PDA

View Full Version : How to get a Japanese Neo to display English?



BJMFH
10-03-2000, 07:11 PM
Is there any way to get a japanese Neo Geo to display the game in english?

HPMAN
10-03-2000, 08:00 PM
Well, you need to put an US bios into your system in order to get the whole english experience http://www.neo-geo.com/ubb/wink.gif

Gambit
10-04-2000, 05:01 AM
You could only buy U.S. carts, then they would be in English http://www.neo-geo.com/ubb/smile.gif

HPMAN
10-04-2000, 10:40 AM
Well, japanese carts display in english on US systems... The carts are the same (except sticker http://www.neo-geo.com/ubb/wink.gif), that's the system who set the language, not the cart...

Neo Bomber Man
10-04-2000, 05:28 PM
Don't forget that on a Japanese system, the memory card and (should you have the system modded) debug menus would also both be in Japanese.

BJMFH
10-04-2000, 05:32 PM
Thanks for all the great advice guys!
I found something pretty cool today when I went in some audio video store. Monster Cable makes and adapter that converts composite video to S-video. You can get S-video for your Neo Geo without getting it modified! It set me back about $50 but I think it was worth it!

HPMAN
10-04-2000, 08:23 PM
Well, to my opinion, nothing beats a RGB cable...

Gambit
10-04-2000, 09:48 PM
I thought a Jap cart will display in Jap on a Jap system and a U.S. cart will display in English on a Jap system. Thats what I was getting at HPMAN http://www.neo-geo.com/ubb/smile.gif

HPMAN
10-04-2000, 10:11 PM
Yeah, you're true.

But a JAP cart display in english on US systems and an US cart display in japanese on JAP systems.

That's the rule, don't blame me if there is exceptions with some carts... http://www.neo-geo.com/ubb/tongue.gif

Gambit
10-04-2000, 10:14 PM
Thanks I have a headache now http://www.neo-geo.com/ubb/smile.gif

dogtoy
09-27-2007, 07:44 PM
Thanks for all the great advice guys!
I found something pretty cool today when I went in some audio video store. Monster Cable makes and adapter that converts composite video to S-video. You can get S-video for your Neo Geo without getting it modified! It set me back about $50 but I think it was worth it!

You do know that it's not true s-video if it is converted from composite right? Plus the best way to change the language is to install a Unibios.

cheers,
-DT

Kaike
09-27-2007, 08:39 PM
You do know that it's not true s-video if it is converted from composite right? Plus the best way to change the language is to install a Unibios.

cheers,
-DT

Unibios all the way. You can buy one from Razoola.

SpamYouToDeath
09-27-2007, 08:41 PM
You do know that it's not true s-video if it is converted from composite right? Plus the best way to change the language is to install a Unibios.

cheers,
-DT
7-YEAR-BUMP!

dogtoy
09-27-2007, 09:12 PM
Wow I swear that was on the first page in tech support with a star next to it, indicating that it was new? Is there something going here? I saw another old thread get bumped in tech support by someone else today...

hrm
-DT

Neo Alec
10-02-2007, 01:19 AM
Those people debating the languages and the regions were stupid. People must have been stupid in 2000.

channelmaniac
10-02-2007, 01:39 PM
There were some old threads bumped by a user that has since been banned and their posts purged.

dogtoy
10-02-2007, 02:33 PM
thanks for explaining why all this old shit was brought back out.

cheers,
-DT