PDA

View Full Version : Double Dragon Video Sync Issue



White Devil
03-06-2015, 08:33 AM
Here's a link to a video of the problem

http://youtu.be/gBubLbLEtck

I am ordering the parts for The mmmonkey sunk stripper

http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/other/sync.htm

Can someone please verify the specific capacitor and resistors? I'm positive that the capacitor says 104M on it, but I can't be certain what the 680k resistor is, when I do a search I get several different choices.

ReplicaX
03-06-2015, 09:44 AM
I have to ask, where are you buying all these problematic boards from?

wyo
03-06-2015, 10:06 AM
Also, if you want a sync stripper, do yourself a favor and just buy one of bustedstr8's boards.

White Devil
03-06-2015, 11:35 AM
I have to ask, where are you buying all these problematic boards from?

The converters or the arcade boards?
The GBS-8200 converters are from Gearbest, on sale for $16.something.
I don't think the arcade boards are the issue honestly.


Also, if you want a sync stripper, do yourself a favor and just buy one of bustedstr8's boards.

I'm currently cut off from the marketplace here so...
Also I'm looking to spend less by doing things myself, I also want to learn so I don't have to ask so many damn questions and can eventually actually help some other noobs.
How much are this guys sync strippers? I wouldn't mind having one that worked right so I had something to go by when I make my own.

White Devil
03-06-2015, 11:51 AM
Anyone listening to the audio in the video, you know why the audio makes that tapping sound?
It does that when hooked up direct to a speaker as well as in a line to RCA converter.

bustedstr8
03-06-2015, 03:16 PM
The converters or the arcade boards?
The GBS-8200 converters are from Gearbest, on sale for $16.something.
I don't think the arcade boards are the issue honestly.



I'm currently cut off from the marketplace here so...
Also I'm looking to spend less by doing things myself, I also want to learn so I don't have to ask so many damn questions and can eventually actually help some other noobs.
How much are this guys sync strippers? I wouldn't mind having one that worked right so I had something to go by when I make my own.


My sync strippers won't help as a guide to build your own since they're made with smaller smd components, but if you want one they are on Klov as well.

Shameless plug.
http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=338980



https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7323/16224794378_1a5168743b_c.jpg

Black IcE
03-06-2015, 11:07 PM
Your sync strippers look pretty darn cool! How much are they ?

White Devil
03-07-2015, 12:28 AM
Your sync strippers look pretty darn cool! How much are they ?

The link with the prices are in the spoiler right thurrr

I just impulse ordered 3 :)

Rot
03-07-2015, 03:48 AM
I'm currently cut off from the marketplace here so...
Also I'm looking to spend less by doing things myself, I also want to learn so I don't have to ask so many damn questions and can eventually actually help some other noobs.
How much are this guys sync strippers? I wouldn't mind having one that worked right so I had something to go by when I make my own.

You have the option of BOTH now...

I've been keeping my eye on a lot of people... and I deem your efforts enough to give you your privileges back...

xROTx

PS. Good luck with the projects...

White Devil
03-07-2015, 12:51 PM
You have the option of BOTH now...

I've been keeping my eye on a lot of people... and I deem your efforts enough to give you your privileges back...

xROTx

PS. Good luck with the projects...

Wow,
That's a lot sooner than I thought any change would happen,
Thanks dude!
It's been a pleasure and an honor being a part of this community. A lot of good people looking to help eachother out. I think that rocks.

Rot
03-07-2015, 01:00 PM
Wow,
That's a lot sooner than I thought any change would happen,
Thanks dude!
It's been a pleasure and an honor being a part of this community. A lot of good people looking to help eachother out. I think that rocks.

Don't blow smoke up my ass... I'd happily funster your account for laughs....

xROTx

Atro
03-07-2015, 01:17 PM
If you're using the GBS8200 on that you have to use the AUTO button to get sync.
A lot of boards are bitchy with that upscaler. You really need a sync cleaner to use with the GBS.
Otherwise you'll have trouble with most boards.

White Devil
03-07-2015, 01:55 PM
Don't blow smoke up my ass... I'd happily funster your account for laughs....

xROTx

I don't know what funster means...

& I was just saying that stuff in general terms. My hobbies keep me sane.
When I saw your post I got really happy.
So, view it as you may dude. I'm just in a really good mood is all.

White Devil
03-12-2015, 08:59 AM
My sync strippers won't help as a guide to build your own since they're made with smaller smd components, but if you want one they are on Klov as well.

Shameless plug.
http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=338980



https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7323/16224794378_1a5168743b_c.jpg


I got my sync strippers in.
It completely solved my X-Men sync issue.
I think the double dragon sync issue has to do with power filtering.
I had noticed a power filter cap was missing. And took the identical one off my parts board, didn't fix the problem. Then I took one off the parts board again. Didn't fix the problem.
The sync stripper steadied the gameplay part more so, but un steadied the title screen. This tells me that it's more so an issue with the power smoothing... Anyone think I'm completely off here?
Any help would be appreciated. Remember. I'm a noob.
And if anyone is selling a Double Dragon PCB for a super great price please let me know. I'd still like to get this one working but at this rate don't think it'll happen by the time of my bday thing where I want it set up to play.

bustedstr8
03-12-2015, 03:02 PM
DD runs at an oddball 57.5Hz that will give most modern digital displays problems.

White Devil
03-12-2015, 03:57 PM
DD runs at an oddball 57.5Hz that will give most modern digital displays problems.

What about a 2005ish CRT?
It does the same on my insignia CRT. Think I got in 2004-2005

Xian Xi
03-12-2015, 09:37 PM
What about a 2005ish CRT?
It does the same on my insignia CRT. Think I got in 2004-2005

TVs are made to display a 60hz signal. Depending on the brand it will have a wider scan range, I don't know if they will go down to 57.5hz though as some have trouble at 59hz.

White Devil
03-12-2015, 10:00 PM
What's the best way to address this with a modern digital monitor?

Xian Xi
03-12-2015, 10:13 PM
What's the best way to address this with a modern digital monitor?

Alter the sync pulse/timing with a custom circuit.

White Devil
03-12-2015, 10:28 PM
Any tutorials out there?

something weird about all this, when I hold the two soldered points for where the wires come off the sync stripper and meet the wires to the converter and from the board with my bare hands and hold them real tight the jumpy picture almost completely stops. It's weird. Like having the sync current run and meet through my body corrects it like 98%. That mean I'm helping to ground the signal?

Xian Xi
03-12-2015, 10:31 PM
Then try using a pull down resistor.

White Devil
03-12-2015, 10:36 PM
Then try using a pull down resistor.

May I ask that you recommend one?
Never heard of that before
Looks like only one comes up in eBay.
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=351325342080

That what I should buy?
And how would I connect it?

White Devil
03-12-2015, 10:38 PM
Xian Xi,
Are you an electronic engineer?
Can't help but wonder

Xian Xi
03-12-2015, 10:41 PM
A pull down resistor is just a resistor connected to ground. So you would connect one end to the sync where you are touching it and the other end to ground. Try a 1k resistor.

White Devil
03-12-2015, 11:02 PM
A pull down resistor is just a resistor connected to ground. So you would connect one end to the sync where you are touching it and the other end to ground. Try a 1k resistor.

If the lowest resistor I happen to have is 4.7k would it be okay to try that? Or better to order the 1k?

Xian Xi
03-13-2015, 05:58 AM
If the lowest resistor I happen to have is 4.7k would it be okay to try that? Or better to order the 1k?

Anything between 1k and 10k should be fine.

Atro
03-13-2015, 07:22 AM
TVs are made to display a 60hz signal. Depending on the brand it will have a wider scan range, I don't know if they will go down to 57.5hz though as some have trouble at 59hz.

I ain't that bad afterall to have PAL tv's ^_^'
They can take all the "hz punishments" eheh!

White Devil
03-13-2015, 07:41 AM
I ain't that bad afterall to have PAL tv's ^_^'
They can take all the "hz punishments" eheh!

Think if I plug this into my LCD TV and select PAL it'll make a difference?

Atro
03-13-2015, 08:04 AM
Think if I plug this into my LCD TV and select PAL it'll make a difference?

Not really sure.

I just quoted James because PAL TV's can have a wider range of refresh as they output from 50hz onwards. So the 57'ish something are covered. Doesn't mean it'll work well on every tv set tho.
But you should give a try.

White Devil
03-15-2015, 11:06 PM
Anything between 1k and 10k should be fine.

Didn't help.
Yet, if I hold the exposed wire with each hand on the in and out for the sync from the sync stripper the picture is perfect. No issues. Then when I let go it's crazy. I think the picture jumping has something to do with when the sprites move

bustedstr8
03-16-2015, 02:30 PM
This is just a guess....you may be coupling 60Hz mains noise into the device and also feedback while your holding the two leads.

Only way to know for sure the exact effect would be to compare the two different inputs to the 8200 with a scope.

The human body can act as a capacitor, resistor, inductor and antenna, so without a definitive reading it's just hunches at this point.

White Devil
03-16-2015, 04:25 PM
This is just a guess....you may be coupling 60Hz mains noise into the device and also feedback while your holding the two leads.

Only way to know for sure the exact effect would be to compare the two different inputs to the 8200 with a scope.



The human body can act as a capacitor, resistor, inductor and antenna, so without a definitive reading it's just hunches at this point.

Scope? What's a scope? If it's something I need to buy can you post a link?

bustedstr8
03-16-2015, 04:40 PM
An oscilloscope, they range from tens of dollars for PC based ones to thousands for benchtop models.

White Devil
03-16-2015, 04:48 PM
Damn... I don't have a PC...

skate323k137
01-03-2016, 10:46 PM
I recently got a double dragon 3 in exchange for helping out at my buddies shop. My PVM wouldn't sync to it, and it usually syncs to everything (including composite video). I cleaned the board a bit, checked traces, etc. to no avail. I tried an extra 220 ohm resistor on video sync (I use 220 ohms of resistance on RGB and Sync each already) with no improvement.

Then I tried a 220uf cap, negative toward the display (as is normal). It syncs perfectly now. My last resort was going to be a lm1881 but the cap seems to straighten it out. Basically it's JAMMA sync pin -> 220 ohm resistor (only used because it's a supergun) -> +[220uf cap]- -> display.

ebinsugewa
01-04-2016, 12:20 AM
That's cool. Wonder if the same method would help with oddballs like Raiden Fighters.