Smoking Gun!,
Joined
Jul 13, 2001
Posts
403
Seller Id: Neweravideogames

Current auctions: <a href="http://cgi6.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewSellersOtherItems&userid=neweravideogames&include=0&since=-1&sort=3&rows=50" target="_blank">His stuff</a>

I emailed him about some carts and this was in one of his emails when I inquired about if the carts were 100% snk and legit ...

His reply

I say 100% original from SNK no bootlegs no copy, I open see inside the box
eprom is original parts.
form your own opinions
shame

Jim

<small>[ July 11, 2003, 10:22 PM: Message edited by: TheWorm2 ]</small>
 

I'dBuyThatForADollar

Crazed MVS Addict
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Posts
145
Do you think he means that the eproms are SNK? If he opens the carts anyway, I would ask him to take a pic of the boards before buying from him. I have seen that guy sell a lot of Japanese kits also in the past, he says in the auction that they were from SNK when they were shuttiong down, but wouldn't that stuff just have been passed on to playmore?
 

RabbitTroop

Mayor of Southtown, ,
20 Year Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2000
Posts
13,852
TheWorm2:
Seller Id: Neweravideogames

Current auctions: <a href="http://cgi6.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewSellersOtherItems&userid=neweravideogames&include=0&since=-1&sort=3&rows=50" target="_blank">His stuff</a>

I emailed him about some carts and this was in one of his emails when I inquired about if the carts were 100% snk and legit ...

His reply

I say 100% original from SNK no bootlegs no copy, I open see inside the box
eprom is original parts.
form your own opinions
shame

Jim
KOF 2001 does have two EPROMs on the top board, those are indeed SNK EPROMs, they are actually in sockets! Cool if you ask me, since if anything was to happen to them they are easy to replace. I don't know which game you asked about, but I can tell you 2001 used EPROMs for sure

-Nick
 

Ckd N Lkd

Smoking Gun!,
Joined
Jul 13, 2001
Posts
403
I asked about Strikers and PI2

FYI


Jim


again - just wanted you all to know the reply I got - I do not have eeproms in my PI2
 

RabbitTroop

Mayor of Southtown, ,
20 Year Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2000
Posts
13,852
TheWorm2:
I asked about Strikers and PI2

FYI


Jim


again - just wanted you all to know the reply I got - I do not have eeproms in my PI2
OK, yeah, those two deffinetly don't have any EPROMs, atleast not on my carts... So, have to say thanks for the warning! Looks like some of his stuff is legit, but why take the risk... Those 2001 carts look real to me, the cart case is the right color and that was the only game in that off white... still, guess some place could have copied that by now! Thanks for the warning,

-Nick
 

whitey

NEST Puppet
Joined
Dec 28, 2002
Posts
177
I dont understand why anyone on these boards would continue to buy MVS carts on ebay. There are so many boot carts around and many of the people that sell them don't even know what a boot is. Buy from known good sellers on the boards or mdgamesales, it is the safest way to go.
 

THEMAN

Angel's Love Slave
20 Year Member
Joined
May 20, 2001
Posts
901
whitey:
I dont understand why anyone on these boards would continue to buy MVS carts on ebay. There are so many boot carts around and many of the people that sell them don't even know what a boot is. Buy from known good sellers on the boards or mdgamesales, it is the safest way to go.
So true!! There's so many people out there that aren't in the know like people in these boards. We can't hold those people up the same standards as us who know more than the typical gamer.
 

Nathan

Stakes, ,
Joined
May 2, 2002
Posts
177
Well, I think he probably does know that he has some boots. If you look at his auctions for Strikers 1945+ one is listed as 100% original in the title and the other is not.

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3232119018&category=13718" target="_blank">100% Original Strikers 1945</a>

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=13718&item=3232119019" target="_blank">Boot Strikers 1945</a>

We just have to keep our eyes open and stay away from suspicious auctions. eek!
 

chimpmeister

Former Moderator
Joined
Aug 13, 2000
Posts
5,228
WTF? Many of his auctions (which all just ended) had the bids cancelled with this explanation:

The seller ended this listing early because of an error in the minimum bid or Reserve amount
JUST before they ended. INCLUDING both his Strikers 1945 Plus carts, of which it looked to me like one was a boot, and one was original (boot in black cart, original translucent blue).

Very suspicious. Looks to me like the seller wasn't happy with the ending bids for many of his auctions, and just cancelled all bids with that bullshit lame excuse above. Here are his final auctions, look to the second page for the Strikers carts. Quite a few were ended due to this same reason. oh_no

<a href="http://cgi6.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewListedItems&userid=neweravideogames&sort=3&page=1&rows=25&since=30&rdir=0" target="_blank">http://cgi6.aol.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewListedItems&userid=neweravideogames&sort=3&page=1&rows=25&since=30&rdir=0</a>

Definitely a sleazy seller, for sure. shame
 

Jedite

Bunker Buster
Joined
May 21, 2003
Posts
1,471
I saw one of his auctions, it was a Real Bout 2 game, and it showed screenshots of Real Bout. That auction is as fake as Britney Spears' silcon tits. That goes to show that he's a big tyme scammer.
 

Nathan

Stakes, ,
Joined
May 2, 2002
Posts
177
He's ended auctions early before these (see links below). I seem to remember he did this a few weeks ago with a Prehistoric Isle MVS cart. I hate when people do this! Just put a reserve on it or start it out at the price you want. :mad: So far today he's ended 6 auctions like this. I wonder how many more he'll end like this today? I'm sure he's making a lot of good friends on EBAY doing this. shame

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=13718&item=3229919956" target="_blank">Prehistoric Isle</a>

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=13718&item=3229919981" target="_blank">Strikers 1945</a>

<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=13718&item=3229255248" target="_blank">KOF 2001</a>

chimpmeister - it looks like he honored the bids on the bootleg Strikers after all.
 

Atro

Who?,
20 Year Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Posts
9,478
That Strikers 1945 is a boot for sure. I had the original and it looked nothing like that.

avoid. wink
 

QnzNeoGeoChick

Krauser's Shoe Shiner
Joined
May 24, 2003
Posts
246
It is not cool! Bootlegging is not cool!!! very_ang very_ang Ebay buyers should definitely beware. frown
 

neo-geo 2

Raiden's Valet
Joined
Mar 21, 2003
Posts
1,122
QnzNeoGeoChick:
It is not cool! Bootlegging is not cool!!! very_ang very_ang Ebay buyers should definitely beware. :(
Uh...ok?

I think everyone has figured this out by now.... :rolleyes:
 

Bishamon

Azu Bla, ,
Joined
Aug 24, 2002
Posts
3,624
Shit, I was the high bidder on the legit Strikers cart when he cancelled the auction. :mad:
 

Dewclaw

n00b
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Posts
34
This guy sucks, I was about to win Metal Slug 4 and one an MV-1C board from him for around 200 bucks when he just cancelled the auction. I didn't know he did that for all of his auctions, though...pretty suspicious.
 

Shin-Strider

NEST Puppet
Joined
May 16, 2003
Posts
173
I was bidding on one of his auctions a few weeks ago. I wasn't the high bidder, but I did get an ebay notice saying my bid was cancelled and the auction ended early.

Now I'm glad. I had no idea those were bootlegs.

Thanks for the warning.
 
Top