MVS joystick preference

unofficialitguy

Hardened Shock Trooper
Alright, I was thinking about replacing the stock joysticks in my Big Red but spoke with a local arcade tech that I was trying to buy the parts from and he talked me out of it. His recommendation was to keep it as close to stock as possible and that the response times would not be improved going from standard Happ sticks to Happ competition sticks or similar newer precision sticks.

Thoughts? Recommendations?

Neorebel

Viewpoint Vigilante
I'm not an expert in what's the best joystick or anything, but my cab needed replacements and I haphazardly bought a couple of HAPP Super joysticks and am very happy with them for all types of games. I think it's more about feel than response time. Like the resistance of it. The Super is not too loose, not too rigid... It feels pretty 'springy' compared to the standard. Hope this helps a little.

Evilpoptart

Kula's Candy
My personal opinion but I would go with IL euro sticks over Happ ones. The reason why is I feel since Suzo Happ stuff is now manufactured over in China the quality has gone down and they are not as good at the original ones once were. Older Happ competition sticks were actually re-branded IL sticks, both of my sticks were Happ IL originals and I got used to how they feel. Anyone used to the old competition will more than likely prefer an IL over the new HAPP stuff. If these are going into a big red I think IL would be the way to go. I just made a thread not too long ago asking the same question, I ended up getting the IL sticks and I love them so far in my big red.

GutsDozer

Robot Master., Master Tasuke, Eat Your, Heart Out
10 Year Member
Secret Santa Veteran