Monitor sparks out the back and makes a snap sound when powered on

bryan

Geese's Thug
I just bought a Capcom Big Blue and the monitor sparks and makes a crackle or kinda of a snap sound when powered on. I have heard it could be a bad fly back and or HOT. Is it OK to run it like this till I get around to fixing it?

cdamm

Trust the French?
10 Year Member
im no expert, but when electronics spark when turned on, i would say no. its not ok.

bryan

Geese's Thug
Ya I was kinda figuring that, but I at least have to turn it on to show the problem.

Dion

Known Scammer, NeoGeoFreak Co-Founder
Is it sparking constantly or just when you turn it on?

Dion

It hasn't completely failed yet. Can you see where the spark is jumping from on the fly. They make a sealant for minor current leaks like this one that you may want to try first.

bryan

Geese's Thug
It seems like it is coming straight back from the neck board or neck tube area about 1 and a half inch maybe, I will have to go take another look.

Last edited:

Dion

Hmm. If its coming from the neckboard its probably not the fly.

bryan

Geese's Thug
I can make a QuickTime video with an old camera I have, it won't have sound but should show problem pretty good. I will have to try to figure out a way to upload it though. I was thinking about starting a YouTube account just for this. Can YouTube upload QuickTime? I called the local TV repair man and left a message hopefully he can get back to me Monday too. Anyway I will try to get the video done and uploaded tomorrow.

EDIT: Just made my YouTube account and it will take the video, expect a full showing tomorrow.

Last edited:

Dion

Don't trust TV repair guys. The last two arcade machines i picked up were nonworking and the local guy told them it was the monitor and in both cases it was not.

What model is the monitor?

The King Prawn

Marked Wolf