BEWARE!! eBay Spam

BIG BEAR

SHOCKbox Developer,
20 Year Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Posts
8,431
I just received this SPAM:

Delivered-To: bigbear@netreach.net
Delivered-To: CLUSTERHOST newmx3.fast.net bigbear@netreach.net
From: REPIDVerifier1@aol.com
Date: Sun, 26 Jan 2003 20:26:38 EST
Subject: Urgent: eBay Member Verification
To: bigbear@netreach.net
X-Mailer: AOL 5.0 for Windows sub 107


Dear eBay Member:

From time to time, for the sake of the security of our members, we require
that you verify and update your account information online.  This is done to
ensure us that nobody else has access to your eBay account or any personal
information.  You must verify and update your account information online
within the next 24 hours, after which your account will be temporarily
suspended until you do so.

You can verify and update your account information online by clicking <A
HREF="http://ebay.envy.nu/">Here</A>

Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

Sincerely,
eBay Online Services



Ebay uses it's own server NOT aol's
Grrr.
-BB
 

EVIL NICK

ALL CAPS,
20 Year Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2002
Posts
2,625
BIG BEAR:
I just received this SPAM:

Delivered-To: bigbear@netreach.net
Delivered-To: CLUSTERHOST newmx3.fast.net bigbear@netreach.net
From: REPIDVerifier1@aol.com
Date: Sun, 26 Jan 2003 20:26:38 EST
Subject: Urgent: eBay Member Verification
To: bigbear@netreach.net
X-Mailer: AOL 5.0 for Windows sub 107


Dear eBay Member:

From time to time, for the sake of the security of our members, we require
that you verify and update your account information online.  This is done to
ensure us that nobody else has access to your eBay account or any personal
information.  You must verify and update your account information online
within the next 24 hours, after which your account will be temporarily
suspended until you do so.

You can verify and update your account information online by clicking <A
HREF="http://ebay.envy.nu/">Here</A>

Thank you in advance for your cooperation.

Sincerely,
eBay Online Services



Ebay uses it's own server NOT aol's
Grrr.
-BB
I got a similar one from a "PayPal" site... oh_no
Asking for account info - in a survey oh_no

Deleted it right away... wink

buttrock
 
C

Caris Nautilus

Guest
sad part is some clueless aol parents out there will fall for this...
 

neojedi

Member,
20 Year Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2001
Posts
3,314
This one is poorly done though, the E-bay updates one was way better. They had a believable domain name, official graphics throughout the note, and most importantly no errors at all. It looked professional, that's why they got so many people before they were shut down.
 

evil wasabi

The Jongmaster
25 Year Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2000
Posts
60,434
I received the same thing...the funny part is that the Paypal one said my account was inactive for 3 months...yet I had just used it 3 times that week!

Sad.
 

chris1

POCKETBIKE NUT,
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Posts
10,830
I Never received something like that.

I don't use any online payment methods though.
(never)
So I figure I may never get anything like that sent to me.
I even pay ebay fees with money orders.

Is this some sort of Scam?
I'm not very knowledgeable about this stuff.
I want to warn others if this is some sort of Scam.
 

evil wasabi

The Jongmaster
25 Year Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2000
Posts
60,434
chris1:
I Never received something like that.

I don't use any online payment methods though.
(never)
So I figure I may never get anything like that sent to me.
I even pay ebay fees with money orders.

Is this some sort of Scam?
I'm not very knowledgeable about this stuff.
I want to warn others if this is some sort of Scam.
Yes, these are legitimate scams. These links are meant to steal your personal account data/info when you click on them.

Bottomline, if you ever get a notice from eBay or Paypal regarding your account, never go through the links in the email message. Always go to the official eBay or Paypal site and do your account updates/etc there.
 

chris1

POCKETBIKE NUT,
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Posts
10,830
AM-NeoGeo:
chris1:
I Never received something like that.

I don't use any online payment methods though.
(never)
So I figure I may never get anything like that sent to me.
I even pay ebay fees with money orders.

Is this some sort of Scam?
I'm not very knowledgeable about this stuff.
I want to warn others if this is some sort of Scam.
Yes, these are legitimate scams. These links are meant to steal your personal account data/info when you click on them.

Bottomline, if you ever get a notice from eBay or Paypal regarding your account, never go through the links in the email message. Always go to the official eBay or Paypal site and do your account updates/etc there.
Thank You So much... AM-NeoGeo

I just sent out a bunch of warning emails.

((sad part is some clueless aol parents out there will fall for this...))
I know many of them,I had to warn them.

Thank you BIG BEAR for posting this also..

<small>[ January 28, 2003, 04:46 PM: Message edited by: chris1 ]</small>
 
Top