MV-2F Black screen, no boot

douglie007

n00b
I have a MV-2F board that I think might be a bad BIOS but I wanted to run it by some experts on these things before I spend money for nothing. I tried different carts that I know work ( have a working MV-1F ) but I didnt want to chance messing my working one up by swapping the BIOS to check. I mostly work on home consoles and have no issues figuring out whats wrong but this is my first time trouble shooting an Arcade board ( I also have a wrestlemania with graphical glitches that I think might be RAM ) any suggestions one what to look for would be awesome

HeavyMachineGoob

My poontang misses Lenn Yang's wang
10 Year Member
Check to make sure hard DIP 7 isn't on, that one halts the CPU.

douglie007

n00b
Check to make sure hard DIP 7 isn't on, that one halts the CPU.

So the switch was on, but then I turned it off, and turned the system back on, I now have a brighter screen but still doesn't try to boot anything. The red led on the board comes on, but thats the only sign of life

BIG BEAR

SHOCKbox Developer,
20 Year Member
switch 7 is FREE PLAY,switch 8 is the PAUSE so make sure switch 8 is not set to the ON position.make sure switch 8 is off.
BB

HeavyMachineGoob

10 Year Member
Yeah that's right, I was thinking of the wrong hard DIP. 8 is the right one.

HeavyMachineGoob

10 Year Member
Yeah you should see about the BIOS now. Although a completely bad or missing BIOS should give a click of death symptom, it's possible your board has an EPROM BIOS and it's lost a bit of data somewhere and now it won't load any games. I can't really think of any other possibilities at the moment. Most boot to black problems are caused by hard DIP 8 being left on.

Atro

Who?,
20 Year Member
I would definitely go on the bios.
Might not be the case, but it often comes from there, at least from the ones I had here.
Swapped with a good bios and it was ready to go.

douglie007

n00b