PDA

View Full Version : Gauntlet legends (arcade) on supergun??



MCF 76
12-10-2013, 03:42 PM
Hey guys, what does it all take to make Gauntlet Legends (arcade) run on a supergun? I know this games uses the hard drive and they are bad for failure. I seen where someone used a flash drive kit and installed the game on it. I don't know jack about this tech stuff but I would like to get the game. So if this does work what else do you need to make it work?

Heres the link for the flash drive:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Gauntlet-Legends-Compact-Flash-Drive-Vegas-PCB/291021308906?_trksid=p2045573.m2042&_trkparms=aid%3D111000%26algo%3DREC.CURRENT%26ao%3 D1%26asc%3D27%26meid%3D3306740766175371521%26pid%3 D100033%26prg%3D1011%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D4%26sd%3D291 033036807%26

skinny503
12-10-2013, 03:45 PM
looks like its a ATA to to flash card converter.....


Check here (http://www.assemblergames.com/forums/showthread.php?43576-Question-about-the-security-chip-on-a-Gauntlet-Legends) and here (http://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=57098). The info there may help you get closer to your goal

Fox1
12-11-2013, 04:18 AM
You need a power supply that has -5V for sound.

Hodor
12-11-2013, 05:27 PM
I never thought flash drives could be used in hard drive-based arcades. It has very much sense, though.

MCF 76
12-11-2013, 08:56 PM
I never thought flash drives could be used in hard drive-based arcades. It has very much sense, though.

Damn check this out, this guy put the data off the hard drive on a drop-in module and done away with even the flash drive and small cable.!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ecd5nZEmZs

He also done it another way as well. He used a solid state device to have the data on instead of the hard drive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OSwtoesxnfg


Anybody here know how to do this lol? I'm maybe having someone here build me a super gun just mainly for this game and other PCB's of course. Would like to have the data put on one of these instead of those stupid hard drives that are so temperamental. Plus the damn Atari VEGAS PCB is 3 boards hooked together its freakin huge. This would be one less thing to half to look at and figure a way to store it.

Hodor
12-12-2013, 05:48 AM
Damn check this out, this guy put the data off the hard drive on a drop-in module and done away with even the flash drive and small cable.!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ecd5nZEmZs

He also done it another way as well. He used a solid state device to have the data on instead of the hard drive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OSwtoesxnfg


Anybody here know how to do this lol? I'm maybe having someone here build me a super gun just mainly for this game and other PCB's of course. Would like to have the data put on one of these instead of those stupid hard drives that are so temperamental. Plus the damn Atari VEGAS PCB is 3 boards hooked together its freakin huge. This would be one less thing to half to look at and figure a way to store it.

Im amazed how people developes this imaginative solutions. Of course, It needs a solid knowledge of electronics, something I lack of, unfortunately. Anyway, thanks for showing this videos here :)

Wolfie79
12-12-2013, 06:14 AM
I dont know if the the GL board boots up from HDD (if the 1st boot is done from a ROM or from the actual HDD), but what you are looking for is basically a simple adaptor that replaces the HDD with a CF card. Should work just the same, I installed something similar to this on my A1200 a few years ago, was more complicated due to OS issues, but otherwise its quite straightforward. This video might give you a couple of hints http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoBF5Gtmv2Y

ranzo
11-10-2014, 05:02 AM
Was now anybody able to reproduce the game on the module or the CF card ? Would like to do the same thing...

Shuri
11-10-2014, 01:50 PM
I think I remember seeing some people on klov talking about this. There was a guy that did things like this for Midway games. His alias started with a T. Twilight or something?