S-video broken pin

andsuchisdeath

General Morden's Aide
20 Year Member
So, I have this CRT that I refuse to get rid of.

A pin broke off in the S-Video connector years ago from a Saturn S-vid cable.

s-vid male.jpg

It was the bottom rectangular piece. So, I've still been using Saturn S-video on this tv without problems. But the connector thus far has been cursed to Saturn S-Video only.

So my question is, what function does this broken rectangular pin serve?

Can I get away with breaking off that exact pin on other S-video cables for other consoles if I'd like to use them on this tv?

Last edited:

2D_mastur

Is he greater than XD Master?
10 Year Member
Pretty sure the rectangular piece does not carry any signal. It's just used to lock the male to the female connector. It's a key so that you don't plug in the connector a wrong way.

Last edited:

SouthAmericaNeo

Kuroko's Training Dummy
I am no expert so please excuse my advice but it seems to be a ground and/or support bracket. I found this from the google and it may not be an issue but why to destroy two cables? Why not dig it out of the TV?

s.video.gif

shadowkn55

Genbu's Turtle Keeper
15 Year Member
I am no expert so please excuse my advice but it seems to be a ground and/or support bracket. I found this from the google and it may not be an issue but why to destroy two cables? Why not dig it out of the TV?

View attachment 21296

It's not a ground or support bracket. It's a keyed slot to prevent improper insertion like 2d_master said.

It's pushed in too deep to pull out

You can use two needles to pry it out. Insert them both at an angle so that meet in the middle like a triangle. Hopefully you can wedge them into the plastic chunk enough to force it out like a crowbar.

andsuchisdeath

General Morden's Aide
20 Year Member