PDA

View Full Version : Vogatek supergun - black & white picture only



Scott
10-29-2013, 08:16 PM
Hey what's up guys. I just got a Vogatek MK V and I am getting a black and white picture through both S-video and composite. Does anyone know what could cause this? There's no other video issues other than the lack of color.

Pope Sazae
10-29-2013, 08:29 PM
Is it set for NTSC of PAL video? There was a way to check by the color of the board but I can't remember it right now but if it's PAL that would cause the lack of color.

Rot
10-29-2013, 09:40 PM
Is it set for NTSC of PAL video? There was a way to check by the color of the board but I can't remember it right now but if it's PAL that would cause the lack of color.
+
Play with the pal/secam setings

Scott
10-30-2013, 09:23 AM
Thanks for the replies guys. Looks like my board is PAL. I assumed it was NTSC due to the lack of SCART inputs. Someone successfully converted one on these boards by removing a resistor and replacing the crystal oscillator with e different one. Mine in 17.73447 MHz - the one I need is 14.313380 MHz. Not sure where to find one of those, but I'll keep looking.

MtothaJ
10-30-2013, 12:11 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. Looks like my board is PAL. I assumed it was NTSC due to the lack of SCART inputs. Someone successfully converted one on these boards by removing a resistor and replacing the crystal oscillator with e different one. Mine in 17.73447 MHz - the one I need is 14.313380 MHz. Not sure where to find one of those, but I'll keep looking.

I assume you got it used - seems kind of obvious but if you bought it new, the simplest option would be to exchange it for a NTSC one. Another option would be to contact the guy who makes it for options on how to proceed - perhaps you could send him just your PAL oscillator for exchange for the NTSC one.

bmurphy88
03-07-2014, 07:21 AM
Did u ever get your vogatek switched to NTSC? If so, willing to sell?

Scott
03-07-2014, 04:44 PM
bmurphy88 - No unfortunately I can't find the part I need, and whoever is over at Vogatek doesn't reply to e-mails. I sent a few with no luck.

Xian Xi
03-07-2014, 06:02 PM
Where have you been looking?

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/MXO45HS-3C-14M31818/CTX752-ND/1801867
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/ECS-100AX-143/X946-ND/827239
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/ECS-100A-143/X115-ND/20509

Scott
03-07-2014, 10:19 PM
Wow thanks. I think I was looking for the wrong frequency and wasn't coming up with any results. I'll give this one a shot.

Xian Xi
03-07-2014, 11:00 PM
Wow thanks. I think I was looking for the wrong frequency and wasn't coming up with any results. I'll give this one a shot.

Make sure you measure the distance between the pins and compare it to the data sheets for the ones I linked to so you have the correct one that fits the board.

simon66
12-19-2014, 01:06 PM
If anyone is wondering which on you need to get, this is the correct size:

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/MXO45HS-3C-14M31818/CTX752-ND/1801867

I'm not too sure if the value is right though. I just ordered 2 via digi-key and got it a few days ago but I'm having some graphical issues.

http://s15.postimg.org/l9x3nji3v/IMG_0454.jpg
http://s15.postimg.org/4xigk2eej/IMG_0453.jpg

As you can see, there's "bleeding" on the grid and I can also see the screen pulsating (From Left to right).
Could it be that the crystal value is off or my mkv is broken?
No one seems to report this mod to be working ( this thread http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?242942-How-to-Mod-a-PAL-VOGATEK-MK-5-to-NTSC-Done-and-functional gives a different crystal value).

thanks :)

wyndcrosser
12-21-2014, 10:55 PM
If anyone is wondering which on you need to get, this is the correct size:

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/MXO45HS-3C-14M31818/CTX752-ND/1801867

I'm not too sure if the value is right though. I just ordered 2 via digi-key and got it a few days ago but I'm having some graphical issues.

http://s15.postimg.org/l9x3nji3v/IMG_0454.jpg
http://s15.postimg.org/4xigk2eej/IMG_0453.jpg

As you can see, there's "bleeding" on the grid and I can also see the screen pulsating (From Left to right).
Could it be that the crystal value is off or my mkv is broken?
No one seems to report this mod to be working ( this thread http://www.neo-geo.com/forums/showthread.php?242942-How-to-Mod-a-PAL-VOGATEK-MK-5-to-NTSC-Done-and-functional gives a different crystal value).

thanks :)

If I recall, I can confirm this works, I had a PAL supergun with similar issues which this helped. However, I was able to buy a NTSC model later on from the builder here a few winters back.

ebinsugewa
12-22-2014, 05:14 AM
Side question: are these still being made/for sale?

simon66
12-22-2014, 02:10 PM
Side question: are these still being made/for sale?

Yea, I mistakenly bought one on ebay (I thought it was good...)
Keep in mind folks, stay away from this. I have some many issues with it haha.

PS: I'm not so sure if its still in production though