PDA

View Full Version : Need help choosing a Component to VGA converter



nug
03-09-2015, 03:27 AM
I wanted to play a couple of my older modded consoles (original xbox and Wii) on my CRT computer monitor which only has VGA. What's my best option Without breaking the bank?

kotter
03-09-2015, 06:00 AM
Well you have the GBS82xx cards that are cheap but can be seriously tricky to get set up and I guess you get what you pay for.
I'm happy with mine but haven't tried any other so unfortunately I don't have anything to compare with.

There are two types, GBS8220 has two VGA outputs and the GBS8200 has onlye one :)

Electric Grave
03-09-2015, 08:05 AM
XBOX has a vga box, you should be able to get one for cheaps, games that support 480p look phenomenal, Ninja Gaiden, Outrun 2, DOA, they look so amazing, no LCD could ever reproduce how amazing these vga tubes look on 480p.

If you don't have one, get yourself a Dreamcast and a vga box as well, prepare yourself though, it looks insane!

nug
03-10-2015, 12:07 AM
XBOX has a vga box, you should be able to get one for cheaps, games that support 480p look phenomenal, Ninja Gaiden, Outrun 2, DOA, they look so amazing, no LCD could ever reproduce how amazing these vga tubes look on 480p.

If you don't have one, get yourself a Dreamcast and a vga box as well, prepare yourself though, it looks insane!

Xbox has a VGA box? All my research has brought up people running component cables to some type of homemade VGA box. The only component to VGA converter I found was $189 new which seems way too much for an outdated item

nug
03-10-2015, 12:10 AM
Well you have the GBS82xx cards that are cheap but can be seriously tricky to get set up and I guess you get what you pay for.
I'm happy with mine but haven't tried any other so unfortunately I don't have anything to compare with.

There are two types, GBS8220 has two VGA outputs and the GBS8200 has onlye one :)

The dual port would be nice since my monitor has 2 inputs. How hard is it to setup?

Electric Grave
03-10-2015, 07:41 AM
Dunno what to tell you other than what I posted. Look it up.

mookie3three
03-10-2015, 07:45 AM
I've got one called a hd box pro that is decent. There's a thread over at the shmups forum about it.

lachlan
03-10-2015, 07:51 AM
I've got a GBS8220 which was what I used to use on a 31khz VGA only arcade monitor for 15khz games. It was pretty easy to set up, not much in the way of stuffing around. Couple settings here and there you might want to tweak, shouldn't take you more than 30mins playing with settings to get the right picture. Though that said I never tested it's Component to VGA performance only CGA - VGA. Judging by its ability to convert that and do it reasonably well, I'd say go for it. They are pretty cheap anyway.

I couldn't notice any input lag, maybe I wasn't looking hard enough? If you're looking for 'perfection' though... this might not be the converter for you but it does the job.

Electric Grave
03-10-2015, 07:58 AM
http://www.avsforum.com/content/type/61/id/55051/

julencin2000
03-10-2015, 12:14 PM
... which seems way too much for an outdated item


Unfortunately this is it. We all pay too much for outdated items here :(

nug
03-10-2015, 02:45 PM
http://www.avsforum.com/content/type/61/id/55051/

Nice! Never seen that! Looks similar to the component av adapter. Who makes this and what is it called?

nug
03-10-2015, 02:48 PM
Unfortunately this is it. We all pay too much for outdated items here :(

I know. I'm starting to delve into the pcb / mvs arena. Not a cheap hobby, but so much fun!

nug
03-10-2015, 02:53 PM
I've got a GBS8220 which was what I used to use on a 31khz VGA only arcade monitor for 15khz games. It was pretty easy to set up, not much in the way of stuffing around. Couple settings here and there you might want to tweak, shouldn't take you more than 30mins playing with settings to get the right picture. Though that said I never tested it's Component to VGA performance only CGA - VGA. Judging by its ability to convert that and do it reasonably well, I'd say go for it. They are pretty cheap anyway.

I couldn't notice any input lag, maybe I wasn't looking hard enough? If you're looking for 'perfection' though... this might not be the converter for you but it does the job.

It doesn't have to be perfect, as I'll most likely have emulators running off one of the consoles. I looked at the board pics, so I just mess with the on board buttons to get the picture I want? It's so cheap, it's worth trying

julencin2000
03-10-2015, 03:05 PM
Nice! Never seen that! Looks similar to the component av adapter. Who makes this and what is it called?

Making a reverse image search, I get it's a Neoya, looks like there are some model variations according to this assemblergames wtb thread: https://www.assemblergames.com/forums/showthread.php?31936-WTB-Neoya-X2VGA

nug
03-10-2015, 03:08 PM
I've got one called a hd box pro that is decent. There's a thread over at the shmups forum about it.

Cool thanks. A brand new one on ebay is $40. The GBS8200 is $20. Now I don't know which route to go!

nug
03-10-2015, 03:11 PM
Making a reverse image search, I get it's a Neoya, looks like there are some model variations according to this assemblergames wtb thread: https://www.assemblergames.com/forums/showthread.php?31936-WTB-Neoya-X2VGA

Thank you! I did look into this. Unfortunately the manufacturer stopped producing it. The only thing they currently offer is an hdmi converter for the wii.

Electric Grave
03-10-2015, 03:16 PM
I wasn't aware of that either but I can tell you this; Best product for displaying XBOX on a VGA CRT hands down.

nug
03-10-2015, 08:55 PM
I wasn't aware of that either but I can tell you this; Best product for displaying XBOX on a VGA CRT hands down.

Ugh. Don't wanna hear that! I guess I'll keep a lookout for one. maybe going the cheapest route until one pops up may be the best way to go

nug
03-11-2015, 12:15 AM
So I found an HD box Pro for cheap on ebay and grabbed it, so I'll report back once it arrives. On a side note, Would an SLG3000 give me a crisper display in conjunction with the converter?