Watchdog reset ?

White Devil

Hardened Shock Trooper
My primal rage board is giving me a watchdog reset screen. Any insight into what's causing this?

_rm_

Bead Banger
10 Year Member
I'm a total noob in terms of repairs, but i think you can check this:

grab a logic probe and probe the reset pin as soon as you power the board up. The pin should go low for a brief moment and then High. If it's stuck low or always high, you must follow the traces back and probably one of the near IC's (a 7407 for example) is dead or has a static output.

Hope this helps

Last edited:

pulstar

Mickey's Coach
10 Year Member
Is the watchdog reset screen a special error screen in Primal Rage? Could be work RAM related or one of the ICs connected between the CPU and the work RAM.

White Devil

Hardened Shock Trooper
Is the watchdog reset screen a special error screen in Primal Rage? Could be work RAM related or one of the ICs connected between the CPU and the work RAM.

i did a ram test, i actually did all the tests possible within the board, this is the only one that came up

http://imgur.com/9HaBYpt

heres a pic of the actual error screen

http://imgur.com/kTVqbp4

grab a logic probe and probe the reset pin as soon as you power the board up. The pin should go low for a brief moment and then High. If it's stuck low or always high, you must follow the traces back and probably one of the near IC's (a 7407 for example) is dead or has a static output.

Hope this helps

it will help when i develop some mild form of an understanding as to what any of that means. i'm still a major noob here. though i appreciate the time you took to respond

pulstar

Mickey's Coach
10 Year Member
It looks like ram 0-0 is throwing an error. You'd have to find what IC that is and do as _rm_ says and get the logic probe on it and the ICs connected to it.

White Devil

Hardened Shock Trooper