PDA

View Full Version : Possible Naomi I/O issues or settings?



Rugdoctor
02-18-2015, 09:23 PM
Hi all,

Lately I got a couple of tests done on my recent Naomi related haul. The 2 burning questions I have was 1. Whether the two Naomi 2 motherboards I got are fully functional from Highway Entertainment and 2. Will the Clone I/O from Aliexpress is rubbish.

The clone I/O: Comes with the JVS power plug but no housing on the actual I/O itself lol

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-Gg3Y4nwHa5o/VOUiPm3L5qI/AAAAAAAAGBY/VDSh1x0-kjQ/w783-h586-no/IMG_0379.JPG

The cps2/3 Kick harness, too bad the header of the harness does not fit inside of it unless you shave some plastic off. Which I will do on the I/O.

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-WW8wpa2p7zM/VOUiPlnjMxI/AAAAAAAAGBY/xAPtkQMxSyM/w781-h586-no/IMG_0362.JPG

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-UPzYzsykGBQ/VOUiPkduuiI/AAAAAAAAGBY/VXyF9IiLbCM/w781-h586-no/IMG_0363.JPG

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-VkjlJuw2Q8s/VOUiPuqykKI/AAAAAAAAGBY/xZE_Ds4IOXU/w781-h586-no/IMG_0353.JPG

BUT...this happened when I went to the test screen to check how the I/O is handling the controls, bear in mind I have not attach the kick harness yet.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-VZCAd4wh6O8/VOU-ZPi33TI/AAAAAAAAGB8/Yo3ANbWF6wc/w360-h480-no/2015%2B-%2B1

And the (locked) activated button is indeed button 6 as I can confirm it when I went into mvc2's test menu. Upon changing the jumper to 4 players mode, 3P has button 3 (or 4) locked but all the rest is fine.

I tried both mobos and both I/O and on a Blast City and OKbaby yielding the same results.

Anyone has any clue how to remedy this? ;)

ReplicaX
02-18-2015, 09:56 PM
Do you have a real Sega I/O to test with. I've never used 3rd PT ones. The only time Ive had lockouts on buttons like that was someone wiring incorrectly or a control actually stuck in state.

Rugdoctor
02-18-2015, 10:03 PM
I only have a Naomi universal cabinet to try, it's native JVS though. Will give it a crack anyway.

Rugdoctor
02-19-2015, 05:23 AM
Problem solved. JAMMA output of I/O has Shot 6 incorporated into pin 27, fucken Blue Elf boards fucks everyone over.

lachlan
02-19-2015, 06:41 AM
A Rug Doctor huh, tell me of your powers.

ReplicaX
02-19-2015, 08:17 AM
Problem solved. JAMMA output of I/O has Shot 6 incorporated into pin 27, fucken Blue Elf boards fucks everyone over.

Yep, that will do it. Glad you sorted it out.

Rugdoctor
02-19-2015, 07:36 PM
A Rug Doctor huh, tell me of your powers.

Power #1. How to beat non standardised JAMMA pinout

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-vGl-6JBp-sc/VOZKFg9NIrI/AAAAAAAAGEI/1oKpFBdQlJo/w440-h586-no/2015%2B-%2B2

kuze
02-19-2015, 07:55 PM
Power #1. How to beat non standardised JAMMA pinout

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-vGl-6JBp-sc/VOZKFg9NIrI/AAAAAAAAGEI/1oKpFBdQlJo/w440-h586-no/2015%2B-%2B2

What is that? Tape?

Rugdoctor
02-19-2015, 09:06 PM
Export invoice for the I/O, I knew it was going to be good for something.

kuze
02-19-2015, 09:47 PM
Export invoice for the I/O, I knew it was going to be good for something.

:scratch:

Rugdoctor
02-19-2015, 10:34 PM
:scratch:

Its paper.